We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Braemar Gathering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Braemar Gathering

The Braemar Gathering
Braemar AB35 5UH , Scotland
+44 (0) 13397 55377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 Attractions in Braemar
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Jefferson City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Braemar Gathering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The highlight of a great trip. We planned our tour of the NorthEast highlands around this event, and it did not disappoint. While the games and bands were excellent, the most impressive part of this event was.... the spectators. The people we sat around were fantastic. Very friendly and very sharing with their scotch!! The Scots themselves sold us on Scotland.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a fantastic evening watching eight wonderful dancers along with their piper and a compere.
Piper had lived for 27 years in my own town of Beeston. Compere was delightfully Scottish and the dancers brimmed with confidence and fun

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Highland Games”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This once a year event is a must for anyone in the area.
It is a fantastic day out whatever the weather, and we have seen it all!
It is Scotland after all! And you get to see the Queen!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We planned our trip around this day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I don't want to say it was "once in a lifetime" because I hope to attend again one year, but what a thrill of a lifetime it was. We bought seats in the stands, about $50 each, as I recall, and well worth it. I don't remember whether we paid for parking or not; we were directed off the road onto a field that was a healthy walk from the site. We've attended games in southern California where each event is in a separate venue on county fairgrounds. At Braemar, most take place simultaneously in a grassy arena--dancing, caber toss, tug of war, etc.--and the massed bands march around the perimeter several times during the day.

I thought I had dressed warmly enough in wool slacks, t-shirt, sweater, scarf and jacket, with rain jacket over all, but I forgot my gloves, and I would have dearly loved to have them. (If you look at video of the day, you'll see how people dressed.) The sun came out for a bit (interestingly, just before the Queen and her party arrived), but played peek-a-boo most of the day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“THE GATHERING TO VISIT WHEN IN SCOTLAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Brilliant atmosphere. Lots going on all day. Visiting Royalty. Book seats in advance better than having to stand all day. Car parking in the ground is £10 bookable in advance but well worth it so you have access to your car for coats,food etc.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Braemar Gathering also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Braemar Gathering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Braemar Gathering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.