We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel
Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Coast & Country Invercauld Arms Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Enjoyed !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I found the hotel clean and comfy ...for the money paid it was bargain . But if your looking for 5 stars you need to book into Hilton at balleter. It's expensive thou can't so you get what you pay for and the cost of bay hotel is more than fair .

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    120
    43
    32
    18
See reviews for
25
177
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break , with a caledonian tour it was great a warm welcome on arrival and when entering hotel a lovely coal fire burning in the sitting room . Our room was fresh and clean with tea and coffee replenished daily and our room overlooked the hills .we had a day out to Aberdeen , then a gala dinner in the evening with entertainment and four free drinks each it was fabulous truly value for money on Sunday another day out to the linn of dee , crathie church and then on to ballater -- great value for the money -- good food and plenty of choices comfortable sitting rooms and staff very helpful and pleasant -- a truly great hotel

Room Tip: Probably rooms on the 1a level or higher you can see the surrounding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from our second visit to the Invercauld Arms with National Holidays and it's still one of the best run hotels we've stayed at, all of the staff are faultless. Although the weather outside was very cold the hotel was very warm throughout. We had one of the Superior bedrooms on the ground floor with a good view of the surrounding countryside. It was large and very well furnished with a king size bed, table and 2 armchairs, flatscreen t.v ,large wardrobe and plenty of drawers, large bathroom. As usual there was a very good selection of good quality food served evening (changed nightly) and morning. And the Dining Room was very efficiently managed by Ian and his boys and girls, some of the fastest servers in the country. The well run bar had a good selection of top brands of spirits and beers/lager, made better still with the 4 vouchers daily.Due to the weather conditions most of the entertainers could not get through to the hotel but this gave us more time to talk to the other guests. The snow covered scenery while we were out during the day was spectacular and our driver Bryan coped with the snow covered roads expertly and safely, well done. We had a very relaxing five day break at Invercauld , thank you and well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a room with scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had one of the best holiday weekends ever with National at this hotel in Braemar.The weather was attrotious after snow started early Saturday morning but nothing deterred our coach driver Doug.he litterally "ploughed on" through the snow to get us out on our trips.Doug's humour kept everyone in top form and he made sure everyone had as good a weekend as possible.
The hotel was excellent.Rooms were spot on and the food very nice,served by the attentive and polite staff.
The journey home on .Monday was exciting to say the least with the roads only just passable down as far just north of Carlisle.Once again,Doug got us all through the worst with his impeccable driving and brilliant humour,,,he is a credit to National Holidays.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Invercauld Arms is an old style hotel which is what we like to stay in when visiting the Highlands. It was built in 1645 so they dont come more old style than this. Room was really warm (aside from bathroom ) with a soft comfortable bed and a fantastic view of the surrounding countryside, tea and coffee was available in the room. Meals consisted of breakfast, which was everything from cereals to full English or Kippers and three course evening meals, which were fine, but not exceptional. There is a bar selling reasonably priced drinks and a choice of areas in which to consume them including daily evening entertainment in one and a cosy open log fire in another.

Room Tip: South side for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay was in the Superior room 12. The room was amazing except for the fact that it's above the entertainment area and you can hear the entertainment until about 10.30 which is not a problem if you want to join in or perhaps go out for the evening. Couldn't fault the cleanliness of the hotel throughout or the friendliness of the staff. The beef on the Gala evening was the best meal we had eaten there and overall on the Shearings package good value for money. There's some lovely gift shops in Braemar a stones throw away from the hotel and plenty of different walks to do with varying difficulty levels. We often saw deer and stags on our way through the Glenshees and if you manage to get front seats on the coach I would say that it was worth paying the small supplement as the scenery in the Cairngorms is second to none. Overall it was a fantastic holiday and one that we would like to do again. Now looking forward to watching BBCs Winter Watch in January which is going to be filmed in the Cairngorms near to Braemar.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned on Friday from a 5 day National Holidays break to this hotel. On arrival we were quickly given our hotel keys and were pleasantly surprised when we entered the room. This room had a new bed lovely crisp linen and fluffy white towels. The was a flat screen television and a new modern bathroom with a walk in shower and all new fittings. We had a side view and could see Braemar Castle in the distance.

The meals were very good and plentiful. Nicely presented with good cuts of meat. All of the meals we had were piping hot.

There are 2 lounges and a bar and all were nicely decorated with the lounges having modern furnishings.

Part of the package was 4 drinks including wine, branded spirits with a mixer and beers. These could be used at any time from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.

Braemar village is a nice village with shops and restaurants and a short stroll from the hotel. At the time of our visit there was another hotel with a decent bar and sold food, this was the Fife Arms. However this is to close 15th December for a massive refit and will be closed for 2 years.

The Invercauld Arms also closes for 2 months January and February.

The room was kept clean with clean towels every day.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for a nice leasurely break. Very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Coast & Country Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive baronial style of the Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood panelling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travellers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day.The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivalled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.