We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned, this hotel is not safe for women” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bankton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bankton House Hotel to your Saves list
Bankton House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Muireston, Livingston EH54 9AQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Livingston B&B and Inns
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Be warned, this hotel is not safe for women”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I wanted to say this is one of the worst hotels I have ever had the misfortune to stay in.... Here we go, I stayed in a shed down the bottom of their garden, shared with 5 blokes who were noisy and couldnt aim (lets just leave it there!!) The hotel and room smelled damp, the room was cold, no sink, toilet or ensuite shower, the bed was too big for the mattress, no restaurant (Closed), so many cracks in the ceiling and walls-very flimsy!! Being a woman on her own, I didnt feel safe, especially when I had to lock myself out of my room just to use the bathroom. The windows wouldnt close and being on the ground floor was not ideal. WOMEN, DONT BOOK - PLEASE, ITS NOT SAFE!! Breakfast not available, coffee was disgusting!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renata r, Manager at Bankton House Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Baffled by this review from the ''truth teller''

We have 4 en-suite rooms in the main hotel lodge and 3 rooms with shared bathroom in the adjacent solid stone built country cottage with private entry, catering for only up-to 3 single guest's or 3 couples maximum, and nothing but woodland at the bottom off the garden, situated in 4 acres of private ground in the well-respected area of Muireston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
12
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Was with a group.Extremely disappointing.Service slow.Food portions pitiful

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed for one night on a business trip. Room was very dated with odd bedding and a stained throw. Hairdryer available but broken. Breakfast was poor, two choices for cereal, no milk etc on tables for coffee, paper table cloths and paper napkins. Overall quite poor. Premier inn a far better choice. I must add that despite the above the one member of staff who appeared to do everything was very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights over New Year where we were visiting Edinburgh so we did not make use of the hotel facilities other than to sleep and wash but there is a lounge bar and breakfast room in the hotel. The room had modern decorations but we found that it was a little run down and the carpet in the bathroom was badly needing replaced. Warm enough and the staff were friendly as well. Also, the double bed was actually two singles that were not locked together.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel was nice and staff were friendly, however, we had a function there recently and were told the rule on miminum takings for the bar would not be enforced, until we went for our deposit to be returned, suddenly it was.

The function bar was dearer than the main bar and only had Tennants on draught! the person behind the bar then told guests to go to the other bar for any other drink (which does not contribute to your minimum spend of £800.00 for function)

We had to pay for the room (+ deposit) and higher bar prices, should have gone elsewhere where the room was free, then I wouldn't have minded the higher bar costs.

We also had to make sure the room was left clean, and spent most of the night clearing glasses/bottles etc from the tables when we were meant to be enjoying ourselves.

Friends who attended were shocked at the prices, £1.60 for soft drinks £1 for the smallest bottle of Fruit Shoot (available for approx £2 for six at your local supermarket!)

I nor my friends will be back and our Christmas get together will now be somewhere else!

Best yet, our kids were told to keep the noise down for the residents, despite the disco blasting so loud you could hardly hear each other.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renata r, Manager at Bankton House Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
With any function higher facility within hotel’s there is a minimum cost that has to be in place, although we always try to be as flexible as possible in accommodating different budgets and requirements
Our function higher facilities within our hotel cater for up to 120 persons with a minimum booking of 80 persons/Bar takings, were the hall deposit can only be waived.
Due to the very low guest number attending your function, and the very low bar takings the deposit cost could not be waived unfortunately.
When choosing the self-catering tariff instead of our Buffet Function tariff, (were all would have been taken care of leaving guests nothing to do but enjoy their evening), it is generally a standard condition within any establishment, (as per our T&C) that when choosing to do the buffet yourselves that all setting/clearing must be done, as it is, as the term implies a ‘self-catering’ buffet,
The price differences of any beverage between a hotel / function establishment for an evening out or entertainment to a supermarket cannot possible be compared.
As the hotel has different facilities which also include our accommodation, the function area taking in the left hand wing of the hotel, self-contained away from the accommodation part of the hotel, we have to respect the enjoyment of all our guests, and where noise levels must be controlled (for the comfort of our residents), as were the children on this evening, which I am sure can be appreciated as to why they were asked to keep the noise down in the foyer of the hotel where the accommodation is directly above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay there and will be happy to come again.
Nice clean room, friendly service great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Came across this hotel by chance , directed by a local on my search for a room for the evening.Staff were very helpful and accommodating , room was to a great standard both in cleanliness and comfort, that i have stayed in a while , and a great comfy bed, well worth the £79.00 .
The lounge bar had a great friendly atmosphere, went fab with my fillet steak and a glass of wine. Breakfast was great more than enough and defiantly not over priced at £7.00 , and the gardens are stunning , sitting with my coffee in the morning sun . birds wild life , fantastic spot not a road to be seen great start to my day, I can't believe the reviews of Ali & Cathinia were did you stay ??????????? , I'm amazed! As nothing in your reviews related to the stay i had, and I'm so glad I didn't read them before I stayed, as I would have missed out on a great find, just goes to show you can't believe everything you read'
I loved the age of the building and country surroundings, perfect , home from home. Would defiantly recommend it, and will defiantly be back'... loved 'The bankton House'
Take it from me and put this place on your radar as it's defiantly worth visit'
Great find! Don't miss out well worth a stay! .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bankton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankton House Hotel

Address: Muireston, Livingston EH54 9AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bankton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The picturesque charm of Bankton House Hotel is not easy to define. Set within its own grounds, linking directly to the foot paths and cycle routes of Murieston waters, the country settings can be easily enjoyed by its guests and visitors.The stately Georgian architecture imbues a feeling of elegance and style while the grounds that surround the hotel insulate it from the day to day, fostering a peaceful ambiance; especially benefiting those city commuters seeking B&B in relaxed accommodation with en-suite rooms that draw in the peace and tranquility of its settings through their Georgian windows adding too each, in their uniqueness, of luxury and comfort. With the cities of Edinburgh & Glasgow a 20 minute train ride away, makes this ideal lodgings, after a day in the hustle and bustle of the city, with the Livingston South railway link only a short 2 minute walk from the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bankton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankton House Hotel Livingston, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bankton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.