We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardhasaig House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ardhasaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardhasaig House
Save
You added Ardhasaig House to your Saves list
Ardhasaig HS3 3AJ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardhasaig
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just one glass of wine takes the price for a set dinner for 2 to over £100. These are London prices but unlike London the fish hasn't far to travel - it couldn't be fresher and the cooking is carried out with flair and imagination. Just slightly taken aback by the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    14
    7
    9
    9
See reviews for
8
65
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Katie is the most remarkable person I came across during our 3 weeks Island hopping. She is so very kind and understanding and she goes way out of her way to make her guests as comfortable as possible. Her four course evening meals fully discussed in advance with her guests are not for anyone on a diet. The very best of everything is provided and prepared with imagination. Her temporary staff were a delight and well educated and a source of stimulating conversation. The fruit at breakfast is just fantastic, the varied breakfast menu has to be seen to be believed. Scallops with every fish dish and not an excuse for a scallop-huge and full of flavour. We stayed in The Barn and it was like a honeymoon suite although it is some time since our honeymoon. I can think of no where that could better this experience. She asked if we were writing a book - I hope nobody does as we would have to book far to far in advance to secure a slot.

Room Tip: The Barn is really super but I feel sure that all the rooms are equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our second visit and we stayed in the barn, a lovely room outside the main hotel building. It is a good, large room and has a large and comfortable bed.
The food is outstanding. Katie cooks a four course meal and, whilst there is no choice of menu, she discusses likes and preferences with you. We ate in on all 5 nights of our stay and concentrated on our preference for fish. Magnificent! Another recent reviewer referred to breakfast as the world's best and I cannot argue with that.
The staff are friendly and obliging making this a great place to relax and enjoy the unique atmosphere of the Outer Hebrides.

Room Tip: I would always choose the barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is a treasure, we have stayed here many times in the "barn" room. Our dog loves staying here and Katie even gave him sausages for breakfast. She really is the best Hebredian hotess and makes everybody welcome, working incredably hard to do so. The breakfast has to be experienced, home made marmalade, oatcakes and eggs from the farm. Lovely smoked bacon and a range of tasty sausages, fresh porridge and fruit. I really look forward to staying here. Thanks Katie.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After a long cycle trip through the rain and the wind we arrived at Ardhasaig and entered a lounge filled with the scent of fresh lilies. Katie greeted us with an enormous pot of tea and thick slices of freshly buttered, moist Harris fruit cake.

Katie had discussed everybody’s food preferences with us when we booked and checked it all again when we arrived. We had a wonderful meal of smoked haddock chowder with freshly baked rolls, scallops, lemon sole with potatoes and vegetables and meringue with pear and chocolate sauce. The cooking was superb, the flavours delicate, every item on the menu cooked to perfection. The scallops were out-of-this-world: sauteed in butter, just “au point”, served with a sauce that was gently piquant, on a bed of salad. The service was efficient and the presentation very pleasing. Preceded by canapes, accompanied by an excellent wine, and followed by tea or coffee or liquors - it was a lovely evening.

Dinner the next evening had a different menu but met the same high standards. We had baked cod which was so fresh and delicately tender that it bore no resemblance whatsoever to the fish that is sold as cod in supermarkets.

Breakfast was likewise superb - far ahead of any breakfast we had anywhere else in a two week trip through the Hebrides. We were offered fresh fruit (blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, pineapple, melon), fruit compote of apricots and prunes, a selection of cereals including a most delicious (home-made?) muesli, natural yoghurt (everywhere else offered only sugary “fruit” yoghurt), a choice of cooked breakfast (including kippers which we were not offered elsewhere), and toast and freshly made thick oatcakes.

The rooms were very satisfactory in what I would regard as a plain, solid, Scottish style; two out of three of them had lovely views over the loch. My bathroom was sparkling clean, fresh, and shining.

The waitresses were pleasant, cheerful and efficient.

The B&B was excellent value for money: we paid more and got a lot less in other hotels on the islands. The £48 for dinner may appear high, but I think it is a fair price considering that you are offered four courses, all the food is freshly cooked, most of the food is locally sourced, the service is good, the surroundings (both the dining-room and the views) are lovely, and it is a remote area.

What could be improved: my room was a bit cold despite having the heating on full; we would have appreciated being able to put our bicycles in a shed overnight so they were not exposed to the rain.

This hotel was definitely the high point of our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just an overnight stay. Our room was cold on arrival and had peeling wallpaper. The view from our window was marred by the sprawl of farm buildings, machinery and rubbish. We didn't want the undisclosed multi-course evening meal so had to go back into Tarbert where we had nice food at the Harris hotel. Pleasant bar service when we returned later. Required to have breakfast at specific time next morning. Breakfast unimpressive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked to eat there as non residents.
Katie, the chef/proprietor asked us to list the things we did NOT like and she would build a menu for us, with 24 hours notice using fresh ingredients. Its not as easy as it sounds, and we spent the next day thinking of things we would add!
However, it all worked out fine. The small hotel is in a great location and feels like a comfortable place to stay. We were welcomed, given our personalised menu and offered a drink in the lounge then taken through to the restaurant.
The food quality and service was excellent, and we loved the dishes Katie had produced for us. My wife had a small issue with part of her dessert but that meant more for me.
If we went back again we would think about in in more detail beforehand but it turned out really well, if at top of the price range for the Island
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardhasaig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardhasaig House

Address: Ardhasaig HS3 3AJ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Ardhasaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardhasaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ardhasaig House Hotel Ardhasaig

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardhasaig House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.