We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hosts and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old School Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinlochbervie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old School Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Old School Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Inshegra, Kinlochbervie IV27 4RH, Scotland (Formerly Old School Restaurant & Rooms)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very friendly hosts and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in Room 5. Room was OK with good-sized bed. The shower room was a little musty - but OK when left window open. Great view over the loch. The hosts were both very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were good and we also ate here at night for a very reasonable price. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    35
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
68
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at The Old School for 3 nights as a couple as part of an organised trip with other people. We had room 6 which had a double and single bed and was a bit cramped as you could only get to one side of the bed. I think it would have been better as either a double or 2 singles. Also the bathroom was across the corridor and shared with the room next door.
The dining room, which was in the old school building, was lovely and the food was excellent. We had dinner, breakfast and packed lunches each day and the quality and quantity were very good. It is a lovely area for walking.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 share a shower room across the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This bed and breakfast is at the outer border of the known civilisation. Therefore you would never expect this level of quality. The only negaitve point was the behaviour of the staff: professional but very cold. We did not encounter this behaviour at another guesthouse.

The room was very nice and clean. The bed was very big which led to a problem with the bathroom door: It is not possible to open it completely. The bathroom is ok but the shower was a little bit weak. The rest of the room was great.

The breakfast was great and contained everything you need including also fresh made porridge. The dining room is inside the old school building and adorable. We heard from another couple who took dinner in the restaurant which is only open for residents of the B&B that it was brilliant. We did arrive very late what kept us from taking diner there. Nevertheless we took some drinks from the bar which is quite well equipped (10+ Whiskys, 8 kinds of beer, etc.).

Unfortunatlly a moskito invasion was on their way which kept us from taking a drink at the terrace.

All of this combined with a solitary environment and a fantastic view on a Loch - just great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed for 1 night as part of our tour of Scotland. On arrival we got a warm welcome and invitation to a complimentary tea or coffee that also included some delicious cake. Our room was spacious well equipped and comfortable withy "peeps" of the loch. Dinner was really excellent, excellent service and superb food. Breakfast the next day was also very good, in fact probably the best breakfast we had anywhere on our tour, and my wife continually remarks on the astoundingly delicious porridge.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsoy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012 for my husbands 70th birthday. Wonderful in every way, the room was perfect, the food was superb, Alan and Fiona made everything perfect for us. We were allowed to bring Annie our springer and Tilly our labrador and they had a wonderful time too. We had room 5 which is the largest room, we needed space for the dogs cages. Just perfect!! Thank you Alan and Fiona, we look forward to seeing you again in August.Definately 5Star. Norman and Christine Atkinson. Portsoy, Aberdeenshire

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights and loved it. The 'Bike Shed' as a previous reviewer has said had no view but was very comfortable, clean and quiet and I appreciated the fact that even though it was for a single person it still had a double bed and there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room. It's not spacious or brand new but I was very happy with the room and it worked out cheaper than staying as a single person in some other bed and breakfasts. Ate in the restaurant both nights - the venison steak was the best I've ever had and still dream about it now. Relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant with high quality food and friendly service. Breakfast both days was very good, all staff friendly and helpful. Sandwood Bay a must, enjoyed taking the cliff top path on the way back for a detour. Wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed three nights. Three dinners and three breakfasts were all faultless. Locally sourced food, carefully cooked. "The Bike Shed" ( room 3 ) has no view, but at the front of the property the view is delightful - down Loch Inchard - sometimes so calm that the reflection was perfect. Not much room to move around in this room but the bed is double-sized and very comfortable. Super base from which to explore the beauties of Sutherland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old School Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old School Bed & Breakfast

Address: Inshegra, Kinlochbervie IV27 4RH, Scotland (Formerly Old School Restaurant & Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Kinlochbervie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochbervie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Old School Bed & Breakfast Kinlochbervie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old School Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.