We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food average needing upgrading rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airth Castle & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Airth Castle & Hotel to your Saves list
Airth Castle & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A905, Airth FK2 8JF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Airth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food average needing upgrading rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

me & my husband stay in a spa environment often we chose airth castle on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis... on arriving the castle grounds are grand & well kept. When you enter the accommodation the reception staff are very helpful & kind..... We had our young son also to which they were very welcoming (the restaurant staff were excellent, kind & polite also)
the spa in the men's changing rooms and especially the toilet didn't look as if it had ever been cleaned (words of my husband) the changing rooms needed up grading locker doors hanging off etc the pool was relaxing as well as the jacuzzi
our room no was 305 on entering we thought ok standard needing upgrading but it's clean to look at until we went into to the bathroom. the bathroom was needing if some serious upgrading and cleaning there were dead insects, ceiling braking away round shower, extractor fan had never been cleaned or so it looked stained bath, cracked tiles, just really dingy :-O
we just made the most if it as we were not in the room a lot only for sleeping
out dinner & breakfast were grade A standard cannot fault it
the power went off in the 1st night stay also the fire alarm but nothing was mentioned to us eg no one notifying us on when it would be restored or if the alarm was just a precaution etc
on checking out we settled the bill & we weren't asked how the stat was for us to comment on we would have filled the card out but had no access to a pen within the room
Overall we would stay again but hopefully in a better room

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. I have read all of your comments regarding your stay at Airth Castle and all have been taken on board and will be passed on to the team. I am pleased that you enjoyed all of your experiences within the Grill Room and that you were able to use our leisure facilities. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    309
    261
    153
    120
See reviews for
201
450
15
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belper derbyshire
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week as everyone says the rooms are a little dated but more than adequate, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious. I had cold water in the bathroom for two mornings but it was sorted by the efficient maintenance staff as soon as I reported it.

Used the spa once which was fine, not the biggest of pools but perfectly good enough.

I must admit it is a grand entrance when you approach, it does make you think you are staying in a genuine castle but unfourtunatly I think this is reserved for weddings. The main hotel is a little drive through the car park.

I was lucky enough to dine outside ( I am sure it would have been far too hot under all that glass in the restaurant) that said the food was beautiful ( a little expensive) but worth it.

I didn't eat breakfast ( I have too be up a while) but it looked amazing, everything you would expect.

The staff were very friendly apart from one grumpy breakfast waitress.

I would imagine its situated in a great place to explore, I would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. The team at Airth Castle will be pleased that you enjoyed your week long stay at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy your meal from the Grill Room outside on the terrace I am sure that was a relaxing experience what with the beautiful weather that we had. I will pass all of your comments to the team at Airth Castle and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just had a lovely few days here. My friend's husband had booked us a three night stay on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal.
The room was of a good size, and was a little dated, but as I wasn't planning on spending too much time there I wasn't overly bothered. The bed was comfortable, but the room was far too warm at night. Even with the windows open it was stuffy.
The restaurant area and the outdoor seating area were great. In fact we spent quite a few hours just snoozing in the sunshine under the wonderfully large umbrellas.
The food was amazing, well presented and I think we managed to do it justice. The staff were always courteous and nothing was too much bother for them, even when we ordered a cheese board at 10.30pm, it was brought to our table without any fuss. I would definitely recommend the mushrooms on toast for a starter and the steak platter for a main.
We did have a bit of a dilemma on Wednesday night when all the power went out and was off for quite some time, but we played cards on the patio and then sat inside and talked.
Overall, it was just what we needed and we are thinking about returning for one of their special events like the Murder Mystery Dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in 322 and looked out over some waste ground to the new houses, so nothing much to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your stay at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. We were absolutely delighted to read your comments regarding your dining experiences in the Grill Room and also that you found our team pleasant and helpful. I will pass all of your comments on to the team at Airth Castle who will be very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I should maybe of checked this before we booked and drove from Perth but the restaurant is in another building, essentially in a large green house / consvatry! There were also quite a few kids in but thnakfully they were all fairly quiet and well behaved.

Service was really good though, food was quick and the steak sharer was really good! Couldnt get the pudding i wanted with out nuts or a choclate ice cream Sunday as they werent doing that flavour the night we were in.

£60 for a meal for 2, couple drinks and 1 pudding is probably about average for what we had - but when we selected this place from others feedback of The Cairn and the idea of eating in a castle we could of driven an hour to somewhere else i was expecting a bit more of a wow factor from where we were dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. The team at Airth Castle will be pleased that you enjoyed your meal in the Grill Room and all of your comments will be taken on board. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just had a wonderful spa day at this hotel. Totally relaxing, wonderful facilities which included pool, spa, steam room and gym. Bar was reasonably priced and the inclusive lunch was lovely. Less than half the cost of other spas and just as good. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
What a lovely review - thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable Spa Day at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. The team will be delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your day from the leisure facilities to the lunch. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here as a last minute break. The main public areas are lovely and well kept and the staff are all very helpful and polite.

We checked in and went to out bedroom....This was very dated and in dire need of modernisation. The room was very dark and dingy and the window looked out on to a very unattractive grey concrete building. The furnishings were all dark wood which was very battered and chipped. The bathroom was also covered in mould and dated. It also had a very strong damp smell.

We had a meal in the hotel in the evening and the quality and presentation was top notch.

If the rooms are to the standard that the public areas are downstairs this would be a 4 star that it claims.

Room Tip: ensure you get a room that has already been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa

Having read your comments, I am sorry to learn that your overall experience did not meet with your expectations and you left feeling disappointed with some aspects of your stay, particularly your accommodation.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to personally discuss the various aspects of your feedback. I can be reached at laura.barry@aurorahotelcollection.com or on 0844 800 4000, at your earliest convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you and thank you once again for taking the trouble to write a review. Kind Regards Laura Barry PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked for 1 night for a wedding. The stay started poorly and didnt get any better apart from the excellent wedding. We had requested an early check in for the wedding as we were travelling for the wedding and wanted to get ready in our room. On arrival at about 1230 we were told no rooms were ready and we would have to get ready in the health club changing rooms rather rudely by the girl on reception. We arrived in the changing rooms to find them absolutely soaking and there was no way that my better half and her friends could possibly get changed without ruining their dresses on the floor. The ladies went back to reception and all of a sudden one of our rooms was ready, an amazing turnaround in 2 minutes. So gratefully the four of us got ready in a lovely ground floor room. Attended the wedding which was lovely in the old castle and some great nibbles and lovely building . After the ceremony we managed to find 10 minutes to check in to our room, it was on the top floor and can only be described as something out of the 80's maybe older.Furniture was so dated curtains were ancient and the trouser press(i think) had been removed from the wall and not replaced leaving a lovely bare patch on the wall with some kind of fittings still in wall. The bathroom was also very old and finally the room was far too warm. Like a different hotel from the ground floor room. Even worse was the fact we had booked our room through the hotel for a "special rate" for the wedding party and the other couple we knew had booked it through an independent internet site for the same price around the same time. On return to the room after the evening part of the wedding the room was even warmer. After a patchy sleep we woke to have a shower and found that to be the most dangerous shower ever because of the slope in the bath. Lucky we are still young and managed to negotiate this hazard, getting out of the shower by hanging on to the towel rail, thank goodness it was attached firmly to the wall (did burn my hand in the process but better than breaking my skull!!) Breakfast was yummy and then came the final obstacle checking out!! Apparently someone had phoned in sick and only one person could work the computer system to check people out. At least half and hour later we managed to check out and leave.. If it wasnt for an excellent wedding this would have been a terrible rating.

.

Room Tip: request bottom floor first few rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
As you can imagine, I was very disappointed to read the review of your stay at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. At the Aurora Hotel Collection, we pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service, therefore I am extremely concerned that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid any repetition of your experiences in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on Laura.barry@aurorahotelcollection.com or 0844 800 4000. Kind Regards Laura Barry PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airth Castle & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airth Castle & Hotel

Address: A905, Airth FK2 8JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Airth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Airth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Airth Castle & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Airth Castle & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airth Castle Hotel Airth
Airth Castle And Hotel
Castle Airth
Castle Hotel Airth
Airth Castle & Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airth Castle & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.