We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B @ B on the Isle of Skye.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Struan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Struan IV56 8FD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Struan B&B and Inns
Shoreham, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding B @ B on the Isle of Skye.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

On a recent visit to the UK we decided to make the isle of skye our furthest destination. With our B @ B book we discovered this property. Outstanding views, rooms , service and a great restaurant and wine list to boot. We were fortunate to be able to stay an extra night as we just didnt want to leave. The finest stay of our whole trip to Scotland.

Room Tip: There are two rooms that face the ocean and cliffs that we had on our first night that were fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    21
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
103
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you would like to feel pampered and just luxury all around this is the place dinner was superb,canopies served in the lounge and the nicest meal served in a beautiful restaurant.chef should have two michellin stars and the hosts pam and Brian are definitely in the right business. A gem in the western isles we will be back thank you!

Room Tip: Dr john sons room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot near London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked this lodge and were so delighted by the hospitality the room and the FOOD!!! We had a wonderful 4 poster bed with a large modern bathroom. Great base for sight seeing and wonderful to come back too after climbing and walking. There is also a lovely walk down to the sea where we saw some seals.
In the evening all the guests meet in the lounge for pre dinner drinks and a chance to exchange our experiences of the day. Pam and Brian were fantastic hosts.
Will definately come back.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A hotel that delivers on its advertised promise is a rare pleasure. Ullinish does just that.

Brian and Pam Howard run an exceptional small country lodge hotel located in a remote and beautiful corner of Skye. It's 'a restaurant with rooms', in their words. And a restaurant which has won awards. Unsurprisingly, because the food really is superb.

The lodge, once a farmhouse, has comfort, character and history. Dr Johnson stayed here on his famous 'Journey to the Western Isles of Scotland', and though no ghostly trace remains (we stayed in his room) it's not hard to imagine the old boy standing straddled in the drawing room, backside to a roaring fire, a glass of brandy in his hand as he expounds some deep philosophic point.

Suffice to say the food is exquisite, the hotel extremely comfortable and the hospitality warm and genuine and without any hint of snobbery. We’ll be back.

Room Tip: Sleep where Dr Johnson did. Great views of sea, islands and hillsides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked Ullinish as a wee treat to ourselves and were certainly not disappointed. We arrived after a lovely afternoon walk by the fairy pools in Glen Brittle at the foot of the Cuillins and were greeted by Pam and shown to our room Toirlean overlooking the garden with the rabbits playing in the evening sunshine. Brian insisted on helping with our luggage and we were then shown to the lounge for a very welcome pot of tea with fantastic shortbread. Time to choose dinner and salivate over the extensive and fabulous wine list before relaxing in the roll top bath to soothe the muscles. Canapes were served as promised and we knew from the quality that dinner would not disappoint and indeed it did not. We went for the fish tatser menu at a small supplement but it was worth every penny and the blueberry souffle was to die for as was the blueberry and apple compote at breakfast the next day. Service was attentive but not intrusive and after only a few hours we felt as though we had been away a week. We found the lodge to be ideally situated for the wilder parts of skye - the cuillins to the south and the fantastic scenery of the north but also not too far from portree. Pam and Brian were lovely and have created a genteel yet relaxing atmosphere with excellent food and wine. Our room while not enormous was fine for what we needed for a couple of nights and the little extras such as hairdryer and fluffy gowns much appreciated. While certainly not for those on a budget if you want to treat yourself to someting that bit special without forkig out silly money, then you will not go wrong with Ullinish. And if blessed with clear skies like we were, do go out after dinner and marvel at the milky way ..... We booked it as a a wee treat but after two nights felt like we had had much much more than that - as said, beyond expectations

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ullinish Country Lodge for three nights in September whilst on a tour of the Western Isles of Scotland. Despite arriving after six pm, after being shown to our room Pam laid out a welcoming tray of tea and home made shortbread in the lounge. We were staying in The Johnson Room which has a huge canopied bed (a bit creaky but very comfortable!) and super views. The ensuite was rather nice too with a freestanding bath which had a shower attachment but no seperate/ overhead shower; fine for us relative youngsters but it might have proved awkward for older visitors to negotiate (other rooms do have showers). I think the owners Pam and Brian ( who by the way, we found to be very helpful and pleasant) describe Ullinish as 'a restaurant with rooms' and whilst the rooms are extreemly comfortable, the food is great. Most people staying at the hotel seem to take their evening meal there, so guests gather in the lounge from 7.30pm to enjoy a pre-dinner drink and canapes, and swop stories of their day, which was all rather nice. Interestingly several of the quests had either stayed at the lodge before or were there on recommendation. Dinners were a joy, and like others who have reviewed this hotel, we have eaten in many fine restaurants and would rate this 'up there' with some of the best. The wine list is extensive, some quite pricey but you can expect to pay around £25 for a decent bottle. We had originally booked dinner on two of our three nights stay thinking we might give somewhere else a try, but we enjoyed our first dining experience so much we asked to ammend our booking and dine on all three evenings. Breakfasts are equally enjoyable, and the choice varied and cooked to order.
Would we stay here again? You bet! Yes,you can find cheaper places to stay on Skye (though the 3+ night dbb seasonal offer for this hotel is excellent value compared to other hotels we visited on our tour) but if you are looking for something a bit special, an elegant dining experience at a great location you really needn't look any further. It is the perfect place to return to after a busy day walking or sightseeing knowing that there's a relaxing long soak awaiting before a delightful meal and a peaceful nights sleep. Thank you Pam and Bryan... we really do hope to return some time soon.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet as most people retire/ rise at a reasonable hour and lodge is well away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

After having seen the sign "non-residents welcome" we drove over to the Ullinish Lodge to ask for a table for dinner. The quite unfriendly answer was that they are already fully booked and it was clearly visible that we weren't welcome at all. Also the question for an afternoon tea was immediately blocked by the reluctant receptionist. We have no idea why they have this sign put right beside the main road inviting non-residents to their restaurant if they are not at all interested in making business.
We then asked for the nice walk to Coronsay (as we weren't sure about the tides). Again we got a very harsh answer telling us that we shouldn't try going over to Coronsay as the flood is just coming up. (She took a look at a local tidal calendar) And she didn't recommend at all to go into the direction of the island as there would be no use to go such a short part of the path.
After feeling so unwelcome we seriously wondered if we should give it a try and go for at least a short walk into the direction of the island. And what did we see? First it was even a nice walk to the tidal pathway! That would have been worth it even without visiting the island!!! And...even better, the pathway was not flooded at all! The tide was in its maximum. In that moment we felt like the receptionist didn't want us to go there! We are very happy that we tried it anyway.
For non-residents we recommend not to go over to the Ullinish Lodge for having a nice afternoon tea or even dinner!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHoward, Owner at Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for your review. If the Restaurant is fully booked then we don't see what else we could have said to you.6.30pm when you came in is past "afternoon" and as advised 5.30pm is the cut-off time for afternoon teas as it should be appreciated the kitchen has to concentrate on dinner preparation after that.
Are you seriously saying that we should recommend to people to go to the island when it is high tide??!! This is exactly when not to try to go there which after cheking the tide times we so advised you. It is always the visitors decision to go there or not, we simply gave you the correct advice. The word "flood" was never mentioned.
As you unfortunately were unable to partake of afternoon tea or dinner we find it difficult to understand your recommendation not to try!
PBHoward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel

Address: Struan IV56 8FD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Struan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Struan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel 5*
Also Known As:
Ullinish Country Hotel Struan
Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel Isle Of Skye/Struan, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel to your Saves list