We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urquhart Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Urquhart Caledonian Hotel to your Saves list
Urquhart Caledonian Hotel
Wentworth St, Portree IV51 9EJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 98 Portree B&B and Inns
Co'Path
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Character bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We dined at the Caley whilst visiting Portree and were both impressed with the food quality. The Caley burger is certainly not to be missed, the drinks were reasonably priced and the staff were very friendly. Enjoyable evening spent in the Caley

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    47
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
61
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were 4 girlfriends traveling together and were accommodated with two twin rooms next to each other, which was perfect. The rooms were better than what was shown on the web site - seemed recently refurbished. Bathrooms were newly tiled, fresh carpet, curtains, flat screen TV. We did not hear any noise although we were warned that we might hear street noise from the pub. Slept great, and spent three nights. Breakfast was to order and delicious. The Hotel is right in the Town centre, an easy walk to the Harbor for great restaurants or for a day of shopping. Our hosts were amazing, and helped us with driving routes. This was such valuable info and were it not for them, we would not have had such a great visit. They were welcoming and always available. Only issues were the small winding stairways (after all it is an old building, even though it feels new!), and the difficult entrance to the car park. However, once you find the car park it is actually quite easy!! We left our car and walked everywhere. Lovely family owned/run Hotel. We would definitely recommend the Hotel and would stay again if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Isles. Scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We called ahead to inform the hotel that we would be late arriving. The lady who took the call was charming and gave instructions to the car park which could be difficult to find if you didn't know where you were going. On arrival check in was fast, friendly and efficient. As the resturant had closed she said if we wanted to get a takeaway we could bring it back to the hotel and they would provide the necessary crockery etc.
The room was lovely, immaculately clean etc. Breakfast was excellent. On check out the receptionst took time to chat.
All in all a delightful hotel that I would be more than happy to recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

4 of us checked into the hotel for 3 nights and we enjoyed the stay very much. The staff were very friendly and able to give excellent advise about things to do and see. The rooms are comfortable with all that you need for a relaxing weekend.
The breakfasts are amazing and set you up for the day.
The hotel is right in the middle of town so you can walk to the shops, restraunts pubs etc there is parkign behind the hotel which is free. The hotel itself has some great nightlfe with bands often performing at the weekends.

I would highly recommend staying here.

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Slap bang in the middle of Portree, the hotel is well maintained, cleaned, dog friendly, a good menu in the comfortable bar, an excellent breakfast, helpful friendly staff and offers car parking too. We'd definatly use this hotel again. Thanks.

Room Tip: Room nuber 7. quiet and had a double bed and bunk beds, idea for a family. Good batroom/shower etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my group for two nights as we departed and returned from n uist. Having been before I knew of the rear entrance. Workmen made the degraded short track more of an obstacle.

Warm, friendly greeting- rooms first rate. My co traveller shared a recently refurbished twin room. Very clean, modern and a good size. Great shower too. I left my phone charger on the outward journey, but it was waiting for me on the return.

Good breakfast, although had to ask for coffee top up. In summary, friendly helpful staff, great rooms and good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I stayed at the hotel on our motorbike trip on 12th may. The staff were great, even during the phone call to book, when I was told there would be a band in the bar that night, and that we would definitely hear the music from the rooms. Not a problem for us, we just joined in. The staff were very nice and showed some concern that we were riding in the bad weather on Sunday 13th

The rooms, are clean, have comfortable beds, nice linens and a good shower. You can sense that some pride is taken in the preparation of the room. Everything works and is in place.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel, but breakfast was very good, and freshly cooked to order, not a buffet. The bar is great and the band who werelaying that night rocked.

All in all, very good value for money.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urquhart Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urquhart Caledonian Hotel

Address: Wentworth St, Portree IV51 9EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Urquhart Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urquhart Caledonian Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urquhart Caledonian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.