We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel rooms But a good location in Portree.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bosville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bosville Hotel to your Saves list
Bosville Hotel
9-11 Bosville Terrace | Isle of Skye, Portree IV51 9DG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Portree
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average hotel rooms But a good location in Portree.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in December 2012 with my family (myself, wife and 17 month old son).

First off, parking is limited in front of the hotel but we got a spot every time. I imagine in high season this might be of concern for some travelers.

The room we had was of adequate size with a double bed and a single in the room. It had all the amenities that we expect from this level of hotel. The radiator in our bathroom did not work and when I enquired numerous times as I was told that the maintenance would look into it, but no one ever came to fix it nor were we offered any alternatives. I found that frustrating, as we like to try and keep it warm in the bathroom when our son has his bath.

The room heat was a bit on the cold side, even when we had the heat at the highest level the temperature dropped quite a bit in the room at night.

The cleanliness overall was fine, except when I moved some furniture. I had to rearrange a bit to make room for our son's crib, and when I moved the beds, they had not been cleaned under for some time. I also found what looked like some sort of insect or pest trap but I did not even want to inspect it further... Yikes.

The room and hotel in general could use some TLC. It is an old building so thee are creaks and noises when people walk around. The pub was very nice though. It was the cleanest pub that I was able to find in town and it seemed some locals called in as well, so that is always a good sign.

The staff were friendly and helpful, apart from the non working radiator issue.

If I wasting visit Portree again u would look into other possible accommodation options.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Bosville Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed most of your stay; we appreciate all comments as we can use them to improve the service we offer our customers.

I was disappointed to read about the radiator not working in your bathroom and have asked the receptionist about this. She said that during your visit, she could not get in touch with our maintenance man, however, as she discovered later he was off work for two days which was why she couldn’t get in touch with him. She did assume that he would be in as usual the following morning and that he would have been able to fix your radiator – we do apologise for this. Unfortunately it would have been impossible to move you to another room as we were fully booked too.

I was also disappointed to read that the housekeepers had neglected to clean under that bed, I have had a meeting with the Housekeeping Manager about this and she has now made sure that all the beds have been pulled out and checked by the housekeepers.

In the past, insects have been brought into the hotel on the clothing of customers and so as a precaution and on the advice of our environmental control specialists we like many quality hotels, have placed equipment inside and out to ensure that this does not happen.

We do have a refurbishment programme in place which has just begun, and do hope that you and your family will return to sample the Bosville Hotel at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    92
    63
    43
    12
See reviews for
42
164
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

In a rainy October night I was driving by Portree and decided to stay overnight. I didn't have a reservation so checked out few B&B and hotels until I stumbled upon the Bosville where I was impressed first by the ground floor restaurant (and its amazing menu) but also by the atmosphere and the warm welcome from all the staff. The fare was very reasonable for the quality of the accommodation so I ended up staying two nights (rewarded by a glorious sunny morning the second day!). I really enjoyed this hotel, I loved the gourmet breakfast, the restaurant (called the Chandlery) and I even bought the chef's signature recipes book. The second night I ate to the next door restaurant called Harbour View (excellent seafood in cozy candle light).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Bosville Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed lovely sunshine whilst you were on this beautiful island! Do hope that you will be able to come back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Skye with our three dogs and arrived in Portree looking for a dog friendly hotel / B&B. We stumbled in to the Bosville and found a real haven. Dogs were made very welcome and so were we, and the rates were reasonable. The room was perfectly adequate and roomy and very comfortable. We enjoyed the bar and restaurant. Food was very good, nicely presented and tasty. We extended our stay to two nights. The staff were friendly, very helpful, particularly with information on the best walks in the area and always greeted us with a smile. Thank you Bosville - we hope to be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Bosville Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you too for your kind review! We are delighted that you were happy with your stay and the food and that we were smiling! Looking forward to you coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

3rd time I've stayed here now this year,staff very friendly.parking is only down side as its very limited.rooms are split level and fantastic staff great.food very good, breakfast service is from 0730 , bit late for me since I'm working on the island.but it's a minor niggle and you can let them know if you wish an earlier one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Bosville Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and yes you can! Please just let us know the evening before if you would like an earlier breakfast and we will sort that for you. See you back very soon I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our third visit here and stayed for one night in October prior to catching the Saturday morning ferry to Tarbert, Very nice family room with cot for our baby and all linen supplied. Me and my wife enjoyed a nice meal in the restaurant and had a relaxing drink in the bar after the 500 mile drive north. Our son liked the separate room he got, will definitely go again.
Staff very friendly, especially the lady who served breakfast who made a fuss of our daughter as everyone with children will know breakfast with an 18 month baby is interesting!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Bosville Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Travelling 500 miles with small children can also be pretty interesting, so I was happy to read that you were able to relax during your time with us! See you all back soon I hope and thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly staff.
One member of staff, Dennis, even moved his car in the pouring rain so we could get a space right outside. Thank you Dennis you are a superstar =)
We let the hotel know we'd be arriving quite late on but with bad weather the drive took us longer than anticipated. They still kept the kitchen open after hours for us.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and I look forward to staying here again sometime.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Bosville Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your review which has made Dennis very happy! It can be pretty unpleasant arriving late after a long drive in bad weather – of course we would keep the kitchen open for you!!
Look forward to you coming back (in better weather next time)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Nice room, very helpful staff. Delicious full breakfast included in our rate. Step out the front door to a view of Portree Harbour. We would stay here again. I notice previous negative comments regarding the hotel's limited parking. That is not an uncommon thing in Portree's town centre, from what I could tell.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Bosville Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review – we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It us unfortunate that we have limited parking, and you are correct, most hotels in the town centre have the same problem. What we do if we are full, is direct people to the nearest spot available once they have left their luggage with us.

Do hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bosville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosville Hotel

Address: 9-11 Bosville Terrace | Isle of Skye, Portree IV51 9DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Portree, the capital of the Isle of Skye, this quality Hotel offers comfortable accommodation with many rooms overlooking the pretty Portree harbour. We have an unrivalled reputation for superb, award winning food created using the freshest of local produce available on the island. Beds are comfortable and rooms are stylish with quality fabrics and furnishings. The Bosville serves an excellent breakfast and has a popular, welcoming bar, with a wood burning stove. There is Free WiFi throughout the Hotel for both residents and non residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bosville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosville Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.