We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of D Luxe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added D Luxe Hotel to your Saves list
D Luxe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hawkbrae | Ladywell West, Livingston EH54 6TW, Scotland (Formerly Da Vinci's Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Arrived at the d lux hotel after a late booking on the 29th April, the reception was closed so had to check in at the bar, they had no record of the booking which is understandable as it was a last minute booking, the room was dirty, the bed sheets were all stained, the lighting was poor and the bed side light did not work! The beds are the most uncomfortable I've ever experienced, didn't sleep a wink! It is not easy to find either.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLivi, Manager at D Luxe Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dluxe is proud to announce its having a full refurbishment on all its rooms and now has a full time receptionist so you can check-in in the hotel entrance instead of going to the bar.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    8
    3
    11
See reviews for
2
9
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I booked this hotel for three colleagues on a business trip. After checking the rooms, it could be seen that the rooms had not been cleaned and the beds not changed since the last occupant. They were shown another room which appeared to be the same. They did not stay and we were charged for the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLivi, Manager at D Luxe Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dluxe is proud to announce its having a full refurbishment on all its rooms and now has a full time receptionist so you can check-in in the hotel entrance instead of going to the bar.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

From Oldham, we needed to stay in Livingston so we could visit a family member at St John's hospital and needed somewhere to stay on a Friday night. We made the usual Google search and found a range of B&B's and hotels within a 5 mile distance ranging from £50 online to over £100 from which to make our selection. We wanted a mix of good value, facilities and comfort while at the same time being reasonably close to the hospital.

D Luxe, with a list of attractions such as busy bar, onsite Chinese restaurant (and a nearby grill restaurant also owned by them which we tried and was good value) and nightclub offered the cheapest online price at £50 for a double room without breakfast. So the obvious question arose: "why is it the cheapest and yet offers a good list of features?" So we decided to use TripAdvisor to assist with our selection process. The reviews for D Luxe ranged from a worrying "don't use this hotel!" to a more attractive "good value for money". So who was right?

The complaints, of which there were several, listed: 1, noisy bedrooms, especially because of the nightclub below and apparently loose floorboards above; 2, poor breakfast facilities; 3, dirty bedrooms and bathrooms. Not a very good start. But it was the cheapest and conveniently close to the hospital. So how would we 'square this circle' and make sure our stay avoided these discomforts? Here's how: firstly we RANG THEM UP and asked about a room as far away from the nightclub as possible and also upstairs so that we didn't have anyone above us walking around on noisy floorboards. That was simple. Secondly, we decided that we could simply go to a local supermarket (Sainsbury's) to ensure a good breakfast. Thirdly, we simply asked for a neat and tidy room. Simples!

The best bit was the price. When I asked them to confirm how much a double room would cost (it was £50 online) I was quoted £30. Yes, £30. That's just £15 each!

So we booked and am very pleased to say that although the room was fairly basic it was acceptably clean and hygienic. It was stocked with the usual tea and coffee facilities etc and the towels and shower, which others had complained about, were fine. It was also on the first floor without anyone above, so no noisy floorboards, and it was well away from the nightclub.

To add to this, the D Luxe bar was fine with free pool on offer (we like to play pool) with a Guinness and gin & tonic costing just £5 or so (much cheaper than Oldham) and entry to the modern nightclub was free. So all in all, when you remember that we paid just £30 we really felt that Lesley and her staff gave us terrific value which it was very difficult to complain about. We paid "cheap" but got "really quite acceptable". WHAT A RESULT! What more would anyone want?

So, on balance we would recommend this hotel especially if you are on a modest budget but suggest that you are careful about asking for a room away from the noisy parts of the hotel if you want to get any sleep.

R&J, Oldham.

Room Tip: Ring for the best price and request an upstairs room away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel, mostly since we spent 2 nights in Livingston. Compared to the rest of the places we stayed in during our trip to Scotland, this place was nothing out of this world. It was clean and basic amenities were provided, however 2 single beds were provided, for us travelling as a couple.

I paid an extra Gbp5 per person for breakfast, and all you get is a self service cereal in mini packs, packed juices and some croissants. I personally expected much better.

One of the advantages of this hotel is that it's a few minutes away by car from the central areas you'd like to visit when in Livingston, like shopping etc, and it has plenty of parking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Used to stay for one night only. Would say anything bad, good place for a overnight stay. One thing was awful - so called breakfast. Definitely far away from I was used to get all around Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

First of all I walked into the pub/club area thinking it was the hotel only to be greeted by a "friendly" member of staff who was obviously fed up of customers wandering into the bar. Then once we were in the room, there was no internet (this apparently not the hotels fault as BT was having a problem), and the staff did not even bother to help in any way (ie telling us where to find wifi). The room was basic at best and as I was on the ground floor I had to have my blind closed all the time unless I wanted people to view me from the street outside my window.

Finally, the "continental" breakfast was absurd. Self service for some cereal and packets of croissants. What's more there's not even a place to eat it, you have to go back to your room, pull up the table and sit on your bed.

And the location isn't good either.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

No nice homely feel to the room we were allocated...quite depressing actually and we checked out after half an hour.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to D Luxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Luxe Hotel

Address: Hawkbrae | Ladywell West, Livingston EH54 6TW, Scotland (Formerly Da Vinci's Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — D Luxe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your D Luxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
D Luxe Hotel Livingston, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D Luxe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.