We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Callater Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braemar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Callater Lodge Guest House
Save
You added Callater Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
9 Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5YQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Braemar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

What a wonderful stay we had! We visited Braemar for the Highland Gathering (the annual highland games at which the Queen attends) as part of a short holiday to Scotland. The hotels location was easy to find as you enter the village from Glenshee. The hotel is well located on the edge of the village, being approximately a 10 minutes walk to the castle and only a short stroll into the attractive village centre to take a look at the few shops that there are. Liz and Andy are excellant hosts, friendly and available, whilst never being intrusive. The room we had (sorry I can't recall the number) was very clean, very comfortable and pleasantly furnished, with some nice little touches such as a small box of biscuits and a small cuddly toy to hang on the door as a do not disturb sign. The wi-fi signal is strong, the connection good, the TV picture was clear and includes freeview. Breakfast was awesome, really good quality produce and very well cooked. We ate the full cooked breakfast each morning along with fruit, yogurts, croissant and toast. Other breakfast options were available such as smoked salmon, porridge or kippers. The hotel does not provide an evening meal but do offer snacks between certain hours (5pm & 8pm) and drinks are available (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) at what I thought were very fair prices i.e. a pot of tea and fudge at £1. Both Liz and Andy were happy to talk about the area or provide recommendations for a walk or an evening meal. We found the hotel to be quiet, great for getting out and exploring the area either on foot or by car. There was nothing to complain about and try keeping us away, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great value for what we received 78 pounds per night for two, we stayed two nights and would recommend this b&b to everyone, the owners could not do enough for us, room 3 was a good size, double glazing, ensuite breakfast was more than you could eat, the porridge was great, as was the scottish breakfast, the house was beautiful, Braemar was a fantastic place to relax after paying 349 pounds a night in Edinburgh with no parking, what can we say, compared to similar B&Bs in Australia, Braemar was half the price submitted by Tom & Lesley Sydney Australia

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Working in Braemar on a short job and checked in here for 4 nights. Noted the following:

The place is very clean indeed (something that is important to me - I'm pretty fussy about cleanliness).

Very comfy bed and the place is really quiet. Nobody keeping me awake with loud telly at night.

Owners very friendly and helpful, but unlike some places, they give you peace to get on with what you are doing.

I was working up here but I also took the chance to go into the mountains in the evening. Got good solid advice from the owners on stuff I needed to know to be safe on Lochnagar before I went - which helped me a lot.

Needed my bike stored safely (it's expensive). They put it in the house :-) That is what I call looking after your guests.

Good wireless internet connection. Strong signal in room and good connection speed. Fast enough to play you tube videos no problem.

Needed a big long document printed and I didn't have a printer. They printed it for me no problem.

Plenty room to park.

Nice and clear picture on the telly and they've got freeview.

I can't think of anything to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aesch, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We felt immediately comfortable after Liz heartly welcome. We stayed for 7 nights and we were in good hands with Liz and Andy. The breakfast was always excellent. We missed nothing. Andy made every morning a great job in the kitchen. The room was large and quiet. There’s enough space to pack your things away.
We will stay here again if we will come back one time. We can recommend it strongly

Liz and Andy, thanks for all, we felt very comfortable in your B&B

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmaley
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Alan and Liz were lovely hosts and their home was well laid out and spotless. The touch of the little teddy bear with his note to sit outside the door if you did not want to be disturbed was cute. The breakfasts were warm and filling. Alan is a good cook, while Liz mans the dining room to ensure every want is met. Their recommendations for places to eat and visit were spot on. Very enjoyable time, and would highly recommend Callater and will go back ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

People who welcome dripping wet strangers into their home, with a smile on their face are pretty special. Wonderful welcome, food and drying room.
Would highly recommend.
Thanks Liz and Andy,
Tom and Elaine Summerscales

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We arrived at Callater Lodge after an 8 hour drive from Bedford - the warm welcome (and soup and chips!) was just what was needed to relax into our excellent winter break.

Our stay was for 3 nights which included our first ever skiing lesson and a couple of breathtaking walks. Needless to say the children loved the fresh air but were very happy when we arrived back to a warm Callater lodge each evening - with an excellent drying room for all our wet clothes (and a couple of bottles of the local brew to help get rid of the chill).

We loved our warm beds and rooms, the water bottle being a nice touch for when we came in from our days skiing or walking in the snow. The breakfast every morning was excellent and kept us going well into the day, without the dreaded - "we're hungry" being repeated at 5 minute intervals!

There aren't many places to eat in Braemar but Andy & Liz pointed us in the direction of the best places and offered us a hearty snack on the occasion that we were too tired to go back out into the cold.

Thanks Andy & Liz for an excellent break, we will most definitely be back again to enjoy your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Callater Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callater Lodge Guest House

Address: 9 Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5YQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Braemar
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian Villa built in 1861 of local granite stone, Callater Lodge stands in spacious and attractive grounds.A family run licensed Guest House we pride ourselves on our guests warmth and comfort. In the winter months the Guest house is heated throughout, 24 hours a day, so a warm welcome is always guaranteed.Callater Lodge is a quality Guest house and is the only establishment in Braemar to be awarded 4 stars by the Scottish Tourist Board and 4 stars by the Automobile Association.The pretty village of Braemar, some 8 miles from Balmoral Castle is the gateway to Royal Deeside and the Cairngorms, surrounded by fine hills Braemar is an ideal base for walking, climbing, skiing, golf, cycling, fishing and other outdoor activities.Callater Lodge Guest House provides easy access to some of Scotland's wildest areas and is located within the Cairngorm National Park.For the tourist, in addition to famous beauty spots such as the Linn of Dee, there are nearby the Whisky Trail, Castle Trail and Victorian Heritage Trail and Nature Reserves.Each year on the first Saturday in September the village is home to the world famous Braemar Gathering and Highland Games. Since Queen Victoria in 1848 these colourful and exciting games have been regularly attended by members of the Royal Family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Callater Lodge Guest House Braemar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Callater Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.