We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Restaurant

Terrace Restaurant
West Lothian College | Almondvale Crescent, Livingston EH54 7EP, Scotland
1506 427537
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 86 Restaurants in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tocksfors, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We just discovered this place a few weeks ago, and ave already eaten dinner there twice. This place is run by students both in the restaurant and front of house. They are all very nice, and there is a great atmosphere in the place. It is real good value for money, and the food is very good. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    12
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
“Excellent Scottish Themed Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have probably now dined about 30 plus times at the Terrace Restaurant over the past 6 or 7 years. The students may change every year but the standard of the food remains consistently high. We felt that it was about time to give another review of the restaurant.

On our most recent visit there was a definite Scottish theme to the menu, possibly because the bulk of the diners were a large party of French beauty students on an exchange visit. We had the usual Kir Royale on arrival followed by a poached egg covered in Hollandaise Sauce accompanied with a crispy piece of streaky bacon. Our starters were what is best described as a haggis samosa, and a slice of salmon terrine, both accompanied with salad. We were also provided with a basket of freshly baked breads; about four different types. The main courses that we chose were loin of venison and pan fried fillet of beef both accompanied by a different selection of vegetables. Desserts were cranachan and fruit cheesecake made with crowdie cheese. The meal was finished with coffee and Scottish tablet. A bargain at £15 per head. Wine by the glass comes in at only £1.80 for 125ml.

As always the service is excellent as this is an important part of the training that the students get.

In recent months the restaurant has had a bit of a facelift and the ambiance is not as clinical as it used to be. Booking is essential as the restaurant is only open on Thursday evenings for dinner or Tuesdays, Wednesdays and alternate Thursdays for lunch. Thoroughly recommended to all.

PS Full marks also to all all the training staff/chefs.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have been to the restaurant several times now and can only describe it as AMAZING, staff are fantastic, food is superb and as for value for money it is second to none, Caitlin Hanson was our latest waitress and she was friendly and helpful and made our evening even more enjoyable

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Once again a wonderful meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My sister-in-law had lunch in the Terrace Restaurant. It was her first visit (my third). The service was excellent, the food was wonderful and the value for money could not be beaten anywhere.

We will be back. Maybe next time for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had lunch here today with few friends. Wow, didn't realise this was available at local collages. Food was fresh and tasted delishious. Fantastic value for money. Glad I've found this restaurant and would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace Restaurant also viewed

Livingston, West Lothian
Livingston, West Lothian
 
Livingston, West Lothian
Livingston, West Lothian
 

Been to Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.