We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fife Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fife Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Fife Arms Hotel
Mar Road, Braemar AB35 5YL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
DESFORD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Hotel & Room OK
Food was cold when it got to the table service was very slow choice of evening meal
was very poor when we managed to get it, very small portions.Good job there was a chip shop local. stayed there for one week had to keep going down to get t/bags and sugar as they did not replace them three out of five days overall very disappointed
we sayed for one week from 26 july 2010

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    136
    99
    75
    89
See reviews for
57
212
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belper
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We booked our rooms at the Fife Arms on the interent. On arrival we found our room to be large and spacious, with excellent views. The decor I'm afraid was a bit tired and the sette in our room was ripped, as were the ones in the lounge down stairs. They had just installed new flat screen tv's which was great, unfortunately with our large room you would need a telescope to actually watch it as the screen size was ~16 inches, and not all the channels were tuned. On our first night we decided to try the bar food.............big mistake, it was pretty awful. Breakfast was slightly disappointing, the quality was fine but the quantity was designed for elderly coach parties, which there were many, and not people planning to walk 20 miles and 5 munro's. We also got ushered into a side room where there were no table covers and felt like second class citizens, they even forgot to bring us our toast!! The second night we ventured to a small restaurant about 100yds down the road (Gordons I think) were the food was excellent. We found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and helpful and the rooms clean. Would I go back.......definately yes, would I eat there.......definateley not.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifearmsmanager, General Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
May I take this opportunity in thanking for your review of your recent stay at the Fife Arms Hotel, we have very recently undertaken a program of improvement throughout the hotel and the standard of furnishing throughout the hotel is high on our list of priorities.

We are currently structuring a full training program to ensure our guests receive the best possible level of service and more in line with our customers expectations.

Wherever possible we endeavour to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and clearly on this occasion this was not the case.

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your stay and i hope you will return to the fife arms and see the dramatic changes we are making which i am positive will enhance the guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

I booked this over the internet as part of a driving holiday in Scotland. We wanted to do lots of walking so the location looked ideal.

What we failed to appreciate was that the hotel caters for coach parties of elderly people, probably visiting Balmoral as I can't see them staggering up any mountains. Now I am not being disrespectul to any age group but this hotel has really carved out its niche market and is quite satisfied with that. Failing eysight would be an advantage staying here; the bathroom was crumbling, the shower curtain mouldy, the paintwork peeiling and the decor shabby.

The room we stayed in had a great view and we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the river flowing by. However, the floor sloped, the carpet was threadbear and for some reason there was a wooden plank nailed across the front window ~ very bizarre.

Food was like school dining room service ~ couldn't even get a civilised pot of Earl Grey so took our own teabags down to breakfast. No food served after 7.30 in the restaurant so useless for having a long day out and then having dinner.

Twee entertainment in the evening with many patrons nodding off.

Whenever anyone we met asked where we were staying and we told them the Fife Arms, the smile faded from their face and they said "oh dear".

We will be be sending a letter of complaint to the head office although I am not confident of anyone caring very much.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifearmsmanager, General Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
May I take this opportunity in thanking for your review of your recent stay at the Fife Arms Hotel, we have very recently undertaken a program of improvement throughout the hotel and food service being very high on our list of priorities.

We are in the final stages of installing new menus and standards for both our bar menus and restaurant menus which will place our food more in line with our customers expectations.

Wherever possible we endeavour to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and clearly on this occasion this was not the case.

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your stay , unfortunately I was not aware of these points otherwise these points would have been rectified during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musselburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

we came here with David Urquhart Travel.for 4 nights, Braemar is a beautiful village,but this hotel was `murder` a surly manager and assistant manager Marc our room was on the second floor it was like a sauna in the corridor and the room was unbearable we couldnt get a wink of sleep as it was `so hot` you could have grown tomatoes in it and that was with no heating on and the window open all the time the room was small and dark very old tatty carpets in room and in corridor stuck together with black tape you could hardly move in the room it was so cramped and dark the wallpaper was peeling off the wall I will add photos later the windows were filthy the paint was peeling off the windows too,the `en-suite` was a tiny shower room no window in it the shower room was stinking of damp ,the toilet and basin were filthy my spouse had to go and get bleach to clean it the toilet brush was `alive` the food was disgusting for example the `scotch broth` was hot water with onions and some carrots,the trifle was 2 inches thick rubberery custard with a pink bit of sponge we paid £390 for 4 nights the staff in the restaurants were east europeans were friendly enough but could understand us when we mentioned the gruel masquerading as food,we couldnt stand it any longer and checked in to the hotel along the road the Invercauld Arms it was very clean and spacious and the food was excellent go there not this dump the stars out of ten should be minus as it was awful.I wouldnt recommend this to my worst enemy honest I wouldnt prisoners in jail are better fed,our driver Roddy was useless he didnt point anything out to us

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifearmsmanager, General Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
May I take this opportunity in thanking for your review of your recent stay at the Fife Arms Hotel, we have very recently undertaken a rolling program of updating the bedrooms and public areas of the hotel although this is an ongoing program due to the size of the hotel.

Wherever possible we endeavour to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and clearly on this occasion this was not the case.

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your stay , unfortunately I was not aware of these points otherwise these points would have been rectified during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Gladly we didn't have the "pleasure" of staying there overnight, but we visited the Hotel and had tea there on our recent trip to Braemar, which is a wonderful village. The Fife Arms Hotel is centrally located in the middle of Braemar, but it seems as if has not been renovated for decades. The furniture in the lobby looks like a bundle of bulky waste and the standard is similar to a youth hostel. That's really a pity because the building itself is really gorgeous and it would deserve a complete reconstruction. It's a shame that this wonderful estate is in such a shabby condition. To put it all in a nutshell this hotel is really over the hill. If you are in Braemar go there for a cup of tea at the fireplace which is really nice, but save yourself from staying there...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifearmsmanager, General Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
May I take this opportunity in thanking you for your review of your recent visit to The Fife Arms Hotel. Currently we are in the process of updating all of our bedrooms and public areas but due to the size of this property this is an ongoing rolling program.

Your constructive comments are always appreciated as this gives us the opportunity to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed here initially because our first chioce accomodation in Braemar was messed up by our travel agent! The Fife Arms reception staff were incredibly helpful and patient in sorting out a room for us at no notice. We stayed three nights in an "executive" room which was very comfortable albiet with limited facitlies (no telephone and a basic TV with only a few channels). This did not matter at all as everything else was very good and we hardly stayed in the room at all during the visit. The hotel appears to cater fo coach parties but although there were two coaches there during our stay there was never any problem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifearmsmanager, General Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
May I take the opportunity in thanking you for your review of your recent stay at The Fife Arms Hotel, Myself and the team were very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Wherever possible we endeavour to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Currently we are updating our bedrooms and public areas and hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Like most guests here, we were part of a budget coach holiday with David Urquhart Travel. On that basis we can certainly recommend the hotel. It is a grand old place, with spacious public rooms. Our first floor bedroom was very comfortable and clean and not cramped. The food was standard fare, but very acceptable, with a wide choice and decent portions. Each night there was a veggie option, though not very exciting; and also a fish dish each night. Dinner is served at a single sitting, at 6.30pm. The staff, mainly east European, were fine.

There was entertainment each night - not our cup of tea, of the singalong variety for the mainly elderly guests; and fairly loud; but it finished by 11pm; and there is an alternative bar (or try the pleasant bar at the Invercauld Arms a short distance away.)

The location couldn't be better; right in the middle of the village and among superb scenery.

It is true that the hotel really needs a makeover, and probably quite urgently. But that didn't affect our enjoyment at all. And when the tour was offered at £129 a head for coach travel, two excursions, and three nights DB&B, we weren't expecting the Savoy! (In fact the price was reduced to £99 each a few weeks ahead of the trip!) People travelling on their own might prefer an alternative accommodation.

In short, don't expect too much; but let yourself enjoy the holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fife Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife Arms Hotel

Address: Mar Road, Braemar AB35 5YL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fife Arms, In the stunning village of Braemar, now under new management of Steven Turton with over 20 years experience in the trade. The fife Arms is owned by Harts Hotels group, orginally called "Hunters Fife Arms", and built by the Duke of Fife, in the 19th century. The hotel is on the door step to Balmoral Castle, just 9 miles down the road!, glen shee, ski centre is also near by for those who love the winter sports. WE LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Fife Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fife Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.