We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Almond Valley Heritage Centre

Almond Valley Heritage Centre
Millfield, Livingston EH54 7AR, Scotland
+44 1506 414957
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 attractions in Livingston
Type: Farms, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Children's Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A family-friendly museum on a peaceful riverside site with friendly farm animals, working watermill and interactive displays. Explore fields and woodland walks, join in daily demonstrations and activities, and let the kids go wild in playgrounds, pedal carts and trampolines. Take a trip by tractor, ride the narrow-gauge railway, explore the museum, or bounce around in the indoor soft play area. There is lots to see and do at Almond Valley indoors and out.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I visited recently with my grandaughter on what must have been there busiest day this year. There were bus loads of nursery kids on an outing, The place was heaving. Everything was pre booked by the outings even down to the outside seating area where there is a bouncy castle.We had been looking forward to going on the tractor run but where unable to do so due to it being reserved by the nursery schools. We ended up just walking round the river as it was the only place we could get some peace. It could have and should have been a good day out but we left after an hour or so as we couldnt get near anything. pretty expensive hour and a half too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinChesters, General Manager at Almond Valley Heritage Centre, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I'm very sorry that you were disappointed by your visit to Almond Valley. As you note, during weekdays in June we're tremendously busy with school and nursery group visits; and as an educational charity we greatly welcome such learning visits. Most groups leave for home before 2pm, after which peace returns to our site. We encourage our family visitors that, if all possible, they delay their visit until after 2pm in order to enjoy Almond Valley at its best. Such advice is posted on our website, and offered in response to any visitor enquiry. Things return to normal when our local schools break up at the end of June.
I'm sorry that you caught us on such a busy day, and hope that you will consider a return visit at a time when things are a little less busy and a bit more relaxed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    47
    12
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great day out with loads to see and do. We were there for 5 hours and that probably wasn't long enough.
Well worth a visit and will be back soon!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will come again! Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Visited the centre Friday 31st May 2013 with my young daughters nursery class.

First of all it is easily found 5mins from the motorway M8.

There is plenty of opportunity to see different animals and participate with them on occasion! There is the tractor ride, large trampoline hill and sand tent with bones etc!

Heard the cafe was a little expensive beforehand so I came prepared with a packed lunch sufficient for a days outing. 2 teas while waiting for the soft play area was £3.10 (reasonable)!

They catered for large groups very easily. I will be very happy to visit again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmilns
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited the heritage centre with friends and had a great day out , there was lots for our kids to do (the 7 kids ranged from 15 to 4 !!) We took a picnic and there are a few different places to enjoy a picnic which makes a difference when your not being bullied into spending money you dont have , we had ice creams later which were reasonably priced which is again a pleasant surprise. Our kids liked the tent in which you could dig to discover bones !! It was hard to drag the 15 year old away from it and the trampolines !!! lol The train journey round the place is a little uneventful especially since you have to pay extra for that. We saw newly hatched chics and ducks and the member of staff handling them was very informative and friendly. All members of staff we met were pleasant and helpful. We easily spent 4 hours + there and had a lovely day out

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Went here with grandchildren what a wonderful find it was. Not expensive to have a lovely day out enjoying both countryside and children's pleasure. Could quite happily see everything in a couple of hours or easily spend the day with all the kids play areas as well as the animals.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almond Valley Heritage Centre also viewed

 
Livingston, West Lothian
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Almond Valley Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almond Valley Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Almond Valley Heritage Centre to your Saves list