We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fife Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fife Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Fife Arms Hotel
Mar Road, Braemar AB35 5YL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for 4nights and as with all other reviews this hotel is tired. This hotel could be so much more, it could be the jewel in Braemar if the owners put some money into it. Gorgeous big entrance reception with real fires which I thought was a great touch you wouldn't get this in most hotels. The rooms were basic, update please this let's you down. The managers always seem to put the same things in for comments "we are currently updating rooms"
The staff were amazing nothing was to much bother and the food was great, service was great most days, I feel that this was only let down by the number of staff who had a lot of tables to attend to, I overheard a couple of older guests complaining but felt they were moaning for moanings sake. The majority of guests were over 60 and the nightly entertainment was geared for them and guests from abroad in the way of Scottish music and dance which was nice but not every evening please.
If this hotel wants more business it should start updating the decor and rooms. Beds were not the comfiest, Could do with more attention to detail in the dusting of rooms, my bedside lamp was very dusty. Put new real wood flooring down in the reception and dining room and get rid of the thread bare carpets.

Room Tip: If your staying at this hotel ask for a room that has been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    136
    99
    75
    89
See reviews for
57
212
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hotel room was basic but clean, Meal were good but waiting staff could have been better managed by allocating them selected serving dining areas. Staff were helpful and pleasant The hotel is in need off substantial updating and refurbishment, as other reviewers commented the lift was out of order, not good when you have a lung condition.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked months in advance, phoned to confirm our arrival the day before. When I got there, there was no record of my booking. The lift was broken,
the room was shabby and jaded, peeling wall paper etc. no bath just a rickety shower. Breakfast was well cooked but tiny like a child's meal. I understand the other reviews saying that you are there for the views not the hotel, but when you have walked 50km through the lovely views sleeping in a tent, this hotel was supposed to be a treat for a night before pushing on...it wasn't. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It's a huge Victorian pile, grand big windows with wonderful views, high ceilings. Generally friendly staff - the South African chap in the bar was very brisk and efficient too. Food's fine, no frills. Room fine, no frills. I don't need a wide range of toiletries but just a single small bar of soap in the bathroom was a bit mean. Don't expect to be pampered here, but it is a reliable base, and i would quite happily stay here again, and likely will.

Room Tip: Higher up the better. The bar is not very noisy but, well, it's a bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifearmsmanager, Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Steve,

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay here at The Fife Arms.

I was pleased to see that in general you had enjoyed your visit, we are very proud of our hard working team and I was especially pleased that you appreciated Rob's service in the bar. We are receiving excellent feedback for the food and service in this area and are very busy with bar meals as a result.

We are currently reviewing our bedroom amenities and will consider what we offer in the way of toiletries.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Fife Arms sometime soon.

Kind Regards,


Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Despite booking and paying months in advance and having the booking
references and confirmations they appeared to be unready for us, took
ages for a group of them looking at the computer screens to find us
rooms.Decor was dirty, carpets were worn. The Lift was out of action so if you have mobility issues this will be a concern.Breakfast came on what appeared to be a child's plate,
consisting of one piece of bacon, one sausage, an egg, a handful of
baked beans and what looked like a third of a hash brown. Paid almost
£70 for one night and feel thoroughly disappointed and ripped off. I
would advise people to look try the guest houses which give you a warm and personal stay - i would recommend the Schiehallion house - 013397 41679 which has a bar as well : )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifearmsmanager, Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Mark,

Many thanks for th ereview which you have placed, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I can assure you that we will take on board the points that you have made and try to make changes to avoid future guest dissatisfaction.

As you will see from other reviewers we do offer many of our guests a pleasant value for money stay and receive many positive comments particularly regarding our hard working team of staff.

Once again many thanks for taking time to place your review.

Regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Despite booking and paying months in advance and having the booking references and confirmations they appeared to be unready for us, took ages for a group of them looking at the computer screens to find us rooms. Booked a double room, given a twin. 2nd room was in what appeared the attic with no way to turn down the furnace like radiator, 3rd room window was kept open by a block of wood chained to the window sill, shower did not stay in place turning to the wall and dropping. Decor was dirty, with peeling paint. Rooms are very noisy, you can hear every sound, cisterns filling etc. Lift inner doors did not close, so was faced with seeing the walls rush past as the lift went up, scary. Breakfast came on what appeared to be a child's plate, consisting of one piece of bacon, one sausage, an egg, a handful of baked beans and what looked like a third of a hash brown. Paid almost £70 for one night and feel thoroughly disappointed and ripped off. I would advise people to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A very sad building. It could be a lovely place,but needs so much work. For example, the dinning room carpet is held down by duck tape and is worn and filthy. Or room was huge - 116 Cullonden with a canopy bed and was very clean, but freezing. Coaches full of people who push you to get to the breakfast table stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifearmsmanager, Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

May I thank you for your recent review following your stay at Fife Arms.

We are aware of the areas of the hotel which still require investment and I am pleased to say that we have a programme of planned refurbishment which is currently upgrading several areas including the dining room. Our company is committed to ensuring that ongoing re-investment is made and we appreciate customer feedback as a way of deciding priorities.

During these very difficult times however we are focussing on service standards, cleanliness and food quality to offer genuine value for money to our customers and will continue to invest in these areas also.

Once again thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Your contribution is most appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fife Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife Arms Hotel

Address: Mar Road, Braemar AB35 5YL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fife Arms, In the stunning village of Braemar, now under new management of Steven Turton with over 20 years experience in the trade. The fife Arms is owned by Harts Hotels group, orginally called "Hunters Fife Arms", and built by the Duke of Fife, in the 19th century. The hotel is on the door step to Balmoral Castle, just 9 miles down the road!, glen shee, ski centre is also near by for those who love the winter sports. WE LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Fife Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fife Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.