We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meet the world” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skye Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Skye Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Skye Backpackers Hostel
Village Green, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Brunswiek
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“meet the world”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

No booking in advanced, so I got a bunk in one of the two caravans because the hostel itself was full. The caravan "Starship Enterprise" have to rooms but without a door between them.

Usually I have no problem with a mixed doorm. But when the other women are in the second room and you alone with 4 unknown men and there is only little of space, then I'm not feel comfortable. I changed in the loo which is next to the caravan.

Showers are in the house. When the hostel is fully book you need a good timing to find a free shower. And then the challenge begins. The water changes several times between cold and hot, no chance to control the temperature, the controler don't care about you adjustment.

The kitchen and dining room is cosy until a group arrived. This hostel is equipped for off season or when there is no bus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    17
    6
    11
See reviews for
2
16
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice location, nice people and gorgeous views - was here as part of a bus tour . enjoyed thoroughly - would definitely recommend this place to adventure seekers - there is a war memorial with stunning views of the bridge and a nice walk over the bridge to the nearest supermarket (40mins) - although there is a newsagent open till 6. Shared in a four bed dorm

Showers/toilets were a bit on the old side - but as they say in Scotland - no bother

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

First thing to note, there are two hostels; one regular and one for 'macbackpackers'. I stayed in a 6 bed in the latter. Amazing location, good staff and a good kitchen and dining room. The common room was an excellent size but the bedrooms, dining room and kitchen were tight with a full tour. Other than the size, it was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Simply amazing...from the staff to all the helpful signs (do your own damn dishes lol) to the location, cleanliness, amenities near by to the scenery near it--- this hostel is a definite stop while in Skye. I was honestly sad to leave. Free wifi, 2 seconds to pub and store, day trips for cheap to further in Skye--- I will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston lancs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stopped 2 nights in June and WOW loved it. Stayed in the Caravan behind the hostel but good. Kitchen area is good place to meet other young people im 52 We was on motorbikes and the hostel did us well and free tea and coffee and wifi thrown in.will be going back. Only problem i had was that our Caravan had 5 people in it and someone snored all night so i go no sleep. The next morning the young Lady on reception moved me to a quieter van.

Room Tip: All rooms were good but i light sleeper so suffered with other people snoring and going toilet in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

well, i only stayed for three nights but for me it was a real haven of peace with lovely background music played until lights out (about 11.45) chilling in the lounge with the sun setting over your shoulder into the bay. the beds were great - really solid - none of your creaky sqeaky springs. the staff were fantastic - hi to the wee aussie woman on recepction (from alan). cosy kitchen, clean, free showers, free hot drinks, pub (+ shop) next door if you want it. one of top ever hostals

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

The hostel was spotless and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They were always smiling and happy to help with suggestions and advice.

The kitchen was a nice space and great for meeting people but it could do with having one of the hobs replaced as it heated up so slowly it was pretty much useless. The other one worked just about ok and we really valued being able to cook a proper meal.

Our double room was spotless. It was small but I'd expect that in a hostel. It had a small sink which was great and space under the bed for our bags. The bed itself was a foam mattress on a wooden platform which was just about ok but it was quite hard to sleep on and wouldn't have been great for too many nights. We were looking forward to a real matress after our two nights.

The shower was fairly powerful and hot so that got a tick.

Our only real issue with the hostel was the price. We paid £50 a night for the two of us in the double room which isn't that much less than some ensuite bed and breakfasts. We had access to a kitchen, which was great, but given the uncomfortable bed and the small size of the room, we didn't feel the cost saving stacked up very well.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Skye Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skye Backpackers Hostel

Address: Village Green, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isle of Skye is situated on the west coast of mainland Scotland, and is the largest and best known of the Inner Hebrides. One of Europe's most dramatic and haunting lands, words can do little justice to describe Skye's awesome beauty. You simply have to see it for yourselves. Skye Backpackers sits in the picturesque fishing village of Kyleakin, skirted by mountains and sea. It's a small, cosy and friendly hostel with loads of character and great staff who are committed to ensuring you make the most of your time on the island. Our accommodation is comprised of 2 Double Rooms, 1 Twin Room, 1 Triple Room & 5 Dorm rooms that vary in size between 4-8 beds per room. We also have 2 caravans in our garden which can accommodate up to 20 people. All of our beds come complete with full bed linen and 2 pillows so there is no need to bring your sleeping bag. We have a great fully equipped self catering kitchen, a sunny dining area and the famous Groove Lounge with a real coal fire, loads of books and games and spectacular seaside views. Take some time to explore the island's haunted castle ruins; feel the mysterious presence of the legendary faeries in tranquil glens, waterfalls and mountain pools; visit whiskey distilleries and sample local beers and ales; take a relaxing stroll through the countryside or boldly ascend a mighty mountain. There’s plenty to see and do around the Isle of Skye so come and ask us for ideas – we’re a friendly bunch!We will give you all of our ‘Top Tips’ on our fantastic island and will even give you a FREE MAP. Possibly the BEST way to explore Skye is onboard our magical, mystical day tour with MacBackpackers. You can experience all of the best parts, learn all about the history & mythology and even hike up the dramatic hills for amazing views. Day tours start & finish from our hostel, cost £29 and can be booked at reception.(subject to availability) There are endless Cycling, Walking & Kayaking Routes literally on our doorstep. If you have your own bike or kayak with you it can be stored in our shed and we have bike wash facilities in our garden. If the weather catches you out, you can hire a pair of wellies and buy waterproof ponchos from reception. The hostel reception is open from 7am - 12 noon and then from 5pm - 10pm. If you arrive in the afternoon feel free to leave your bags, help yourselves to a cup of tea and we will check you in between 5pm-10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to Skye and to our cosy wee hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Skye Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skye Backpackers Hostel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skye Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.