We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel even more reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Coast & Country Invercauld Arms Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Braemar
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel even more reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went as part of Shearing's break in the middle of a blizzard, but kept nice and warm in the main areas. The bedroom was cold but staff quickly supplied a portable heater. The bathroom was small & dark & on the whole in need of an upgrade. Lovely old fashioned bar and restaurant in traditional Scottish decor spoiled slightly by the modern foyer but the open fire made up for the lack of ambience. Food was fine, hot & overall good value for the money. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and hard working, staying late for us when our coach was delayed for 3 hours due to the snow. Most of the guests were upgraded to mountain views, however we were at the front overlooking the main road. Now "main road" being the operative word having minimal traffic other than the snow plough. Nice little village with a small mixed range of shops & one other hotel/bar.

Beautiful scenery made even more dramatic by the snow & lots of deer around. All in all we got a good deal, reasonable hotel & food, four drinks included....but don't pay full price, get a last minute bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a lovely review, I’m pleased you found your break with us to be great value. I will pass on your great comments to my staff. Look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    133
    46
    35
    18
See reviews for
30
196
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here last August and dinner was "rough".
But we needed to be in the Area so gave the hotel another go, You can't beat it for price and staff, and now the dinnere is good to. Great value for money.
A Old Scottish hotel. Sheets and Blankets,some round 3 pin electric plugs that was a surprise.
But although dated. A good place for grown ups to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a nice review of your stay with us, I’m pleased you enjoyed our food and found our staff to be friendly we have a great team here. hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

>The Invercauld Arms Hotel is part of the Shearings group of hotels and as a consequence the review includes the overall experience of the holiday. Firstly the hotel is very nice with
spacious and clean bedrooms. Restaurant is very good and food was always hot with a good variety to choose from. Hotel staff very friendly and always willing to help, although most
waiting on staff are European. Braemar is very nice and particularly pretty in the snow although not much to do in the village so you will need to make sure you go on the excursions. Now
the good bit is over there are a few downsides. Firstly the included excursions are second rate and consist of an 20 minute drive to Lin of Dee, a 20 minute stop and drive back to the hotel.
We got back to hotel at 10 o'clock in the morning. A day trip to Aberdeen is also included, but you are dropped off in the city centre.Incidently you will need an extra £30 each for the optional
excursions.
At this point I must stress that nearly all the holidaymakers were of a retirement age and some did not take to kindly to us being there particularly as our autistic son was with us. Consequently with the coach drivers help we were ostracized for the length of the holiday. Not wishing to insult anyone it is only fair that other potential holiday makers realise that this is akin to a holiday for the retired club and would not suit younger or middle aged holiday makers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a good review of your recent stay with us, I’m pleased you enjoyed your break with us.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I travelled to this hotel on a Shearings 5 day break. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly and well informed staff. This is an old hotel but very clean and well maintained. The maintainance is obviously ongoing to keep up the very good standard. We had a twin bedded room which looked over the main raod and Braemar Castle. The bathroom had obviously been recently refurbished to a very good standard with modern walk-in shower and modern fittings. The room was cleaned well on a daily basis. There was entertainment on every night to an acceptable standard. The bar area was very comfortable and well stocked. Again, the bar staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was of an acceptable standard for the price paid. Food and drinks are also available all day at the bar. The village is small, but has everything available,(chemist, newspapers, co-op, eating places and bars). We wre lucky that there was plenty of snow around and the local ski slopes were very busy while we were there. A lot of deer had come down from the hills and were easily visible from the road.

Room Tip: If you are there in cold weather make sure that your room radiator is turned up to full, as they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a great review, I’m pleased you enjoyed your break with us and you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went to Invercauld Arms on Shearings coach for 3 nights over Easter. Enjoyed being driven watching the scenery go by, enjoyed the hotel,enjoyed the company of fellow passengers. The hotel was very good, staff pleasant and helpful. Food was very good and always well cooked and hot. Our room was at the side of the hotel at, at the edge of the village, looking out on the snow covered Cairngorm mountains. WOW,Gorgeous. Trip to Aberdeen was excellent with ample time to wander and decide if we want to return for longer. Yes! Sunday was at leisure and as before it was a beautiful sunny day which we spent walking outside having lunch back at the Invercauld Arms,superb. The open fire in the quiet cosy lounge in the evening was excellent.
A great weekend away from start to finish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay with us, I’m pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful. Hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband treated us to a 3 night stay at the Invercauld Arms Hotel in Braemar from the 29 March 2013. We were allocated room 1 on the ground floor . This was a lovely modern room with a superb view , flatscreen tv and lovely decor . The toilet heater is on a timer . During winter they should refrain from using timers , as it was too cold and you didnt really want to have a bath or shower , however , the beds were comfortable bedding warm , downside pillows were hard . In the dining room once allocated a table you eat there all your stay , this too was a bit on the cold side . The food was very good hot plate ,hot food , no complaints about food , the staff were attentive and pleasant. Entertainment on Friday was a folk singer , not to everyones taste , but remembering most of the clientel were older and on the bus tours . Saturday was Bingo night , and on Sunday nothing happens in the evening .You can always walk along to the Fife Arms , and see whats happening in there . Braemar as a place is totally beautiful , a few shops and coffee shops . The views however are a must see . On our way home we were fortunate enough to see the red deer , and a landscape that is out of this world. Would I go back to this hotel, yes, I would. Already thinking about the New Year 3 day break . If you want a lovely hotel in a lovely place with lovely views then you must visit this hotel . Good value .

Room Tip: Room 1 on ground floor . if you get this room you will find it if you walk through dining room and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the great comments on our staff we are very proud of them. Will look into the issue with the bathroom; hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

my husband and i stayed at invercauld arms hotel braemar with shearing last week 11/15 march thefood was very good the staff great our room very roomy flat screen tv the beds really comfortable every where clean i really dont know how shearings do these 4 night breaks at the price the best value break we have been on the excursions we went on where very good shame we could not get on the other trips as they were full never mind maybe next time big bob our driver was very good will travel with shearings again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It’s great to read you enjoyed your holiday, as you say the drivers are very helpful and friendly and are a mine of information on the excursions. I have past your comments onto my staff who love to read these reviews. Look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Coast & Country Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive baronial style of the Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood panelling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travellers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day.The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivalled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.