We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very slow delivery and service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Classic India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Classic India
Howden West Road | Howden, Livingston EH54 6AA, Scotland
01506 410786
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 83 Restaurants in Livingston
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very slow delivery and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very slow to deliver been waiting 1 hr 20 mins and counting,when I phoned to ask when my dlivery will be here they hung up the phone twice this was ordered through just Eat

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
1 review
“Great Portions & service. Needs quality development.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have ordered from this restaurant twice in as many weeks. Each time was on a weekend.
It has to be stated that the portion sizes are great and the speed of service is also fantastic. It has never been more than 30 mins for the delivery and the portions will fill your plate very well.
However, the quality of the food is a real development area for the restaurant. The Chicken Tika Main that I ordered was (on both occasions) watery and didn't taste like a quality product. What little flavour was actually present is embellished with a generous amount of salt. I found on both occasions that my appetite was stifled after only a few mouthfuls. The chicken pieces in the curry were fine but not enough to save the dish which had no genuine aromatic qualities.
On every occasion, the chips were under cooked. This may be a matter of preference but I genuinely found the smell off-putting. If you take your own chips out of the pan after 2/3 of the cooking time and take a whiff, this is what they smelled like. Essentially, they were not of the "Crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside" quality that is uniformly palatable - they were soggy yet hard and smelled rank.
Fortunately, the naan bread is cooked on site, so it is not the re-heated "comes in a plastic bag" sort that you would get from a weatherspoons or your local supermarket. However, the texture of the dough is inconsistent and this clearly demonstrates a lack of care in the preparation process.
Overall, I found myself very dissatisfied with the experience. Despite the speedy service and generous portions the restaurant let themselves down where it matters the most: The Food.
I am prepared to propose that these quality matters are down to the fact that (like most restaurants) they are busy on the weekends and whilst this fact serves to explain the lack of quality, it does not actually excuse it. The price is too high to ignore these fundamental let downs.
Give this one a wide berth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian takeaway in Livingston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We have never sat in the restaurant but have had several takeaways and have always been 100% satisfied.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Only restaurant that I've found doesn't lload your curry with lentils or oil. Great veg pakora, but spiced onions taste a bit minty and they are stingy with them, tub only half full.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An Indian takeaway that you should enjoy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Probably one of the better Indian takeaways in the area,we used to go there every weekend but found within the last few months the standard has dropped a bit as everything started to taste similar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classic India also viewed

Livingston, West Lothian
Livingston, West Lothian
 
Livingston, West Lothian
 

Been to Classic India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.