We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great New Year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saucy Marys Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saucy Marys Lodge to your Saves list
Saucy Marys Lodge
Kyleakin IV41 8PL , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great New Year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A cosy bar and lively atmosphere was followed by a piping in of the New Year by a local boy in full dress. A good atmosphere good food and very comfortable accommodation in the Guest House. We had the Haggis and it was amazing. Thank you Saucy Marys

Room Tip: The Guest House rooms are outstanding! Ask for the Guest House for more luxury and comfort although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    32
    8
    24
See reviews for
13
30
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Right in the heart of Winter this lively Bar/Restaurant offers a tasty menu. I had the pork loin one night and the Vegetable Tagine the next! It is a hostel with clean tidy rooms and ours had a sea view! The weather was wet byut the bar has a real fire and we enjoyed toasting our toes with some malt whiskies.If you are looking for a budget break then this is just the ticket on Skye and there are other rooms with bathrooms but we decided to keep it real and spend the money on food and drink.

Room Tip: Room 6 was a great room for four of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

we arrived and were presented with a warm room with an amazing seaview, and wi-fi was freely vailable throughout the hostel. the bar was friendly and featured a real fire, there was a fabulously cooked meal (we had the fish and chips and the fresh prawns) but there was plenty of choice even though it was winter. The beer was good and the service really mnore than you would expect. We thoroughly recommend this little jewel. The area is a good stopping point for a trip around Skye and the scenery is totally awesome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

this hostel is far too overpriced. the bathrooms were dirty and showers are very old and crappy.
the linen on the beds leaves a lot to be desired.
there is no common room and they will not allow you to sit in the sunroom as its attached to the bar. that meant eating dinner outside in the freezing cold. kitchen was unequipped and so small that only 2/3 people can use it at one time
the staff were quite unfriendly and not at all welcoming.
overall... find somewhere else!! this place is rubbish!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Way over priced, poor kitchen and wifi, no common room & we were not aloud to eat in the sun room as it is part of the bar so we had to have our dinner out side in the cold, the staff were not friendly, I do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The place is very small the kitchens were only big enough for three people to cook. The wifi is free yes... If you can get a signal.... I had to sit on the stairs to try and get some. The Staff were rude, uncompromising and generally made my stay uncomfortable... It is way overpriced for what it is worth.... Do not stay really not worth it, you should definatly try somewhere else.... Even a park bench would be better

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in a family room in Glenarroch House next door to Saucy Mary's Lodge. The room had a double bed and two singles, a tv/DVD player and easy chair. Ensuite had a shower stall and a bathtub. It was clean and perfect for our needs (me, mother-in-law and my two kids, 14 and 9). We stayed for 2 nights 16&17 October 2012, using this as a base to explore the beautiful isle of Skye. The self catering kitchen was in the main Lodge, near the shop. It was ok, but only 3 forks and very few pots and pans. Very few people could use the kitchen at the same time! We used it to make dinner once and for our breakfast twice. Down from the kitchen is the sun lounge. This is where you get wifi. I struggled to get a strong connection to check emails and log on to social networking sites. I had planned on uploading some photos but the wifi could not handle it. I had read that the island had new superfast wifi. I guess it is still to come to Saucy's!
The pub was nice. I used it nice to get a pint of Guinness and a large Talisker. That was £11 but I'm not complaining.
All in all, we really enjoyed the superb location and decent facilities here at Saucy Mary's in Kyleakin.

Room Tip: There are really good rooms with great facilities - the Glenarroch House family room we stayed in wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saucy Marys Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saucy Marys Lodge

Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PL , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Saucy Marys Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saucy Marys Lodge Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saucy Marys Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.