We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like home...great place to stay..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl House

Atholl House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atholl House to your Saves list
Atholl House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Main Street, Dunvegan IV55 8WA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Dunvegan B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“just like home...great place to stay..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was easy to find..it is just next to the post office..

it was clean and comfortable..Peggy and her staff was very friendly and helpful ... they made the trip very comfortable for us..The bedrooms we have stayed in have been very tastefully decorated...

No complaints whatsoever

We would certainly return there and have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends. First class.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at this bed and breakfast on a few occasions over the last 5 years since the current owners took over. I have to say that the above comments amaze me becasue we have found it to be a very comfortable, and lovely place to stay. The bedrooms we have stayed in have been very tastefully decorated ( not a cuddly toy in sight!!) and the lady owner very warm and friendly. The service was faultless, she even helped us with onward travel and entertained us in the evening in the lounge/bar area. Breakfast was very nice and extremly well cooked, served by lovely staff. Rooms were cleaned to perfection - I could not find a single fault, will definately be back next year.

Room Tip: Dont listen to the rubbish comments- and ask for room 1, 4 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wish I'd read Tripadvisor before booking. We had two nights in a superior room - all I can say is, glad we hadn't opted for a standard room!
Double bed was very small, ensuite was even smaller! If you suffer from claustrophobia, you would not want to use the shower. The room decor itself was in very poor and very dated taste. It was also extremely cold when we checked in as radiator was not switched on until we arrived.
It was just sadly lacking and a little tired. Definitely not worth the money.
Plus point - good location for visiting Dunvegan Castle and Coral beaches and the top half of the island, but, wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: If you see one you like on the website, request it specifically. Note all rooms are shower ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Because of my chosen Dunvegan Hotel being booked up at the end of my solo motorcycling day; I was directed to try this hotel.
I had occasion to use this hotel in the past, and I had a good reception from Tam the owner who took the trouble to rustle up some warming broth for my supper and then spent the evening chatting about travel and bikes. That was really good treatment, and I left contented.
But this time I was greeted by a surly female who told me that the room would cost £100 for the night,I thought that was a bit too expensive but was unable to look elsewhere that night so I grudgingly agreed to take the room which I can only describe as a females boudour, with fluffy toys and cushions all over the bed and furniture, plus the wardrobes were full of ladies clothes so this was somebody's bedroom!!
I then went to ask what time breakfast was, and was told that breakfast was not available and the cost was just for the room.
What a syndical rip off for a guest traveller.
ADVICE. ..before visiting the town check the availability of all OTHER Accomodation in the town and only if you have absolutely no other choise book this.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a lovely room next to the reception area. The room was very neat and although the bed wasn't very big we had a good nights sleep . The only problem we had was the size of the room. We had 2 large suitcases and there was not much moving space. The bathroom was also a bit small but the water was hot and we could have a hot shower. Breakfast was very nice and it was served piping hot.The interior of the house was also lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The most memorable thing about this place was the complete lack of any welcome or warmth and a prevailing atmosphere of restrictions and meanness. We arrived and were 'greeted' by the landlady who gave us our keys and forms to complete about our breakfast requirements. We were told to make selections from one section only (not all three as some people have done in the past) and to state what time (between 8 and 9 on Sunday morning) we wanted breakfast, we were then shown to our room and that was the last we saw of her until we checked out.

Our room, advertised as superior, was newly decorated and clean but not particularly large. The provision of tea/coffee was mean (enough milk for one drink each and no biscuits) compared to other places that we stayed on our tour of Scotland and given the price that we paid (the most expensive), ditto the toiletries. There was a sign posted on the shower room door advising of a £120 fine that would be imposed if the smell of smoking were detected in the room and when we looked at the breakfast menus they advised of a supplement if you selected a fish breakfast.

Later in the afternoon we tried to find somebody to ask for a restaurant recommendation for dinner but the place seemed to be completely deserted so we had to ask a local man filling his car at the garage (incidentally, his suggestion of the Old School House restaurant just a few doors from Atholl House turned out to be excellent - some of the best food we had in Scotland and really good service). On our return to the hotel, at around 9.45, again there was nobody at the reception desk, we put our heads around the door of the bar/lounge and the lights were all off with nobody to be seen - and this was a Saturday night!!

Breakfast the next morning was served in a pleasant conservatory by a friendly girl and was ok but small (served on dessert plates). As we left the landlady appeared to collect money and keys and we were left with the feeling that she would be making a swift visit to the room to sniff for smoke and impose the stated fine if necessary.

In general well maintained accommodation, functional but not welcoming and very poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This B&B was a disappointment to us. It looked nice from the outside and its interior was also quite promising. However, it was one of the most expensive B&Bs we stayed in, which was unfortunately coupled with the worst night of sleep we had. Beds were small, too lumpy, and the springs creaked with every move. The toilet was also the smallest we have seen. Amenities were ok but basic. Service could be improved as it lacked the warmth that we have received in the other Scotland B&Bs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atholl House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl House

Address: Main Street, Dunvegan IV55 8WA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Dunvegan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dunvegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl House, now under new management. Located in Dunvegan on the enchanted Isle of Skye. We have eight en suite bedrooms (one twin room, one family room (double bed and one single bed), three standard double bedrooms and three superior double bedrooms. Rate includes full Highland breakfast or continental options. Perfectly located for touring the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Atholl House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl House Dunvegan, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholl House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.