We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thrums Hotel

Thrums Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirriemuir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thrums Hotel
Save Saved
You added Thrums Hotel to your Saves list
Bank Street, Kirriemuir, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirriemuir
Helmsdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Check in was a wee bit confusing as there was no reception desk but the barmaid was lovely and our room was clean and perfect.
Our evening meal was fantastic .Very welcome after a very long day.
Did not have much sleep as our twin room was at the front of the hotel above the bar door. This was the area for smokers which I have no problem with but it was straight on to the street.There was a car which was very loud running around till the wee small hours but I recognise that this was out with the hotels control.
Breakfast was perfect .I will go as far as to say one of the best cooked breakfasts that I have ever had and the lady serving was very nice.
The only thing that stops full marks is the noise outside but the next time I will ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
8
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff are friendly, room was clean and fresh, I would not hesitate to recommend and will stay again. Private car parking at rear of building and free WIFI is a bonus :) my evening meal in the public bar was great

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten twice at this hotel/pub and feel its well worth a visit. Service was very good and friendly. The staff were very helpful and the food was good and at a decent price. They have tried to modify the decor, but need to upgrade the tables and chairs

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed there on Saturday. The staff were very helpful, friendly and cheerful. The room was spacious and clean. The evening meal was good and at reasonable cost.The waitresses were efficient and friendly. As it was Saturday the bar was very busy and noisy. If you are an early bedder this could be a problem but it didn't bother me. The breakfast was very good and so substantial that I didn't need lunch.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed one night in first week of June 2013 on a business trip.
Single room. Decent size, nice onsuite toilet/shower room.
Tea, Coffee, Kettle etc in room.
Bar staff friendly.
Good selection for evening meal and food was decent enough.
Great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Not knowing Kirriemuir we went to Thrums for lunch. I had read the earlier reviews but it was too late as my sister had already booked. The reviews were not accurate as far are our visit was concerned as the service was excellent and the food was good pub food, presented well. It is nothing fancy just pub food but it was pretty good. I wouldn't have a problem going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirriemuir
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Have had a few bar meals here lately & tried to give benefit of doubt but today confirmed how bad it is, food arrives quickly but orders were wrong barmaid is useless & not helpful or friendly, some of us were overcharged too, food is all bought in ,a friend had a hair in hers & did make them aware but no apology made, homemade food makes all the difference, really disappointed with the service & way we were treated today so I'm afraid what was a weekly lunch outing for us it will not be there again,I had better stop before I say any more but please don't waste your money! Poor show.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirriemuir hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thrums Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thrums Hotel

Address: Bank Street, Kirriemuir, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Kirriemuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirriemuir
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of rural Angus; this charming town is celebrated for its location as the 'gateway' to the beautiful Angus Glens. The Thrums is situated in the heart of the town and offers quality accommodation and a welcoming, friendly atmosphere within charming surroundings. This family-run hotel, recently refurbished to high standard, has nine en-suite rooms. We have a selection of double, twin, single or family sized rooms to cater for all needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thrums Hotel Kirriemuir, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thrums Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.