We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowsers! One of the best meals I've had! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The View Restaurant

The View Restaurant
Cuillin Hills Hotel, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
+44(0)1478 612003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Portree
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Cuillin Hills View Restaurant offers diners one of the best views on Skye whilst enjoying high quality local Scottish Produce - including an extensive range of Seafood dishes.We pride ourselves on offering our customers a friendly, relaxed and excellent value dining experience.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wowsers! One of the best meals I've had! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Arrived at our accommodation late on Boxing Day evening and had a wander about to see where we could eat, weather was bad so didn't want to venture into the town. Walked past the hotel and saw they accepted non residents....so glad they did! Had the best seafood chowder I've ever eaten, my partner had the homemade soup, amazing! I the had the Cajun chicken burger and couldn't manage to finish the meal! Portions were great, all was freshly cooked and incredible flavours! Would highly recommend if you're in the area. Food wasn't too pricey either!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A little pricey, perhaps, but no complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights and ate in The View restaurant (the only evening choice available at the time) on the first night as we were tired after our long trip and couldn't face venturing out. We found the service professional and the food delicious and well-presented. It was perhaps slightly more expensive than one of the local restaurants but we appreciated not having to walk or drive into the town and instead enjoy a drink at the bar and then the short walk to flop into our beds.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice food, but over-priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The food was nice here, but a little over-priced. It was tasty without being spectacular. The staff were mostly attentive (they were great with our toddler), but forgot our after-dinner drinks. No matter. The view is spectacular and the decor is nice, so I would recommend it for a summer meal, with a view, so long as you don't mind paying a little over what it's worth.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treaslane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Lunch at the Cuillin Hills Hotel is always a pleasure.

The setting in its own grounds is amazing and the view over Portree Bay and the Cuillin Hills is exceptional.

The staff are attentive, friendly and unobtrusive all in one.

The food is well prepared and presented and good value for money.

A very pleasurable experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited this place for dinner on a sunny evening as it was our last night on Skye so we had intended to have a few drinks outside looking out across the fantastic view. Unfortunately the midges put a stop to that so we had a drink inside instead! 2 from our party had eaten here the night before and recommended we all try the place.

The hotel and restaurant look lovely, with tasteful decor and smartly dressed staff. There was a good selection on the menu, and I chose as follows:

Starter: Vegetable Soup
Opinion: tasted ok, was a bit bland but then again vegetable soup is never going to be that exciting is it!

Main Course: Lamb
Opinion: dissapointing, the lamb was very tough / dry. Wish I had gone for the steak as others had this and it looked excellent.

If I ever return to Portree I'll probably try this place again just to see if it was a one off that the food wasn't excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The View Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.