We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality as it should be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Redgarth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oldmeldrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Redgarth
Save
You added The Redgarth to your Saves list
Kirk Brae, Oldmeldrum AB51 0DJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality as it should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Staff are wonderful - friendly and not fussy! Food excellent, beer too - ambience excellent.
Best of all - Stuart and his team of willing staff.
Location is almost hidden - but it is a gem of Aberdeenshire well worth seeking out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    18
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
37
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and a great choice.the rooms are lovely, clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Food in the bar was very good and would stay gain when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochwinnoch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A warm welcome always awaits from mein host Stuart.This is soon followed by a real ale with several ales on tap to chose.The food is locally sourced and full of healthy options and variety.The pub itself is busy but friendly and full of chat..The bedrooms are quiet,spacious and of a high standard with views across to the local hills.
The morning starts with breakfast brought to the bedroom together with a newspaper of your choice,A most pleasant way to start a new day.
The Redgarth has been an excellent find.I have become a regular visitor and hope to continue being so in the future.Nowhere else offers the welcome you get at the Redgarth!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

About 3 times a year for the last ...well..longer than I can remember I make the trip from Glasgow to Aberdeenshire to visit friends. One place that is always , without question,on my itinerary to pay a visit to for a meal or drink is the Red Garth.With a beautiful garden,and magnificent views to the front this welcoming , friendly, extremely well run hotel offers everything that the traveller/passing visitor could want.Stuart..the owner..is never without a broad smile,remembers everyones name,and goes out of his way to make people feel welcome. The food is excellent, the bar well stocked and he looks after his real ales superbly..ensuring consistency all the time. I know what I am getting when I visit and the Red Garth never fails to deliver...many thanks for making the effort...looking forward to next time. already.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent stay at the Redgarth. Traditional Mein host service was extremely hospitable and welcoming. Highest standard throughout and chef produced quality food.
Good pub atmosphere and lots of locals.
Would highly recommend this establishment and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus,Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago while visiting friends near Insch. Read many horrorific reviews of hotels in Huntly area and almost gave up only to stumble on this cracking little inn. From the friendly welcome to our spotless and spacious room(suit) we knew this was a great find. The bar is a vibrant and popular place for visitors and locals to sample some hand picked real ales and also enjoy good wholesome food,tables would need booked at the weekend. Yes a cooked breakfast option would be great but I honestly didnt miss it as the selection of cereals,cheese,cold ham and rolls were ample and good quality. The hotel has plenty parking,is a short walk to town centre and is in a quiet area.Stuart the host although busy running the operations also makes time for his guests,he is nice guy and we would look forward to making an excuse to visit him and The Redgarth again. Definetly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonbie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great place to stay, lovely room, great food and very friendly staff. Stuart is very helpful and profesional. I have family that live nearby and they often use the place for meal's. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redgarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redgarth

Address: Kirk Brae, Oldmeldrum AB51 0DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our bar/lounge we have a variety of malt whiskies including a selection from our village distillery, Glen Garioch. In addition to a choice of draught lagers, stouts and cider we have three hand pumps providing some of the best cask conditioned ales in Scotland and the UK. We have a wine and ‘fine wine’ list for those looking for something special. There is free wi-fi available throughout the building.The Redgarth Bar opens seven days a week from 11am-3pm and 5pm-11pm (11.45pm Friday and Saturday)-RESTAURANT-Our menu is international in flavour with a strong hint of Scotland including a vegetarian selection. Menus are changed fortnightly and all meals are home cooked using fresh local produce.In addition to our main lounge we have a dining room which can be converted for use as a meeting/conference room.The Redgarth restaurant is currently open seven days a week from 12- 2pm and 5.30-9pm (9.30pm Friday and Saturday)ROOMS Our accommodation comprises of one twin and five double rooms all of which are furnished to 4 star Visit Scotland standard. Rooms are all non-smoking, en-suite and offer the usual refinements including colour television with hair-drying and tea making facilities including free-wi-fi. Situated on the first floor the rooms are self contained providing guests with ease of access at all times, our front rooms enjoy unsurpassed views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Redgarth Hotel Inverurie
The Redgarth Oldmeldrum, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redgarth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.