We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B & B in Dunvegan near castle and close to 3 chimneys restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl House Hotel

Atholl House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atholl House Hotel to your Saves list
Atholl House Hotel
Dunvegan IV55 8WA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Dunvegan B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice B & B in Dunvegan near castle and close to 3 chimneys restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a spacious, well appointed, comfortable room. There is good off st parking. Our charming landlady has only had the establishment for three or so years. She told us she only opens from Easter for 6 or 7 months
Breakfast was excellent
An excellent place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savigny-Sur-Orge, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have experienced with my parents one night in Atholl House Hotel, Dunvegan on July 20. That place is simply great. Its location in Skye island is perfect to discover the neighbourhood. The house is splendid, very clean, very cosy, arranged in a pretty good taste. We have been welcomed warmfully. The breakfast is very tasty.
In few words: a place to discover and to stay!! (I intend to)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a beautiful way of exploring the island. We really enjoyed our stay with Peggy and her staff. The room was beautiful with all the things you might need. Peggy treated us like family! We will definitely return for another visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

So beautiful place to stay at and enjoy the warm & comfortable spirit and ambiance of wonderful Scotland. Very kind staff attitude makes you feel so comfortable as at home. So lovely place to come back! Many thanks for hospitality

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was easy to find..it is just next to the post office..

it was clean and comfortable..Peggy and her staff was very friendly and helpful ... they made the trip very comfortable for us..The bedrooms we have stayed in have been very tastefully decorated...

No complaints whatsoever

We would certainly return there and have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends. First class.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at this bed and breakfast on a few occasions over the last 5 years since the current owners took over. I have to say that the above comments amaze me becasue we have found it to be a very comfortable, and lovely place to stay. The bedrooms we have stayed in have been very tastefully decorated ( not a cuddly toy in sight!!) and the lady owner very warm and friendly. The service was faultless, she even helped us with onward travel and entertained us in the evening in the lounge/bar area. Breakfast was very nice and extremly well cooked, served by lovely staff. Rooms were cleaned to perfection - I could not find a single fault, will definately be back next year.

Room Tip: Dont listen to the rubbish comments- and ask for room 1, 4 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wish I'd read Tripadvisor before booking. We had two nights in a superior room - all I can say is, glad we hadn't opted for a standard room!
Double bed was very small, ensuite was even smaller! If you suffer from claustrophobia, you would not want to use the shower. The room decor itself was in very poor and very dated taste. It was also extremely cold when we checked in as radiator was not switched on until we arrived.
It was just sadly lacking and a little tired. Definitely not worth the money.
Plus point - good location for visiting Dunvegan Castle and Coral beaches and the top half of the island, but, wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: If you see one you like on the website, request it specifically. Note all rooms are shower ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atholl House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl House Hotel

Address: Dunvegan IV55 8WA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Dunvegan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunvegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Atholl House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl House Hotel Dunvegan, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholl House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.