We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service like it should be....fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meldrum House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Meldrum House Hotel to your Saves list
Meldrum House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Oldmeldrum AB51 0AE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Oldmeldrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service like it should be....fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed on Friday 20/06/14 to attend a wedding reception. We stayed at the Chain Lodge House which us separate from the main hotel. Great value for money. Beautiful setting with the golf course and ponds...with swans and signets. Dinner was lovely and the courtesy of the staff exceptional. The reception evening was very wall organised. Breakfast which is often a let down in hotels was wonderful.....even with an offering of a Bloody Mary ...which I declined I may add.
This picture perfect venue, with staff second to none, is a great credit to the management.
Many thanks to all.

Room Tip: The Chain Lodge is a self contained gate house with 4 bedrooms, kitchen and communal lounge with min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi

Thank you so much for your kind words following your stay with us.

There is alot of thought and effort goes into ensuring everything runs to the best of our abilities, and its very pleasing and encouraging, not only for me, but the whole team, to know what we do is appreciated.

I do hope i can get the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future, and next time i insist that you have a wee bloody mary at breakfast.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    48
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
57
105
6
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Booked a meal for myself and the Mrs. on Monday and it was outstanding. The service was superb with every attention paid to the details that matter. Nothing seemed to be too much of a bother for the staff and the food were excellent, well deserving of there 2 AA rosettes.

Special thanks to the team & I certainly look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Gavin

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts here on Trip Advisor.

All to often, this platform can be used to portray negative feedback, which is welcomed also, but it gives the team a real boost to revieve positive too.

Am glad that you were so well looked after by the team, and that you enjoyed the food. Alot of effort and time goes into managing and focussing on the attention to detail, and am glad it was noted and appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Went to The Meldrum House Hotel on Sunday for a meal with friends, the grounds of the Hotel and the Hotel itself are stunning, history leaches out of the walls and sitting in the bar leaves you mulling over times gone by. The restaurant is well presented with plenty of room between tables. The service in the restaurant is excellent with plenty of attention to detail and the meal we had was exceptional. Well worth the visit and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Andy

Thanks so much for your positive comments on Trip Advisor - they are greatly appreciated.

Am glad that you enjoyed your time with us - perhaps next time you will be able to stay over???

You are right about the bar, if only walls could talk, am sure there would be many an interesting tale to be told from the past 700 odd years.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
588 reviews 588 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Meldrum House Hotel is old and historic and looks the part even though it is now set in a country club estate with golf and the like. Inside and outside the house there is much to see that hints of its past. We were there with a group for a light lunch (and the staff coped with our large group of oldies very well and remarkably efficiently) but the best part was being able to look around what is a well-maintained historic building that still reveals some of its old bits and pieces and decor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

Am delighted that you were looked after so well, and indeed, that you approve of the way we have refurbished the building. It was really important to us that we mixed the old with the new, and given yours and others feedback, we seemed to have managed that quite well, so thank you.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed over two nights for a family wedding and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We were accommodated in the stable block away from the main hotel but it is a very short walk through a beautifully presented courtyard and car park. Our room was one of the finest we have stayed in in Scotland - spacious and well presented with a lovely bathroom/wet room. The staff were very lovely, helpful and efficient too and made us feel very welcome, and we could see that they did their very best for the bridal couple and party.
For a luxury weekend in beautiful surroundings you couldn't want for much better - and if you enjoy golf you could combine the two as the golf course and its setting looked beautiful
A big thank you to Meldrum House staff for our lovely weekend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts here on Trip Advisor - its much appreciated.

Am delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us, and that you were looked after so well.

We put alot of effort into ensuring we do our best and its a real team effort, and when we read reviews like yours, it makes all the hard work worth while.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Four of us spent three nights here on a golf, bed and breakfast and dinner package. The accommodation, food, service and golf at three courses was marvellous and well priced. It is our intention to return next year hopefully on a similar deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your positive thoughts here on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you had a lovely experience, not only of Meldrum, but indeed, the wider North East, as our Club Class Golf package covers various courses.

We envisage continuing with this offer into 2015, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My overall stay at Meldrum I have yo say was great but at night at the wedding we were at we came across a young small gentlemen who was working behind the bar but I think he was a manager as he got into all the things that we're going on, he was so rude when asked for our drinks as someone else had been arguing with him and he wouldn't let it go and as he served us he kept looking at this other woman calling her names to the other staff who were also not impressed with him and ignored him. So when I said you should not call people names in front of other guests I was shocked when he said "it's nothing to do with you you should mind your own business and worry about getting your makeup right. I was so upset I left the wedding And vowed never to go back. A guy like that will bring a very nice hotel to its knees, I only hope something is done

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely wherever you are. You can hear the music in the function suit .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Gemma

I appreciate that Trip Advisor is an open forum, for sharing positive as well as negative comments/feedback and would of appreciated the chance to talk to you about this before seeing it on the internet however, I can honestly say that i am genuinely upset having read your review.

I can only apologise, personally, and whole heartedly for the way you were spoken to, and that it made you feel so bad you had to leave the wedding. Please be assured that i will personally investigate this matter, and deal with it in the necessary manner.

Hopefully, you will return to us someday, so that we can try and rebuild your confidence in us. Once again, i am dreadfully sorry for this ever happening, as we spend so much of our time being customer focussed, and instilling the "customer is king" culture into the team.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meldrum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meldrum House Hotel

Address: Oldmeldrum AB51 0AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oldmeldrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meldrum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst beautiful countryside, The 4 Star Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course offers unrivaled quality. Only a few miles from Aberdeen, this is one of the finest luxury hotels Scotland has to offer. For a weekend break, Scottish wedding reception, conference or luxury golf vacation, you can enjoy great Scottish hospitality, fine dining and the tranquility of the magnificent Meldrum Estate. If golf is your passion, we offer a range of golf vacation packages and golf breaks at our spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Meldrum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meldrum House Hotel Oldmeldrum, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meldrum House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.