We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eilean Iarmain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eilean Iarmain to your Saves list
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Isle Ornsay Hotel, Sleat IV43 8QR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Sleat B&B and Inns
Dundee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel with fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were delighted to be accommodated at this delightful hotel at such short notice. The scenery is breath taking with the mountains and water making for a very tranquil setting. We were also very happy with our room and its cleanliness and decor. The toiletries and complimentary whiskey in the room were an added bonus. The food was good and we enjoyed a good bottle of wine with our meal which was reasonably priced. Breakfast offered a large selection to chose from with a generous pot of good quality coffee. The staff were polite and helpful and helped to make our stay more pleasurable. We would definitely return to this lovely hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    59
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
42
129
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I think this hotel deserves a higher score than it's currently getting on tripadvisor, and we'd definitely return. The location on the water is gorgeous, and our room and the common spaces were charming.

Since so many people are recently complaining about the food it's worth mentioning that we dined at the pub and thought the experience was fun, especially after having so many fancy meals during this trip. It's nothing standout from a culinary perspective, but it's comfort food at a fair price, and we met lots of friendly Scottish and English tourists and had a great night.

Also, my husband is really into scotch and greatly enjoyed the hotel's whisky. The bartender was really friendly and knowledgeable, and made it a great experience. We bought a few bottles, and it's lovely to drink at the tables overlooking the water after a full day of sightseeing.

Also, the hotel is located near the car ferry station, and it's a beautiful ride back to mainland Scotland.

We wish we had more time here and definitely want to return to Skye and Hotel Eilean Iarmain. There's a lot to do if you're feeling active, and the dining options on the island are some of the best in Scotland, or alternatively it's a gorgeous place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have had some delicious meals in the bar before today, sometimes by the real fire in winter, and in summer it is a glorious spot to visit. As a vegetarian and my friend a vegan, our recent visit was a disaster. My mate was given a very small plate of veg: peas, runner beans and a few tatties. On being reminded that it was a main course that we had ordered, he had to wait for a larger plate of exactly the same veg to appear. No sauces were offered, no bread roll. Is that the best they could come up with? I was expecting some sort of savoury tart for a main course: two very thin slices of a quiche appeared with the same veg as my pal. I had an ice cream since I was still hungry. We were both disappointed and left still rather empty. Probably won't return. The bill with a couple of beers around £32. The bar staff were very pleasant however.

Room Tip: Can only comment on the public bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had 3 nights here as part of a trip around the Highlands and Islands. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at.
We originally booked into one of the "suites" in an annexe, but switched to a room in the main hotel. The suites were not very big, although on two floors (which would mean possibly going up & down stairs during the night to the bathroom, which was tiny). Suites have very nice view and quiet spot though.
However we were much happier with Room 2 in the main building on the first floor. This was really light and spacious, with a beautiful canopied bed and a large bathroom. Bathroom clean but rather dated, with lots of pine panelling. Very good powerful shower over the bath. Beautiful views from windows on 2 sides in bedroom. A nice touch is that they leave you a bottle of Avon Skin-so-soft (which is really effective against midges - though we weren't really troubled by them anyway).

The hotel itself is in an amazing beautiful location, just lovely to sit and watch the changing skies.
We ate dinner in the restaurant on 3 evenings and thought the food at this hotel was very good, though some of the service was a little "hit and miss", with breakfast in particular being rather disorganised.
Most of the staff were very friendly - a number of them were young people studying at the local Gaelic college.
Housekeeping also a little "hit and miss".
Overall though we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and would definitely return. There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere, not "stuffy" at all. However, I'm still not really sure why it was so much more expensive than other hotels we stayed at on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was a wonderful weekend staying at this hotel. We had a great room overlooking the water with all you could need. The dinner was great , fresh fish and other local produce. There was a pub next door which had live music and great atmosphere. A complimentary whiskey in your room and a whiskey shop next door. A great weekend with friends what more could you want? Oh yes the staff were very helpful and friendly too which made the stay even better .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileaniarmainhotel, Manager at Hotel Eilean Iarmain, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Colchester Dexter

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and comments. It makes us feel proud for our guests to have enjoyed their stay with us so much.

Could you be as so kind and change the over all score for your stay as it has come through as terrible instead of the other lovely scores you gave us on the other categories
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We holidayed in Isle Ornsay in self catering accommodation on two separate occasions and dined in the public bar of the Hotel Eilean Iarmain - the 'Praban' - a couple of times. The fish and chips were just delicious - surpassed only by the fabulous views outside. Our two young sons fished off the jetty, before the midges drove us inside - catching mackerel and pollock, gurnard and crab - to their delight! Can't wait to go back. Friendly staff, lovely food - the making of happy memories.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuebingen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our tour guide from Stravaigin Tours booked my husband and me into one of the suites of the Hotel Eilean Iarmain and we were very happy with his choice! Suite 2 is right alongside the Sound of Sleat and has a small downstairs living room and full bathroom, then a small flight of steps leading to the bedroom. Both levels have a wonderful view of the sound. A complimentary whisky was most welcome to my husband and we enjoyed the breakfast immensely. I had the salmon with scrambled eggs which melted in my mouth. Delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eilean Iarmain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eilean Iarmain

Address: Isle Ornsay Hotel, Sleat IV43 8QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sleat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eilean Iarmain 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional hotel, in an idyllic setting, with spectacular views across the sound of Sleat to the Knoydart Hills, retains it old-world charm giving each guest a truly genuine highland welcome from the moment you arrive. People have been coming here for over a hundred years, drawn by a love of Skye and its history, culture and language. The hotel is open all year enabling visitors to experience Skye in all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eilean Iarmain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eilean Iarmain Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eilean Iarmain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.