We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but the service fell down on the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tianavaig View Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tianavaig View Restaurant
Bank Street, Portree IV51 9BU, Scotland
+44 1478 612525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 32 Restaurants in Portree
Cuisines: Scottish
Good for: Scenic view
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Bath, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, but the service fell down on the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Once we got our meals, our waitress pretty much disappeared. It was clear that she and her two co-workers were stretched too thin between the restaurant and the bistro/bar. We waited forever to get our bill; eventually we walked up to the hostess area and asked to be helped, and even then we had to stand there for a long time while they figured out our bill and got our change. Very disappointing, seeing as we both enjoyed the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely food at an affordable price and friendly atmosphere, with terrific views over the harbour. Very good for families.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rather dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Felt like we were stepping back into the 60s/70s, but the service was friendly and we had a delicious Haggis and Neets

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food average to good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was easy to end up here due to its location. Starters average mains were lovely. Service was slow. Price was too highfor what you get. Return ..No. There are better places to eat in portree.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Anothe case of don't judge a book by its cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel doesn't look particularly great on the outside and the interior of the restaurant area looked a bit grim and could do with sprucing up a bit. However I can assure you the food was lovely, served by two really pleasant young ladies. It was inexpensive, hot, tasty and all four of us cleared our plates. We would definitely go there again when we revisit Portree.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tianavaig View Restaurant also viewed

 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Tianavaig View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tianavaig View Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.