We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Stay in Braemar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Braemar Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braemar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Save
You added Braemar Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5QY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Braemar B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful Stay in Braemar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

After staying here on the 18th and 19th of April 2014, we left feeling relaxed after staying in one of the log cabins for two nights. We did not eat in the hotel so we can't comment on that but the cabin was spot on for what we needed. Clean and tidy, the only thing that was missing was a hot tub (hint, hint!) Thank you for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    30
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked in with a few hiccups, shown to cabin upon arrival by a flustered host who did not show us how to work everything. Had no hot water from either kitchen or bathroom taps which were difficult to turn on. Bed was as hard as the floor, replacement "new" mattress was also far too hard, work with a sore back every day after a terrible sleep! 3 day stay and no fresh towels provided! Plates in cupboard were both dirty and chipped. When checking out we raised our disappointments with owners who were rudely dismissive and shouted at us saying we just wanted discount despite having paid I full! He also tried to charge me double the agreed price! We were told that it was up to us to check all was in working order as how we're they supposed to know! Surely the onus is on the owners to ensure quality prior to guests arriving?! Would neither return or recommend this accommodation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieMoore, Owner at Braemar Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
In response to your false review I would like to clear up a few of the ( issues ) ? you have raised
1. Mattress
On the second day of your stay, you said your mattress was uncomfortable but strange as it may appear your partner said it was fine the first night but not on the second ?. A member of staff & myself checked it and found it to be fine but however we decided to change it.
We only use high quality mattresses i.e. Silent Night which the vast majority of our guests prefer.
2. Hot Water
I fail to understand how neither of you understood how to put the switch on which is clearly marked (Hot water) to make it work. You could have came to reception & a member of staff would have explained
The hot water was working perfectly when you arrived & after you left
Plates
We did find one chipped plate which we apologise for but no dirty ones.
Double Charge
Due to the fact you kept repeating yourself about these problems which never existed
i.e. Your new mattress was to Hard & you could not sleep as it gave you a sore back.
Telling / threating me you would leave a bad report on tripadvisor
whilst I was taking your payment I did forget to debit the deposit from your bill which I sorted out instantly.
I told you not to return as you would not be welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Great location right near the main centre of Braemar. Log cabin was a bit tired. Hot water tap was hard to turn off, shower flooded, old towels, crowded parking but apart from that it was clean and warm and nice and quiet. Restaurant food was great. Would recommend for sure. Ideal location for all the sites. Make sure you take pounds for the meter at least 3-4 pounds per day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I sayed for one night in a single room in March as I was hill walking in the area. The room was nicely decorated and had tea and coffee making facilities. I arrived around 9pm at night and asked if the owners would mind if i popped my sandwiches that id made up in the fridge overnight for my walk the next day. They were oblidging and also got up early to allow me to have an earlier breakfast than their usual time. I was most grateful for the very personal service. The breakfast was lovely and i was joined well almost for breakfast by a red squirrell outside the window in the garden directly outside. How wonderful to see Scottish naturewhile eating my breakfast. I booked this hotel not long i was due to travel and got a very reasonable room rate price. Id certainly have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending the hotel to others. An excellent stay with wonderful owners whos customer service was very personal for which i was very grateful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a lovely break 3 night stay at Braemar Lodge. The area is beautiful, with Glenshee Ski centre 10 minutes drive away and we did a couple of lovely walks in the surrounding areas. The food in the hotel is superb - we ate there 2 out of the 3 nights and it was excellent (I'd love another ferrero rocher cheesecake!) The bar is nice and cosy with a log fire and the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Wish we could have stayed here longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Everything you want from self catering accommodation - spacious, warm, well equipped (tho you may want to take a sharp knife!!), friendly & helpful owners, and a great location. It really helped make our weekend away quite special.

A last minute decision to make the most of the amazing snow in Glenshee had us looking for somewhere to stay for a couple of nights - for a party of 4 adults & 2 kids. Given the great weather & snow I wasn't expecting to find availability at our first choice - the "luxury" log cabins at Braemar Lodge hotel - but we were in luck. The kind owner said she'd could fit us in, at worst in three 1-bedroom cabins but she'd see if she could do some shuffling round to get us in a 3-bed cabin. Which she did. Dealing with her was so straightforward and easy, no fuss.

Thanks, and am sure we'll be back for another trip, not just for the skiing, but to enjoy the lovely countryside around Braemar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night end of February after a day of skiing. Hotel was excellent in every way. Warm,good food,clean very pleasant staff.will definitely be back and recommend to others.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Braemar Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar Lodge Hotel

Address: Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5QY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel/B&B located in an old Scottish hunting lodge two minutes from the center of town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braemar Hotel Braemar
Braemar Lodge Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braemar Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.