We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like Faulty Toers, but more expensive...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thrums Hotel

Thrums Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirriemuir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thrums Hotel
Save
You added Thrums Hotel to your Saves list
Bank Street, Kirriemuir, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirriemuir
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“like Faulty Toers, but more expensive...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

£75 per night B & B was seriously over priced for this place. There is no reception and when we arrived it was being renovated, so lots of dust and builders stuff lying around in public areas. The rooms had paper thin walls and were freezing until the wall heater warmed up. On the positive side the staff were friendly.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
9
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

The room was very small. Bathroom you could not shut the door and stand at the sink, you had to move sideways to shut the door.
The noise from the pub downstairs was deafning and went on till mid night consequently you could not get to sleep.
Breakfast :- Tables were dirty and uninviting layout of table zero. One choice on menu not asked if we would like anything other. When the waitress brought the meal in, on coming into the dinning room from the kitchen she walked passed used buckets and mops with the food !
On reflection at £75/night B/B I think we would have been better off staying somewhere else. We stayed in a 3 star B/B half the price that was spotlessly clean the night before . This hotel I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Read more reviews first !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

The room was very large, but was old and smelled musty – definitely needs to be updated. The staff was courteous and helpful. Breakfast was good. No wireless internet.
Quite a bit of traffic noise (although quiet enough from 12am to 6am). We stayed on a Tuesday night when there was no entertainment at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Kirriemuir is an unsual town with partially cobbled streets and alleys. There is a strange mixture of shops: one sold cycles and banjo strings. Perhaps there is a call for it in this part of the world but did not notice any cylcists on the way to Arbroath plucking the theme from "Deliverance" as they went along.
The hotel is clean, tidy and friendly with a smart security system for the rooms. The locals are fine and the food was good value. Would have no hesitation in staying here again, and the attraction is that the town is a little off the beaten track.
The weather, for Scotland, was fine was I was there, i.e. it was not raining.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow - UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed here 4 nights on business. Rooms were a very good standard - modern and clean. General decor of hotel was good also. Food at the bar was excellent. Staff very friendly. Overall highly recommend. We stayed at another hotel in Kirriemuir the week before this and had a horrible experience and this hotel compared much more favourably!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgw
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

My husband stayed at this hotel on a golf outing. He says Hotel was okay however he left behind a pair of £170.00 shoes that despite 4 telephone calls to ask for them back at my expense they never returned to him. I wanted to call Police but my husband wasn't keen because it was his fault for leaving them behind. A hotel is a hotel but without honesy it's not worth going to.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

B+B cost us £70.00(Plus V.A.T.)
With a modest evening meal +a double room, our daily cost came to an incredible £145.00.
If that reflects their "off season" rates then they must be unique.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThrumsHotel, owner at Thrums Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
I read this review and did not understand the price indicated. I contacted the reviewer directly to acertain the date of stay. With this infomation I was able to find the reciept which was actually for £103.10 for dinner, bed and breakfast, including drinks, for two people. I consider this to be a reaonable and competative rate particularly as January is considered high season in Angus due to the excellent shooting. I contacted the reviewer and discussed the receipt for £103.10 which they agreed was correct. I asked them to amend the review to include the correct charge, to date they have not done so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thrums Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thrums Hotel

Address: Bank Street, Kirriemuir, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Kirriemuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirriemuir
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of rural Angus; this charming town is celebrated for its location as the 'gateway' to the beautiful Angus Glens. The Thrums is situated in the heart of the town and offers quality accommodation and a welcoming, friendly atmosphere within charming surroundings. This family-run hotel, recently refurbished to high standard, has nine en-suite rooms. We have a selection of double, twin, single or family sized rooms to cater for all needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thrums Hotel Kirriemuir, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thrums Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.