We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Fruits Tearoom

First Fruits Tearoom
Pier Road Cottage, Tarbert HS3 3DJ, Scotland
01859 502439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Tarbert
Cuisines: Scottish, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had time before my ferry from Tabert arrived, so went to the First Fruits Cafe for a quick lunch. On entering the cafe, I felt a welcoming feeling, local art work on the walls.The cafe is small, but has plenty of seating. the young man behind the counter was so obliging, very friendly and chatty. There was music playing in the back ground, very upbeat toe tapping type of music. They have a wonderful selection of food from sandwiches to main meals. I enjoyed a toasted sandwich and a wonderful capacinno. The young man, the owner I think, was very helpful explaining to a group of people the area and attractions they could find in Tarbert. All in all a very lovely experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    32
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A unique gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've had a full evening meal here once a couple of years ago with a group of about 10, and more recently have stopped for a coffee and snack at various times of day on a number of occasions. It is a unique and special place where attention to detail and quality is always top priority. Locals come here, and in the morning there is a buzz, as folk drop in for a coffee and a chat.
It is a small restaurant and opening hours are at a premium, especially for evening meals, so I recommend you make enquiries well in advance, to be in the right place at the right time and to be able to reserve a table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very friendly and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I cannot fault the service or value offered at First Fruits. I wish they would remaain open year round.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is great. Good food and friendly efficient service so no complaints. It doesn't pretend to be what it is not it terms of haute cusine but sometimes that is exactly what you need - it delivers on all fronts. My only gripe is that they feel there is not enough custom to keep it open longer in the season or to service the local resident community during the winter but if economics dictate it so who am I to argue (I personally believe that local Councils should consider subsidies to allow businesses like this to open all year round as it would pay itself back in other benefits!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Had a coffee and Scottish breakfast here whilst waiting for the ferry. Great little place. Will return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Fruits Tearoom also viewed

Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
 
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
Tarbert, Isle of Harris
 

Been to First Fruits Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Fruits Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.