We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic New Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newburgh Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newburgh Inn
Save
You added Newburgh Inn to your Saves list
Main Street | Aberdeenshire, Newburgh AB41 6BP, Scotland (Formerly Ythan Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Newburgh B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for a family supper and wasn't disappointed..
The new menu had a great choice.
The food came out looking lovely & tasted great, all fresh produce was used..
Kids ate every scrap which I was delighted with.
Definitely be back over the Christmas period..

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited the Newburgh Inn on a Saturday in the middle of November with my partner and two friends for lunch & a catch up. I have to say that it was one of the most pleasant afternoons I've experienced in a very long time. The menu is straightforward pub grub with a couple of interesting additions such as a lobster pasta, but without exception all four of us could not fault our choices of all three courses. The food is clearly home made (possibly with the exception of some of the sweets?) to a high standard. The service was fast, efficient and friendly, although we did arrive at midday a full hour before the traditional Aberdeenshire dining hour of 1pm & therefore had the restaurant to ourselves at first. The décor is warm and modern & it's easy to imagine spending a cosy winters' evening enjoying a good meal and a bottle of wine in such surroundings.

In total our three courses plus soft drinks came to just over £83, so at around £20 a head for something that hasn't arrived in the back of a temperature controlled lorry, it was excellent value for money.

If I'm going to be ultra picky the only negative would be that there was no specials board. I like to see chefs using their imaginations to create something a little different (and I know they enjoy the break from the regular menu) so come on Newburgh Inn, how about it?

In my opinion then, when you're in this part of the world, give it a go and I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our second visit to the Newburgh Inn having stayed there earlier in the year and once again we were not disappointed! Excellent food from a very extensive menu in relaxed and friendly surroundings. Good selection of traditional ales and malt whisky's some very rare from almost every distillery in Scotland. A connoisseurs dream! Very spacious rooms with all the amenities of a five star hotel and the breakfasts are unbelievable. Spoilt for choice the breakfasts are cooked to order not left to stand under heat lamps like most these days and represent fantastic value and quantity. We have re-booked an will be visiting again for the New Year celebrations. A credit to all involved.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a similar standard and size and all have the same facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

Having been told I have the weekend off, my wife ended up having to fly out off Aberdeen airport early on a Sunday morning, so I thought to make a wee small break out off it, looked all over for a hotel and came across the newbugh inn, so booked stayed 2 nights fri & sat, we were the only guests in on Friday and arrived late, so didn't use the restaurant on the first night,breakfast was very large portions.
We used the restaurant for the next night, and was not disappointed again good portions and served in good time, the restaurant seemed to be used by the locals as the serving staff knew most of the customers.
Due to an early flight on the Sunday we could not stay for breakfast in the morning, the staff were happy to help and provided use with a packed lunch instead of breakfast, well done Newburgh inn we will be back.
The only thing I don't like was the lacking of a reception desk for staying guests as you have to go into the restaurant to book in, which makes you feel a bit aware that you are carrying a suitcase, apart from that lovely place thank you for a pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Went here a couple of times to eat. Found the service and the food excellent. This used to be called the Ythan hotel but was refurbished and renamed this year. Not many restaraunts open all day but this one is. We had the homemade steak pie and the meat was excellent (no fat just tender meat). Would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anerdeenshire
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We have been several times since the hotel has been revamped and enjoy the new decor. The menu has some interesting dishes as well as the uauals. Some dishes could have been warmer and I feel that they were nit quite as good as on other occasions. We also had to wait a long time before courses although restaurant fairly quiet.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdoom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. The quality of food is excellent for both lunch and dinner, and really good value and choice. Good coffees as well. Excellent selection of wine, beer and single malts including some nice real ales. Whole hotel is obviously newly refurbished and done to a very good standard. Absolutely superb, well worth the drive out there, and much better than anything else in the area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newburgh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newburgh Inn

Address: Main Street | Aberdeenshire, Newburgh AB41 6BP, Scotland (Formerly Ythan Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Newburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll love the choice here at The Newburgh Inn. As well as wonderful pub-food classics such as handmade Aberdeen Angus Beef Burgers and locally landed hand-battered North Sea haddock and homemade chips, we also offer some modern twists. Bring the kids along, too. As a family-friendly pub, we pride ourselves on providing good food for the little ones as well. So we offer smaller portions of some of our main dishes, as well as a dedicated set price menu Our chefs work closely with our suppliers daily and weekly sourcing our fresh produce from within a 50 mile radius of our premises. We support and invest in our local farmers and industry, purchasing only the freshest local produce each and every day. We work with our suppliers to ensure that we have a manageable and sustainable source of produce which is environmentally farmed. Co-owner Martin can often be found traipsing through farms checking out the produce for quality and looking at the current farming methods. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newburgh Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.