We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Avoided” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Arms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Street, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Avoided”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Arrived to be greated with if you want an evening meal you will nead to book now as we have a coach trip coming in! (The hotel does appear to cater for these as we were told later there could be three or more in the building at once. Foyer all right nice fire in the corner, into corridor leading to rooms, over whelming smell of cig smoke, backdoor to carpark wedged open so all the smoke from smoking customers blows back into the premises. Upstairs, into corridor large wooden cupboard on wall at head hight fight passed this with luggage, into room lock takes a bit of doing, What a bedroom, new curtains and deccent hair drier, thread bare carpet, chunk of mirror missing, bedhead with shoul have two bedside tables one side cut off to leave access to bathroom, windowsill pooling condensation and insects, eventually brute force and ignorance opens this a few inches, bathrooms winow will not open at all and no ventilation and God do we nead some from the small of disinfectant, bathroom so small not even a loo roll holder they have to be balanced on the cistren. Tea and Coffee making facilities OK. View from widow, grey walls cars and dirty net curtains of staff accomodation. Need a drink after this - oops lounge bar doesn't open till after 6pm head for public bar, Get to public bar through various corridors - by we thought the smell of disinfectant in our room was bad, eyes were nearly running as we jetted past the public toilets, reached the bar to find a table already taken, a snooker tables and some seats at the bar, ordered our drinks, barman suggest to another member of staff that it would be good to open the lounge bar so we went through there. Better but cold as the witches proverbial not even a stuffed head on the wall to break up the room. Went for dinner much better staff great food adequate, breakfast the same

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    41
    64
    72
    99
See reviews for
42
120
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Booked this hotel through Booking.com so we don't pay until we get there. The fact that the hotel debited my credit card 2 days before we arrived, was against Booking.com's agreement. Sent an email asking why and when we got to the hotel the receptionist Avanka was the most objectionable person ever to be on reception. Said it was the hotels policy if the bill is over £300 then they debit before the guest arrives. I couldn't get a word in edge ways, she just kept talking over me and saying "well we have refunded your money now, so how do you want to pay", and again she said it, in the end I just gave her my debit card. If she smiled she would have cracked her face.
The other staff however were friendly, especially Sam and Adrianne, always had a hello and a smile and very helpful.
The hotel as a whole could do with some TLC, if it had a spruce up it would be lovely.
The beds were clean and the room clean and tidy although a bit basic. Shower pressure dreadful but could just about use it.
Breakfast was good, especially the porridge, it was proper creamy porridge. The veg in the evening meal was frozen and reheated up not very successfully, as were the mushy peas with the fish and chips, Luke warm.
The view from this hotel at the front is fantastic, looking out towards the Kyle of Lochalsh and the Skye Bridge, view from the back not so fantastic. Wood on the Velux windows could do with a clean and a paint, very grubby.
We would stay at this hotel again as the cost was very reasonable and as we always say, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Kings Arms Hotel.The view as you walk out in the morning is stunning (especially if it is not raining).The staff here are very welcoming and helpful but the hotel could do with a little TLC.It would not take a lot for this place to be so much better.The water pressure obviously causes problems in some of the bathrooms and to get water to flow in the bathroom is a miracle.It is such a shame that so much maintenance is required.The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the food is acceptable-all vegatables are frozen but the meat is fine.The hotel has the most convincing gas fire that I have ever seen and it took me 2 days to realise that the same log had been burning all of that time.
We did enjoy our stay and feel that a renovation would pay dividends in no time.

Room Tip: Make sure that you close the curtains when changing as most rooms have very little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel has seen better times, but it's location is stunning with lovely views. The staff were welcoming and very helpful, even organising a packed lunch for us because we were leaving too early for breakfast. Our room was clean and comfortable enough for the one night we were staying. The dinner menu was limited and the food basic, but the fish and chips was edible even with the cold mushy peas. I wouldn't choose it for a week's holiday, but it was fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great welcome at reception, stunning location & roaring fire. Bedroom comfortable, best nights sleep in a long time. Shower great too. Lovely sea view. Staff all friendly & obliging, nothing to much trouble. Definately going back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Looks quite shabby from the outside & the car park is very small. Carpets throughout the place are thread bare. The double room was cramped. The bathroom window wasn't even frosted glass & when I pulled across the curtain the rail had been just balancing on the brackets & fell on top of me! Our half toilet roll had been taken (by the cleaner I guess) & not replaced & I had to get reception to bring one to us. Over sink mirror had electric wires hanging from it, pedal bin fell apart when I used it, I honestly felt like the room had been set up & expected Ahidden camera crew to burst in at any time. The shower was just a pathetic dribble -struggled to wash the shampoo out of my hair. Breakfast could have been warmer & the final straw was finding a long black hair in my grapefruit (all our party are either blonde or grey haired) so knew it must be from the staff- absolutely disgusted by the place. I guess the owners know they haven't got to try too hard to impress guests as there is really no competition for custom & cash in on the location of hotel. Entire building needs total refurb, was definitely NOT worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, if you want value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vianen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a fine location next to the bridge of Skye.
We visited Kyleakin on a Wednesday, the small village was almost a ghost town.

Hotel room was small, but ok. The bathroom was partly renewed, some places had some rust. Breakfast was just a very basic hotel breakfast. Everything pre-cooked, the fried eggs where poached and than fried for 5 sec. or something.

There probably better places for around the same money.

Saucy Mary's pub down the road has free wifi and a pleasant atmosphere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: King Street, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Skye Bridge in the village of Kyleakin; the Kings Arms Hotel offers views across the Kyle of Lochalsh to the mainland. The Kings Arms is one of the oldest remaining hotels on the island dating back to the 1600s, and has retained its traditional Scottish atmosphere of great hospitality and warmth. All rooms are en suite and provide home from home comforts. The Hotel offers the ideal location from which to tour the Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Kyleakin
Hotel Kings Arms
Kings Arms Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.