We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not consider staying here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Arms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Street, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Do not consider staying here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Before I comment I must say the staff couldn't be better so polite efficent and mannerly except for one female on reception who when we were taking our bags to the coach shouted KEYS no excuse me don't forget to leave your key her manor was shocking. We stayed in rooms 110 and 109 my Fathers room was smelly the shower and toilet he didn't use at all as both room ensuites were of sub standard condition the rooms themselves were in a very worn condition with wallpaper starting to peel wires visible our television was partly mounted over the dressing table mirror one side of the curtains torn the other side covering a brick wall in an attempt to make the wall look ok ! The ensuite in 110 has a shower screen on the bath but no shower ! There are several holes in the walls and bracket obviously now redundent no light for the dressing table which was the least of my worries holes in the window framework. The food was totally tasteless,breakfast I had poached egg which was still raw inside blackpudding which certainly had a lot to live up to after having Stornoway black pudding in my previous hotels, could go on forever. However you will have gathered by now I won't be back and will also be complaining to my tour operator for puting us in there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank your taking you time to pass on your comments after your recent stay .On your departure coaches departure a lot of guests were walking out the door with the keys the lasy on reception was just requesting keys to be handed in as everyone is leaving as you will appreciate that if people go off with the keys we have a problem with the next coaches arriving so we have to be vigilant.
The new television are on mobile mountings so they can be moved away from the mirrors when required you have commented that in room 110 there was a bath a shower screen but in this room it is a walk in shower !We received no other complaints from anyone else from the coach operator about the rooms or about breakfast. We are sorry we did not meet your requirements on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    60
    71
    98
See reviews for
41
119
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glencoe Village, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a great 2 night stay at the Kings Arms,Robert and his staff were great from the off, and went out of their way to make sure I was looked after. My room was cleaned to a good standard and the food was good quality. The lovely girl on reception was very accommodating as I needed a bit of direction at times and she was always helpful and smiling. Having read previous reviews I can't understand what people are expecting from a hotel, as this did exactly what it said on the tin!!,try for yourself, I will be back ,thanks to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from a Dodd's coach trip for one night with 26 of the girls from work to celebrate my impending retirement. This hotel is fantastic value for money. They accommodated our room requests ie. twin/triple rooms, which were all spotless, showers working and recently refurbished.
Dinner on the Saturday night was an excellent 3 course meal, with 3 choices and breakfast was a full Scottish breakfast with cereal, porridge, juice etc.
Breathtaking views from the front of the hotel, shame about the midgies!!
I can only assume the people who have posted negative reviews were unlucky with their rooms.
The staff were very pleasant, helpful and efficient.
PS this is my husband's e-mail address, he wasn't at the girlie weekend!

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments after your recent stay I’m glad your party enjoyed the retirement party and enjoyed the entertainment on the evening.
We are going through a refurbishment at the moment and new bed’s ,television and flooring in bathrooms in place and a number of the bedrooms now have new showers installed these will be finished in the coming weeks along with other internal refurbishments and on the ground floor new carpets and furniture are in place in the public area’s.
Once again thank you for leaving this positive review and I will pass your comments onto our team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a 2 night break just two days ago. After driving for 5 hours to get there we arrived about half 2. On walking in the door we never even got to the reception desk when the blonde receptionist lifted her head and snapped "Rooms are not ready!!!" What an astonishing "welcome" for your visitors!!! No - hello I'm sorry or anything like it - it was curt and downright rude! On getting our key later we opened our door to a rank damp smell. The room was in some state of disrepair with paper peeling off the walls, the bathroom curtains had black mould growing on them and there was a large damp patch in the corner. The bedding, towels and everything was damp and the smell just didn't go away. We ventured into the bar and were charged 4.35 for a single brandy. I never paid this in the Hilton!!! The only redeeming feature about this "hotel" was the lovely dark haired young lady who served us breakfast on the first morning, who couldn't have been more professional and pleasant. If this is what our foreign visitors are experiencing then be ashamed Kings Arms and smarten up your act!! We thought we had stayed in some bad places but this takes the biscuit. We could forgive a lot - but the so called "welcome" is the worst treatment we have ever received. Your receptionist may be better employed washing dishes away from the customers!! Be ashamed - be very ashamed!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Please be assured that we take all comments seriously at the hotel and thank for taking your time to leave your comments. Unfortunately we have a very short window from people checking out and people checking in with checkout at 11am and check in at 3 p.m so all guests are informed that they cannot check in until 3p.m.The smell you will be referring to would be the sea which would be the seaweed on the beach which we are not in control of the towels and bedding are from contracted operators nationally and are not laundered on site so would not be wet. In the bar you have commented that you were charged £4.35 for a single brandy in fact a double brandy was ordered and you were charged £4.70 which I was able to check via the barman and the till roll on the day in question. I am glad that the restaurant staff looked after you whilst in the restaurant and have passed your comments onto the team. Once again thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a quaint hotel full of character, very reasonably priced we went on a coach trip. Yes it
may not be the smartest hotel stayed at, but it is something special. Our trip was very good value and the food was good wholesome scottish food, and breakfast was great. The views are to die for

Room Tip: Phone prior to traveling to check your room suitable, not all rooms have showers some have baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for us. I am delighted that your stay was so enjoyable and your kind comments will be shared with the team. I do hope we have the great pleasure of welcoming you back soon. With kind regards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Run down, smelly, worn out showers not functional and controls hanging from wall. The best thing that could happen to this place would be a stick of Dynamite! We were not able to check in when we arrived but they put our bags in the room later in the day while we were away, Upon arriving later that night and found no shower and run down room we asked the manager what opyions he could give us but a shrug of the shoulder was all we got. STAY AWAY....STAY AWAY, avoid at all costs, go some where else, sleep in your car

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for recent comments after your recent stay at the hotel we are currently installing new showers in the hotel and some rooms still only have a bath tub I did inform you at the time the hotel was full and that there was no options to do anything else for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skegness
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

interior decor shabby food inedibal sack the chef beef only fit for the sole of shoe scotch broth pale tasteless porridge think they forgot to take porridge out before putting soup in could not get in bath as shower screen in way shower not fitted only good thing it had lift public bar a disgrace the company really does need to upgarade all areas poor value for money would not recommend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments we take all our customer comments seriously there is a planned investment programme in place in the hotel .I am sorry that the food was not to your taste but we generally do not get food complaints as we feed around a thousand people a week in the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: King Street, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Skye Bridge in the village of Kyleakin; the Kings Arms Hotel offers views across the Kyle of Lochalsh to the mainland. The Kings Arms is one of the oldest remaining hotels on the island dating back to the 1600s, and has retained its traditional Scottish atmosphere of great hospitality and warmth. All rooms are en suite and provide home from home comforts. The Hotel offers the ideal location from which to tour the Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Kyleakin
Hotel Kings Arms
Kings Arms Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.