We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from Braemar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel
Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Coast & Country Invercauld Arms Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £79!!!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just returned from Braemar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned from a five day break at the Invercauld. The Scenery is superb, snow visited us and yet there were still many trees with lovely autumn shades, excellent ground floor room due to mobility problems which I thank them for and the staff were brilliant, particularly Dora. Plenty of deer to see on the journey home and the Shearings driver, Martin was so informative making the holiday very pleasant indeed. The hotel is very good, food plentiful and varied. Although the room was comfortable and warm (extra heater provided if requested), the same cannot be said for the bathroom! Excellent value for money and well recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your lovely comments about the staff and food, I will pass your kind comments onto Dora and Martin our driver who is a real gem. Hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    119
    43
    32
    18
See reviews for
25
176
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break here, a long journey but certainly worth it, the scenery is superb, snow, autumn shades, excellent views and plenty of deer to see, the driver (Geoff) was so informative and made the holiday. The hotel is very good, staff really helpful, food ok, our downside was the room was a little cold, especially in the bathroom
Excellent value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to Geoff our driver he is a mind of information, thank you for your lovely comments about the staff they all work so hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay. Hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

stayed here last weekend. this was my 3rd visit in 4 years. o dear what a disapointment. paid for a premier room which looked on to a mound of grass and a monument and had to look hard to see the mountains. the gala dinner on the sat. turkey was i'm sure was out of a tin or the bird was ill when cooked. the brussel sprouts you could have bounced on the floor and they would have gone out the door. this was not a cheap weekend and is not value for money. i could go on but all in all i don't recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us, it’s disappointing to read you did not enjoy your food with us this is very unusual, you booked a standard room which is at the side of the hotel it was not the Premier room as this faces the front of the hotel which overlooks the mountains.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemyss Bay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Called in for an evening meal with the promise of freshly battered fish and real chips on the evening menu. However as it was Sunday only the lunch menu was available and the fish and chips was frozen. The overcooked fish (greyish of unknown species) and oven chips wasn't good at all. It was cheap, but totally devoid of flavour and nutrition. There were some specials on the blackboard and I wish I had gone for one of those. Thank goodness the bottle of wine was nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
I’m sorry to read you did not enjoy your evening meal with us, this is very unusual, I can only apologise and will be speaking to the chef to find out why you where not served the fresh fish, glad you enjoyed the wine, if you are back in the area please come in and see me.

Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Having been directed to this hotel as our preferred one was full, we were informed the only room available was a "premier" room. It was huge but hardly welcoming. We had to move the chairs as the TV was too far away to see it. It was dull and singularly unimaginative.
We went for a coffee in the main reception area mid afternoon and waited while a waitress spoke at length to the receptionist while flatly ignoring us. It took us over half an hour to get a coffee!!
We went to dinner to find a coach party in - no problem with that. Until that is we discovered the meal available had been laid out for hours in anticipation of said party. I ordered camembert bites with a Redcurrant jam. They were cold and the jam was so congealed it couldn't be scraped off with a knife. Main course chosen was a chicken dish. It was cold and disgusting. I thought I would be safe with biscuits and cheese! A polythene wrapped slither of what purported to be Red Leicester (in fact more like wax) and a small foil square of Philadelphia!!!!!!!!! If that is the only fare available then why are they charging premium prices. The staff were surly and unhelpful. The breakfast was equally paltry - rushed and without grace.
The hotel did not charge us for dinner after the complaint, but nevertheless, I still object to paying extortionate prices for a hotel in Scotland that obviously only wants to cater for bus parties. I do hope this hotel is not presumed to be the best that Scotland can offer. Just around the corner in the Fife Arms, the welcome, the food and the ambience is second to none!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us, I am sorry to read that we did not meet you expectations. I am surprised by your comments about the food as we usually receive excellent comments about food.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from a five day stay, the hotel seems to have had some recent redecoration the foyer in particular was very nice with a real fire. The food was plenty for us and a good variety. The waiting staff worked very hard, Only downside we found the Dining room to be quite cold. Our twin room was large, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and the bathroom looked to have been recently refurbed as well, a very efficient shower too. A pity the entertainment room does not hold more people but the bar area and the foyer are comfortable enough for a quite drink and getting to know your fellow travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased our hotel suited your requirements; we look forward to seeing you again.
Regrads
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just returned from a great holiday break at the Invercauld Arms hotel with Shearings.I have to say it was brilliant.The room was great and the food was absolutely brilliant.Compliments to the Chef and the staff were were so hard working and courteous.Geoff was our driver for holiday and he was great.Loved the setting the hotel was in and on our free day we managed to have a fantastic walk that took you out from the back of our Hotel and up on one of the hills that gave you fantastic views of all around.Was a great time to be there with all the golden colour of Autumn!!!.Then took a walk along the road that takes you towards the Lin of Dee.Which you find just walking through Braemar village.Found some nice little Tea rooms in Braemar as well.Also had a trip out to tomintoul lovely little village.And our last day was a trip to Aberdeen(the Granite City as they call it).Would certainly recommend going.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a 5 star review of your recent break with us, it’s lovely to see you had such a fantastic, i've passed your compliments onto the chef’s who work really hard to deliver good food. Hope to see you again.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Coast & Country Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive baronial style of the Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood panelling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travellers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day.The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivalled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.