We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Moil Restaurant

Castle Moil Restaurant
Kyleakin, Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
+(44)01599 534164
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Kyleakin
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Eclectic
Restaurant details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Brilliant place staff are very friendly they have a restaurant if you like more formal and a bar at the back. I had fish and chips and it was to die for £11 but it was worth the money the position size was very big and they even allow dogs in when it is at the quit time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Picturesque location, good company, excellent food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beautiful location with great views of Loch Alsh and Skye Bridge
Good menu (but limited choice for vegetarians)
Excellent decor with quaint knick knacks
Very friendly, but slow service

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleMoil, Manager at Castle Moil Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are glad that you enjoyed your meal. Sorry that the service was slow but we are striving to get better all the time. We take on board what you say about the vegetarian food and will be adding more choices soon.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lovely meal, starter & main. Freshly made, friendly service. We weren't lucky enough to have a table by the window to look out over the harbor, but that didn't spoil the meal at all.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleMoil, Manager at Castle Moil Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write something nice about us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York, United States
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Restaurant With Attached King Haakon Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We walked from our guest house 10 minutes into town to eat here. The wait staff is quite young and we joked with our waitress when she had no idea what to do with our bottle of wine. She left it for us to pour without having opened it.

I chose the Seafood Pasta which was loaded with local shellfish and white fish. It was the best I've had in a long while, even here in the states.

After the meal, we walked next door for an after dinner drink and to try another brand of single malt whiskey. The bar was roomy and offered live music which we didn't stick around to listen to.

The next time you are in Kyleakin, check out this establishment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleMoil, Manager at Castle Moil Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and glad that you could have a wee laugh at our expense. Our waiting staff are all local and seasonal but have to start somewhere.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food with good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Get recommended by our B&B and we came back for the second time. Food is very fresh and comes with large portion. Staffs are friendly. Good service.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleMoil, Manager at Castle Moil Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your time in our restaurant.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Moil Restaurant also viewed

Kyleakin, Isle of Skye
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye
 
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Castle Moil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Moil Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.