We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuillin Hills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cuillin Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Cuillin Hills Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Portree
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed in the gorgeous Cuillin Suite upstairs with a magnificent view of the bay of Portree. It was as lovely as it looked in the photos. The hotel is far enough away from the village to be tranquil but close enough for an easy walk along the picturesque road to visit the busier village centre. The Hotel staff were fine but nothing memorable about them really; it was the hotel and the town itself that were the highlight at Portree on Skye. Fish and chips from the pier kiosk are a must - sitting on the pier and people watching is lovely; bagpipers, tourists, fishing boats and locals all mix happily about to create a great vibe. The hotel also has a lovely wide lawn from which to have a drink and watch the sun go down. Just shuffle some chairs over and enjoy the gorgeous bay with the boats & multicolored houses. We loved Portree for Its relaxed and low key style & staying in The Cuillin suite certainly added to the overall pleasure; great queen bed, spotless room & fairtytale view - magic!

Room Tip: The larger suite on level 1 facing the bay is beautiful. It wasn't cheap at 370 £ but no other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    178
    57
    24
    14
See reviews for
76
353
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Trip Advisor has come in for some criticism recently regarding the 'genuineness' of some of its posts. Before staying here7 nights last week, I read some of the recent damning reviews about tired, overprices, poor service, poor food etc,; a little worrying. My worries were unfounded. The room was wonderful (26), the food particularly in the restaurant was of an extremely high standard (a local lord & lady dined twice whilst we were there with their dinner guests), and we found the staff to be incredibly caring, helpful, knowledgeable and attentive. I cannot understand the poor reviews. Perhaps they were expecting a brand new Hilton chain style hotel? A solarium & jacuzzi? A gym? This place is just a traditional hotel to relax & while away the time. The public areas were in no way tired, the decor was absolutely fine. I just cannot understand what people want!!!

Room Tip: Room 26 - the Turret Room - no sea view, but large with a great seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our trip around Scotland was going to be a slow holiday with plenty of rest. Although we live on an scottish island we never see the mainland and this was our chance.
We started in Skye and portree is everything you read about , peacefull, relaxing and plenty to see,

Our stay at the cullin hotel was really nice and we were treated with very good service , food was good and the room we had was also better than avarage for the price.

The surrounding area is too die for , we will stay here again if on Skye

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was our tthird day in Scotland and I can say that the view of the bay from the hotel is most stunning and probably the best yet. We stayed in room 23 which had a big window overlooking the bay. The staff was very friendly and genuinely seemed to care for the guests. Our rate included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast choices included cold and hot items and was good. The hotel had two restaurants for dinner. One had a preset menu but a very good choice of starters, main and deserts. The other had lot more options. I tried both restaurants and was pleased. You ought to try the oysters and the langoustines.

My kids weren't happy that the hotel did not have a swimming pool. The room was spacious and there was plenty of storage. We got an extra bed also for no charge. Two general issues were that the hotel did not have a business center and secondly, the room had a heater but no AC. We had to open the windows to get some cooler air. Other than these couple of minor inconveniences, our stay was pleasant and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Make your reservation through the American Express Travel Service for discounts up to 50%
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Cuillin Hills Hotel is a fantastic place to stay either for business or pleasure. I've stayed her for numerous nights over the past 3 months and would recommend it to anyone looking for comfortable accommodation and good food in a quiet and scenic setting. The hotel itself is located on the outskirts of Portree with ample parking both at the front and rear. The hotel sits on an elevated postion overlooking the harbour and has beautiful, uninterrupted, scenic views across to the Cuillin Hills - one of the main landmarks on Skye. The hotel has both a restaurant and Brasserie serving food - but be warned - you really need to book as they are both popular (especially in the tourist season). There is also a lounge which has a welcoming fireplace along with comfy leather seats. The Brasserie offers a wide variety of food however the chef and kitchen staff will always do their best to accommodate any specific preferences. I have eaten here countless times and have never had the need to complain. Breakfast is served in the Brasserie and includes a variety of items from the buffet table including cereals, juices, cheeses, croissants, yoghurts and you can top that off with a selection of hot cooked food from the kitchen. The hotel staff are all very welcoming and pleasant from the receptionist through to the bar and waiting staff. The hotel rooms themselves are split between the main building and an annex which is only a few steps away (and there is usually someone who can help you with your luggage if need be). Having stayed in a variety of rooms I have found them all to be comfortable and spacious with the rate being reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. Although WiFi is not included, for anyone with a longer stay it is worth contacting the provider to discuss your individual needs. All in all, there is nowhere else I would rather stay in Portree.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a short break. Situated up a slight hill, however views of Portree harbour and hills was breathtaking! Hotel is in two parts, main hotel plus annexe. Ample car parking spaces. We had a classic double room in the annexe and it was very nice. Good sized room with a good sized bathroom with bath plus overhead shower. Room decor in keeping with the hotel and island of skye. Room was very clean and well presented. There were tea/coffee making facitlites in the room, TV plus hairdryer. Breakfast was very good. Good selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, pastries etc. There was a choice of full english breakfast, smoked salmon, smoked kippers and porridge. View from the breakfast room was absolutely stunning, eating breakfast looking out onto Portree harbour and surrounding hills. Breathtaking and it couldn't be more relaxing! Staff were also very nice and reception staff were extremely helpful. Hotel room price is in keeping with other hotels in Portree. It is also pet friendly. Hotel has outside garden area with tables to sit and enjoy the view. Portree is a lovely village with a nice harbour and a good selection of pubs/restaurants with the choice of seafood, italian, indian and there are a few local shops. Good base to explore Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I totally agree with one of the reviewers on TRIPADVISOR, that CUILLIN HILLS HOTEL is TIRED and overpriced. Five friends and I (in total three rooms) stayed at the hotel for two nights during our visit to the Highlands. When I booked the rooms (after going through the hotel's website with the lovely pictures) they told me, that there were only two twin bedded rooms in the luxury category, so I and my friend would be staying at one of their classical rooms. The two luxury rooms (for £260) had a beautiful look on the lake. Ours (for £ 210) had two windows on the parking lot, which also had a very strong light bulb for safety reasons and so, we had light all night in our room, since the curtains were of thin material! The room was spacious, but the furniture was not only outmoded, but also very tired. The beds had no second sheet to cover the old blanket on top, something that you see even in small hotels nowadays! Personnel was "distant" and to my surprise, not only there was no free WI FI, but they provided you with the e-mail address of a company, with which YOU would have to get in touch and start asking for WI FI with your credit card. The receptionist told me, it is quite complicated and I would better refrain from trying!!! The bathtub was blocked and there was no body lotion, an amenity provided in all "supposedly 4 star hotels". The faucets in the outmoded bathroom were two different ones (in both the basin and the bathtub) for hot and cold water! Breakfast buffet was VERY limited and the polite and nice personnel taking your order for the Scottish breakfast had such inconsistent service and lack of experience that it became a small ordeal. I must admit, I expected more of this hotel, after the fabulous description on their web site!

Room Tip: Book only one of the luxury rooms with view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cuillin Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuillin Hills Hotel

Address: Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuillin Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuillin Hills Hotel, overlooks the capital town of Portree, on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is the recognised highest rated Hotel on the Island for quality and is classed as a four star deluxe hotel. The Cuillin Hills Hotel a Lounge Bar, a Malt Embassy, and an informal dining conservatory and 'The View' Fine Dining Restaurant and Art Gallery. Bedrooms are all en-suite many offering superb mountain and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cuillin Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuillin Hills Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuillin Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.