We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views but average B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greenacres Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenacres Guest House
Save
You added Greenacres Guest House to your Saves list
Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9ES , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 98 Portree B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good views but average B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you want a good view of the sea then this B&B is great, but the rest of the B&B is pretty average. The rooms are clean and tidy, each comes with a fridge which is great if you are staying a while, the shower was pretty naff, certainly not a power shower! The cooked breakfast was not as good as other B&B's we stayed in across Skye and the Hebrides, but the Continental breakfast is pretty standard.

Location is good easily walkable to Portree if the weather allows!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    16
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I can wholeheartedly agree with most reviewers in that the location is absolutely breathtaking and the best thing about Greenacres. The grounds are lovely and there is plentiful parking. The house and grounds contain too many tschotskes for my taste. The house is very clean. Mattresses were mushy and the heat seemed to have been turned off around 9 making for an uncomfortable night's sleep. Breakfast was great and served on china - nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed 1 night at this wonderful guest house. We were welcomed by Marie who made us feel at home. Our room was splendid with a view of the garden. We would recommend this guest house to anyone visiting the beautiful Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is such a gorgeous B & B. Rooms clean and comfortable, beautifully decorated, and a great breakfast too. The views are spectacular .Couldn't ask for better. Beautiful location - breath taking views while breakfasting. Thank you Marie and Ewen for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenay, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is such a gorgeous B & B. Rooms immaculate and comfortable, facilities first class and great breakfast too - couldn't ask for better. Beautiful location - spectacular views. First time in Skye for our French friends and it did not disappoint in any way. Have loads of photos! Thank you Marie and Ewen for your hospitality. We may be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield,Notts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Fantastic stay here with great hospitality and lovely breakfast. The whole house is spotless and the gardens spectacular. I would recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Portree. We were visiting with friends from the USA who were blown away by the Scottish hospitality. There is a lovely conservatory at the back of the house which has wonderful views and is for guests to use.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back with a view of the water. Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

These are the only words for this B&B. You just couldn't wish for more. Everything perfect. The rooms are really homely, comfortable beds and modern bathroom. The gardens are stunning and the views of the bay from the conservatory are spectacular. Marie and Ewen make you very welcome, give you tips on what to do in Portree and will even make reservations in the restaurants down at the harbour. The breakfasts are huge, my husband's eyes nearly popped out of his head when he was served with the double of everything. He managed it as it was delicious but the following morning requested only a lady's portion. This is the place to stay on the Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenacres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Guest House

Address: Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9ES , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Greenacres Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenacres Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.