We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel, not just Royal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bank Street, Portree, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Portree
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grand hotel, not just Royal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Friendly welcoming local staff made our visit get off to an excellent start. Situated right on the front with a view across the harbour, we were very pleased with our room. Had to walk up to the 2nd floor by stairs (no lift) but the view was worth it.
Gordon, our waiter at breakfast was a real character, charismatic and funny, and most attentive to our needs, also happy to recommend and suggest places to go.
Our stay at this hotel was too short, will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are being refurbished so don't know what they would be like but the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
We will pass your kind words on to Gordon, our breakfast waiter.
Thank you again for taking time out to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    76
    44
    30
    28
See reviews for
28
108
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had dinner in the restaurant of the hotel.
The dining room is very basic but it's one of the few restaurants in town that is not overcrowded.
Food is average but portions are generous.

The waiter was very rude: I asked him to change me a 20 pounds bills (that I borrowed from an ATM machine) and he said that my note wasn't original and refused to change it.
His behavior was unacceptable

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Skye is a seasonal island, we take most of our business April to September therefore we employ a lot of new staff during April and May, the gentleman in question had not seen your note before and was unsure whether to accept it or not. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Thank you again for taking time out to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

When we looked at other venues in Skye they were extortionate so if you are staying in Skye this place is very competitive (even though £120 seems steep!)
The place is clean warm and tidy. The staff are friendly and pleasant and remember you - that goes for the morning breakfast staff and reception. We were always greeted with a smile.
The breakfast menu is quite good and you can pretty much get what you want. I got porridge the first morning and I was asked what I would like to follow! Nice touch!
We also ate here one evening and it was good, reasonably priced food.
We stopped in a lodge hotel further down the road on a separate day for a drink and the prices were extortionate. So while other reviews say this place is pricey - it is in the context of general UK but you have to remember - this is an island which see the majority of tourists arrive - drive around the island - and leave. These hotels tend to be busy just in peak season.

So while I think the island in general could promote more on a holistic approach to entice visitors in the 'off season' this hotel shouldnt be slammed for high prices. Taken in context - it is actually reasonable. Don't like it? - Camp!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your honest feedback, we really appreciate it.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel if you're back on Skye.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very helpful staff with a wealth of knowledge about the island. The rooms were very clean with a amazing shower and the breakfast was great value. Has plenty of parking around the hotel and is within walking distance of restaurants and bars!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for the feedback it is very appreciated, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Fiona
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel on a wet and rainy day. arrived in soaked with a child and wet dog in tow. Fiona on reception was exceptional, even to the point of taking our wet boots and placing them in their laundry room to dry out and supplying treats and entertaining chat for our daughter.

Room was clean and comfortable. Shower was great with good supply of hot water.

Staff remained unfazed when major power cut occured before we could order dinner. Special thanks to chef Dan who stayed late to ensure we had hot food and cooked by candle light.

Breakfast was tasty and filling, set us up for a dayfof sailing.

Very impressed with service provided. Couldn't ask for nicer welcoming people.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to be of service to you all. We hope to welcome you back if you are all back on the island again some day!

Kind regards,

Fiona
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Tired and stuck for somewhere to stay so reluctantly splashed out £120 for this place. Thought at least id enjoy a bit of luxury for the price. Very disappointed.
Room was clean and tidy and the view excellent.Sraff ok.
Other than that, it was certainly not worth the overinflated price. Common areas smelt of cleaning products.
Lots of warnings about not consuming food brought in from outside, yet they still offer room service! Whats that all about? If not to try and compel you to pay their no doubt inflated prices ( no room service menu provided)
Ended up eating a fishvsupper in a shop doorway in the pouring rain. I hope no one found the wrapper from the Kit Kat I smuggled into my room later, I might get the jail!
Lots of little things missing such as local area info, in room menu, pad and pencil and a decent supply of tea/coffee ( 2 sachets of each? Come on!) and maybe a wee biscuit or 2. All small things in themselves but contribute to a comfortable stay.
Very poor, wont be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking time out to give us some feedback.
We do try to keep our prices competitive with other business in Portree.
The reason for our sign at reception is to keep hot takeaway food out of the rooms as in the past carpets, upholstery and bedding has been stained. We have even lost out on money as we have had to put rooms out of use for the night due to the smell.
We have a leaflet stand at reception bursting with information on things to do on and around the island. Our reception and waiting staff are very knowledgeable as well, as you can see in previous reviews.
In our room packs we have local information, paper, envelopes and details regarding room service. Our menu's change very often and we at reception are more than happy to pop upstairs with an updated menu at any time of the day.
There is also a member of staff at reception 24 hours a day for our residents should they need any extra tea bags, coffee and biscuits, we are more than happy to take an extra handful up to your room without hesitation.
Thanks again for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Fiona
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed for one night and found that the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room we were given was large although the cost was a little higher than we had been used elsewhere on our drive around the UK.

The room itself was clean with good facilities and a comfortable bed. A bit of a minus was that the air was very stuffy in the room and the room smelt strongly of cleaning products. We left the room windows open when we went out but found them closed when we returned. The windows open onto the street and this is likely to have been the reason.

We were caught out with wanting to eat at about 8:00 pm and found that the restaurant had closed. We found the restaurant still open in the hotel up the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
There has been recent major road works in the town centre and our housemaids tried to keep the windows closed during work hours to prevent dust and debris from entering the rooms.
Apologies for any inconvenience caused regarding our restaurant opening hours, we will be back to our seasonal opening hours from Easter.
Thanks again for the review and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Fiona
Front Office Manager
The Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Bank Street, Portree, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our new rooms and fantastic views over Portree Harbour, The Royal Hotel is an ideal base for your stay on Skye. Built on the site of the 17th century MacNabs Inn, where Bonnie Prince Charlie bade farewell to Flora MacDonald in 1745. Enjoy our MacNabs bar where you can sample our range of whiskies and fine real ales. Our restaurants serve family friendly menus with a selection of fine wine.Our Tianavaig Restaurant has one of the most beautiful views Portree has to offer, enjoy our seafood, specially prepared by our dedicated chef's & served to you by our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.