We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poolewe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Poolewe Hotel to your Saves list
Poolewe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street | Highlands, Poolewe IV22 2JX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poolewe
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great hotel in the perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great bar in the hotel, good banter from the locals. Food is awesome. Really like the Christmas menu they put on in 2014. A trip up north is not complete without popping in. Ignor the comments that people have added in the past. If you are travelling the Wester Ross route and need a place to put your head you wont be disappointed.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
24
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had an enjoyable stay at the Poolewe Hotel. We had a spacious room in the annex. The room was well decorated, clean and warm with a good shower. The free wifi was working in the room, which was a bonus- we were only expecting this in the public areas of the hotel. The view from the window was wonderful- straight up Loch Ewe and across to Inverewe Gardens. We had an evening meal in the bar- typical bar meal type menu. The food was tasty, well cooked and reasonably priced (as were the drinks) and the service was good. The there was a good selection of items for the cooked breakfast; from bacon, beef sausage, Stornaway black pudding, eggs cooked how you like them, tomato, and beans through to kippers, smoked haddock and locally smoked salmon. There was also fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and cereals.
Any small issues that we had were resolved straight away. Couldn't ask for more.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We came across the Poolewe whilst on a local business trip to Gairloch, after checking some of the reviews we weren’t entirely sure what to expect, but as we were only looking for somewhere to overnight for one evening, we didn’t worry too much. What a great find it turned out to be, firstly being met at reception by the extremely friendly owner who more than welcomed us whilst explaining the restaurant and breakfast times, then to find the warm, comfortable and clean room, followed by a great night in the bar enjoying our evening meal whilst earwigging the latest news from the assembled locals. We later retired to one of the most comfortable beds we have experienced covered with a quilt that resembled a giant marshmallow. Breakfast was plentiful and cooked as we wanted it by the owner, who was more than happy to spend some time chatting with us about the local area and our personal plans. We would recommend the Poolewe as a great base to explore the local area and unwind.

Room Tip: Ours had a great view of the loch across the quiet road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

seen alot of reviews here saying that the manager was rude... this was not our experience, he was very pleasant and engaged in our conversation.... we had just popped in for a quick drink on our way back to our cottage further up the loch... and the hour was getting late, he could have just as easy told us to get out, but no... we were welcomed, enjoyed our drinks and our time with him...will try to stay a night or two this year

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Rooms are clean and functional, bar food is good quality and so is breakfast. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The bar stocks a nice selection of local bottled beers at a very reasonable prices and is also a good place to mingle with the locals. All in all, a very good value hotel in a stunning location.

Some of the rooms have beautiful views of the water and the smoked salmon served on the bar menu (cured at Loch Ewe Smokey) is delicious.

Well done to the owner for making the best of what he has. Good wifi signal is a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I mean, look. I gave the Hotel an "average" review. I am quite mixed in my views. Let me explain why.

First, the hotel location is good. It's a great base for touring, which is what I was doing. And at £35 a night b&b I had lower expectations than perhaps I should. There were a number of things which didn't get me off to a good start.

First, the room description on lime was wrong. It said "all single rooms have comfortable double-beds". Well they don't. Or at least mine didn't. I pointed the error out to the Manager who of course made the usual "Can't be. We wouldn't. Oh, I see what went wrong, cut and paste, fixed it now" and he fixed it there and then. Had I been him I might have offered an upgrade.... But I wasn't, and he didn't. It didn't really spoil anything.

Second. I expected to be late arriving so emailed to ask if I could get something to eat if I was late (not by ages, about 30 minutes) This is exactly what I got back:
Good Evening
We serve meals from 6.30 til 8.00pm
Gary Marshall
Manager
That didn't exactly make me feel welcome.

Third. The hotel accommodation was not open, so I was in the Annexe. Not a real problem other than of crossing the few yards in whatever the weather was from Annexe to hotel. As it happened the weather was mainly benevolent. I guess this was because it's "out of season", so worth checking.

But, to be honest, I liked it there. They looked after me well. Breakfasts were first class. Evening meals were average pub food. But, "out of season". I ate there each night (apart from the first). The staff were friendly and the service good.

And that's were my problem comes. If I'd stayed there only one night I'd have probably slated it. I can imagine why folk have done so here. But being there four nights gave me a different view.

So I would tell you what I think the issue is, but they don't pay me for analysis. Wait a minute. They don'y pay me at all.....!!! So...

Gary the manager is not rude (as has been said). He is just the wrong person to have front of house. It's just his "manner". And I reckon if he tried to change it he'd become obsequious. DON'T GET ME WRONG. I liked him by the end of my stay.
So I'm torn. Would I go back? In a heartbeat. The location is excellent if you like the Highlands, or more specifically Loch Ewe and anywhere within a couple of hours of it. Would I recommend it for a one-nighter? Probably not. Would Gary have me back? After this review I doubt it. And I have the feeling he'd not be long in saying so.

If you stay a few nights and have the pleasure of meeting Albert, a cross between Gabby Hayes and that Scots bloke off Dad's Army, you're in for a treat.

If I mull this review over any more I'll probably delete it. Then I'D be failing.

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the hotel rooms. I'd rather stay in one of them though...... The Annexe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I am a Dj and was booked to play at Halloween. I have been before, but never stayed so this was a first. The room was fabulous! Really, I don't know what I was expecting, but it was excellent.

I have some advice though, if it's cold in your room or a bulb doesn't work, try contacting reception! They don't bite and will be delighted to help.

I played in the back bar and the locals are just epic. Really nice, no shouting or swearing, just polite gouls and ghosties requesting music. That in itself is worth going back for. I met one of the local cops (off duty) who was also very pleasant and down to earth.

Breakfast was awesome. I wanted full Scottish and did I get it. I almost managed all of it...I think I may have left a bit of egg, but it was due to the fact I was so full.

I am back Boxing Day (night) and will be taking my wife & son this time so we can enjoy a festive getaway.

All in all, I really like Poolewe and the Poolewe Hotel. The place is steeped in history too. Loch Ewe is where the famous WW2 Arctic Convoys departed. For some who never made it, this rugged coastline was the last glimpse of land they ever had.... If you have time, carry on to Cove and see the gun emplacements. Legend has it, the locals tipped the guns into the sea when the war was over. The Russian Convoy Club have placed a beautiful stone at the emplacements in honour of those who gave their lives in the conflict. Be prepared to shed some tears for those brave souls who died in the frigid waters for our freedom.

Room Tip: Poolewe is a quiet place so most rooms should be quiet. I was facing the street and didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poolewe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poolewe Hotel

Address: Main Street | Highlands, Poolewe IV22 2JX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poolewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Poolewe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional highland hotel and restaurant, on the shores of Loch Ewe in sight of Inverewe Gardens. Poolewe Hotel is a 16th-Century coaching inn in the picturesque village of Poolewe on the shore of Loch Ewe near Gairloch on the NW Coast of Scotland. Just 90 minutes of beautiful easy driving from Inverness Airport. Set amidst dramatic Highland scenery, Poolewe Hotel is ideal for anyone wishing to explore this wild and beautiful corner of Scotland. Guests can choose from twelve en-suite bedrooms and suites, most enjoying spectacular views most of the sea or mountains. In addition, Poolewe Hotel boasts a reputation for excellent food with a restaurant, a conservatory dining area, and a bar. Log fires in all the public rooms contribute to the friendly atmosphere of this historic inn. The hotel welcomes dogs; there is ample parking and free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Visit Poolewe whether to relax or to enjoy an active holiday, or a combination of both. • Visit the world-famous National Trust for Scotland Inverewe Gardens situated less than a mile from the hotel, clearly visible from the hotel dining room. • Enjoy hill walking. There are maps available in the hotel outlining the various routes, catering for a wide range of abilities. • Trout and salmon fishing, whale watching, deer stalking, canoeing, climbing, mountain biking, pony trekking, golf are all on offer in the area. • Take in the beautiful and inspiring scenery. • Visit a traditional small highland distillery. • Witness the amazing wildlife of Western Europe's last true wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Poolewe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poolewe Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poolewe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.