We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milivaig B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milivaig B&B
Save
You added Milivaig B&B to your Saves list
Portree IV51 9GS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 98 Portree B&B and Inns
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I can only echo the excellent reviews already given. I was expecting 'run of the mill' but both the accommodation and hospitality were first class.
I 'd not stayed in Portree before - on the basis of this visit I wouldn't consider anywhere else.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ML9 3EN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and my son and myself stayed here two nights while touring we were made very welcome. The rooms were first class very clean and modern. The breakfast was great you could not have asked for more. If visiting Portree in the future I would certainly wish to stay at Milivaig

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay with Dolly, felt like we had known her for years! The room and ensuite was a touch on the cosy side (hence reason for very good rating) but super clean, with tea and coffee making facilities and shortbread, yum! Very quiet area, away from many tourists of Portree. Breakfast was delicious, with cereal or porridge with strawberries, sausages, eggs, tomato, bacon, toast, tea or coffee. Had nice conversation with other guests over breakfast and lovely views over the mountains. Only suggestion for improvement would be that the pillows were a bit hard, but this is likely a personal preference! We would definitely stay again when visiting Skye.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our stay in Portree was just great! Milivaig is a lovely guest house with equally wonderful hosts. Dolly and her husband treated us like family. we felt so much at home! Dolly even gave us maps to help us during our driving around isle of Skye. The rooms were spotlessly clean and breakfast was very generous, with tomatoes, bacon, eggs, sausages, and the delicious black pudding! We were also served toast and cereal. we couldn't have asked for more. The house is in a lovely tranquil area with excellent views, making it perfect! I recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Isle of Skye

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Dolly and her husband were the best hosts we’d ever had. They were very warm, helpful and friendly and made us feel at home. For breakfast, we filled in a form to select the items we wanted the night before. I like this practice as we could customize our breakfast and did not waste food that we did not eat. The room was a bit small but it was immaculate. The bed was heavenly with a super fluffy comforter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for two days and we couldn't have asked for more.

The house has a great view out the back and contains three rooms. Two doubles and one single. The price was a very reasonable 32 quid / person and included a very good breakfast.

The hosts were very friendly. It felt like we was staying with friends' parents.

Lots of extra little goodies as well. Like he best wi-fi I've ever used in a hotel or B&B and a huge screen tv with satellite tv (also a smaller size one in your room).

We stayed in the room at the front of the house. It was a bit on the small slze and didn't have the view. I'd recommend you get the back room if possible.

Only downside was it was a bit too far to walk into the town center but it's a quick drive so it wasn't a big deal for us.

Overall, excellent place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the house is bigger and has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The house is very beautiful and every room is kept very clean. My room was bright and completely perfect for my needs.

The breakfast was just lovely with enough options for those who like variety day to day (like me).

Dolly and her husband are just the sweetest! They are very helpful and will go above and beyond for their guests.

I recommend staying here if you are planning a trip to Skye. You get more than your money's worth!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milivaig B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milivaig B&B

Address: Portree IV51 9GS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Milivaig B&B Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milivaig B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.