We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly warm and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sconser Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sconser
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sconser Lodge Hotel
Save
You added Sconser Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Sconser IV48 8TD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sconser B&B and Inns
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“friendly warm and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The food- both choice and quality- was excellent. There were several people staying there who returned regularly. The owners Craig and Lisa were very helpful. The pub was warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    35
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Well, it is like visiting old friends in the sense that we immediately felt welcome, comfortable and at home. But you would have to have special friends indeed to be served gourmet meals, excellent craft beer, a good selection of whisky and treated to an evening of music and camaraderie as we experienced.

Most of the b&b's I have stayed in prior to this have been smaller... One to four rooms. Sconser lodge is a bit bigger, but this allows them to provide outstanding dinners and a casual pub environment to get to know your hosts and fellow guests in the evening. Somehow this actually enhances the personal touch... We had a great time here... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

fine food, good selection of drinks, friendly staff, fabulous views our Friday night included a girl piper and a singing waiter (in the bar after dinner!) what more could you want will be back Keith & Willy

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. Lovely,friendly and fun atmosphere. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Helpful advice on what to see and visit on Skye. Dining at the Hotel was a pleasure.
Would recommend the hotel to anyone. The previous reviews are accurate.

neeps3, bedford

Room Tip: A sea view would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

In April 2012 our wedding ceremony took place in Sconser Lodge and then we had a meal with our 24 guests there. It was the perfect location for a civil marriage service with breath-taking views over the Sound as we took our vows and Craig and Lisa had helped us so much with tailoring it exactly to our wishes for an intimate and relaxed occasion but with the right amount of formality. They made us all feel so welcome and everything went incredibly smoothly, even the weather! The meal was absolutely fantastic and very much enjoyed. We were made to feel like Sconser Lodge was our home, with such a warm, friendly atmosphere, but at the same time the finishing touches such as the candles, the roaring fire, the lighting, the layout of the rooms were all arranged with such thought we couldn't have asked for better personal service. Also all the guests who then stayed overnight in the hotel were pleased with their rooms and the lovely breakfast was really welcomed! Thank you to Craig and Lisa for making it a fabulous day we will always remember.

Room Tip: The four-poster room shouldn't be missed for the happy couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Nice little Inn on the water with good views and a good resturant. Accepts kids just fine and worked to accomodate them at dinner. Also had a swing in the yard. Breakfats was alos quite good. Wish we had more time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Our party consisted of me, my wife and 3 kids, aged 4 years, 3 years and 3 months old. Lisa came out to welcome us and help us to our room. The layout was great with the kids in a connecting room with its own TV which bought us a few minutes lie in in the mornings. It also had it's own toilet.
Having settled in we went down to dinner and were surprised at the choice on offer on the menu. Being on a Gluten Free diet I was particularly happy to be able to talk to Craig and be confident that he completely understood my dietary needs. All the food is fresh, and freshly cooked by Craig which was reflected in the quality of every meal we had.
After dinner we went to the bar where there was a friendly bar with a roaring fire. You may even be lucky and get a sing song led by Norrie on his guitar. Both the dining room overlook the sea and hills, a perfect backdrop to great evenings.
The hotel is easy to find, and is in a great location, being right next to the sea, with its own slipway. It's close to the A87 meaning you can quickly get en route to any part of Skye.
We couldn't recommend Sconser Lodge highly enough for location, homely surroundings, great food and best of all Craig and Lisa as your hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. You will see the sea from your breakfast / dinner table. It's only 10m away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sconser Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sconser Lodge Hotel

Address: Sconser IV48 8TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sconser
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sconser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sconser Hotel Sconser
Sconser Lodge Hotel Isle Of Skye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sconser Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.