We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colbost
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms
Save
You added Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Colbost, Colbost IV55 8ZT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Colbost B&B and Inns
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Still perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is the second time we have been here and there seems to be a need to get a few things straight. Some people have the strange idea that they should try to find fault with this place. Firstly I thought they must either have been somewhere else or that they had some personality defect. Then I felt sorry for them. They have missed out on feeling relaxed and that everything is OK with the world. Eventually I realised that they are the sort of people who can't interact with the staff to get the best result. If you haven't had the menu within 10 minutes and this upsets you then ask for it. As the advert says 'Simples'.
The attention is fantastic. From the moment of arrival we were made welcome. The tea and cake was just right. The room was spotless and we felt special.
The meal was excellent. The staff were attentive and made good suggestions. We were urged to try things we had never had before; they were good. The extra little bites were surprising and exciting. The food looked stunning and tasted even better. Time flowed by and there was no rush.
At the end of the meal we left the restaurant feeling that we had had an evening of entertainment; feeling full but not overfed.
This place is fantastic. Perhaps it is good that it gets no more awards, just leave it for those of us who think its is great. Those who want to criticise and nit pick should go somewhere else, preferably several hundred miles away, they just don't deserve what's on offer here. They should read Shirley Spears book, realise how crass they are and apologise to the staff for their comments.
Michael Smith's cooking is intelligent and witty with constant changes to adapt to what is available; with proper response to the seasons. This could only be done to this standard somewhere like Skye.

Room Tip: All of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
passionatescot, Owner at Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Tinbumnorthwales,

My ears are burning now! Another brilliant review, from lovely guests. Thank you very much indeed for writing and for saying it "how it is". As this was a return visit, I hope you will come again and again and more than this - I hope that The Three Chimneys will continue to live-up to your high expectations for many more years to come.

Thank you again, very much.

SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    45
    23
    25
    20
See reviews for
35
230
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The restaurant here is outstanding - the best we have ever been to around the world - very fresh ingredients prepared to perfection. Very romantic setting. The rooms "over by" are very clean with amazing views - don't go thinking you're going to hotel du vin type of hotel - you'll be missing the point. This is a fantastic restaurant with rooms attached in a beautiful setting. The staff are attentive, and nice touches like home made scones and tablet when you arrive. Just go - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
passionatescot, Owner at Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear armchairtravellers,

This is such a great review, I am left speechless for once! Wow! Thank you very much for writing. To be described in such glowing terms is wonderful for every member of the team at The Three Chimneys and The House Over-By. I am delighted that you loved it here. Please come again one day.

Thank you again.

SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhu, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011 via mobile

Fortune favours the bold. We travelled by car from Glasgow in 5 hours, a fantastic journey, to be welcomed by a friendly and caring staff. Our rooms were spectacular, warm an perfect. We dined twice during our 2 days stay. Dinner was professionally presented and satisfying.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
passionatescot, Owner at Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Docdos,

I remember you and your lovely party very well. Your thumbnail picture, gives you away! Thank you for writing such a charming review of your adventrue trip to the Isle of Skye. It is most kind of you to take the time to write and share your memories with other readers. Your wife also left super comments in our visitors' book. I would like to say thank you for her kind words too.

The journey never seems so far, the second time around, so I hope that you may come again and enjoy another visit to this part of Scotland. Perhaps so more family research will be a driving factor?

SS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is one of the most picturesque locations in Skye, which is one of the most picturesque in all of Scotland. A great restaurant, with marvelous rooms and service. Well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the nicest view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreside, Owner at Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Michael L,

This is a short and concise report, but brilliant! I like to think that this sums us up perfectly - although I know that other visitors may not feel the same!! However, many thanks indeed for taking the time to post these few, perfect words. You are a long way from the Isle of Skye, but Scotland and Skye will always welcome you if you plan a return trip in the future.

Best wishes,

SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south queensferry
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We had planned this trip for quite a while as it was to be a special treat for my husband's birthday. What a treat it was. From the wonderful 7 course sampler menu to the very attentive staff made this a wonderful experience. We had the delight to stay a night in the House over By. The room had plenty of space with the split level making a separate relaxation area and sleeping area. Everything you could need was available. The staff throughout were very friendly and nothing was an issue. The sampler menu and the complimenting wines was excellent. Even though we were struggling by the time we got to the meat course nothing would stop us having the marmalade souffle. As we had the sampler menu we couldn't do breakfast justice the next morning, which was a shame as everything did look lovely. A delight to be able to take the freshly baked scones and muffins with us for our long journey home. The whole atmosphere is relaxing and welcoming. We will return hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreside, Owner at Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Hello to theandrews031.

Thank you very much for posting this spendid review of your trip to Skye and your experience here at The Three Chimneys & The House Over-By. It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback, particularly when our guests have travelled here to mark a special occasion. This happens quite a lot, so we know how important it is to look after everyone and aim to please at all times. You are not too far away to make a return visit one day, so we all hope that you do so, perhaps at a different time of the year, when you can see the Highlands and Islands in a different season.

Thank you again for posting your thoughts. They are much appreciated.

SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and our 10 week old daughter spent our wedding night at the Three Chimneys and stayed at their 'house over by' next door. The accomodation is superb with Loch views, the room had the sort of measured opulence you dream of for a special occassion. we dined at the restaurant two nights in a row, the reception at the House Over By offered a baby listening service so we could go and work our way through the tasting menu in the knoweldge our sprog was OK. the food was uncomplicated and hummed with freshness, the Langostine, much raved of by diners here, really were as good as they come, local lamb was delicious, puddings were of the lick your bowl clean variety and the wine list was easy to match with the food without having to take out a second mortgage, including some cracking half bottles. if you get to stay at the House Over By, which we would reccomend, the breakfast is worth travelling 700 miles by train for, and one to set a good hour aside for whilst watching seals playing in the loch outside the window. I can see many returns to the three chimneys over the coming years, the restaurant and rooms and the surrounding countryside are a delight.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreside, Owner at Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear William F,

I asked for this review to be moved to the Hotels section from the Restaurant section, as we you mention your stay with us in The House Over-By, as well as your memorable meal in The Three Chimneys. As this was such a very special occasion for you and your wife and family, I am absolutely delighted that you had such a lovely time ad that the memories will live with you for ever. Please come back again - perhaps an aniversary visit? I hope so! We would all love to welcome you back again in the future.

SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Friends had recommended the Three Chimneys as a great getaway, and we were not disappointed. We spent 4 days and three nights there, enjoying innovative food (even for breakfast-try the porridge with malt whisky-you will not be disappointed), a great wine list that was not overpriced, as well as very friendly and attentive service (I fell ill the first night and the staff could not have been more gracious to try to help). A definite place to return to

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
passionatescot, Owner at Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for writing to TripAdvisor with this very kind review of your 3-night stay with us. We are all delighted that you left us with such good memories of a great experience and that you hope to be back again one day. We all hope that you do return and look forward to giving you a warm welcome back.
SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms

Address: 1 Colbost, Colbost IV55 8ZT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Colbost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Colbost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Chimneys and The House Over-By is a 5-Star Restaurant with Rooms in a stunning, remote location beside the sea in the northwest corner of the Isle of Skye, Scotland. Colbost is situated on the shores of Loch Dunvegan, a wide sea loch that opens into The Minch, the narrow stretch of sea between Skye and the Outer Hebrides. The views are stunning whatever the time of year. The Three Chimneys is one of Scotland's most famous restaurants, specialising in the freshest local produce including wonderful seafood from the immediate coastal waters. Chef/Director Michael Smith is well-known for his passion for Scottish ingredients, cooked simply to allow the flavours to sing for themselves. Providing very skillful, professional, but friendly and welcoming service at all times is what the team strives to achieve. Standards of cleanliness and comfort in the bedroom suites in The House Over-By are meticulous. The rooms have wonderful sea views and breakfasts are served in the Morning Room with its panorama across the loch, where seals can be seen clearly on frequent occasions. Eddie and Shirley Spear have owned the business for 30 years and remain pro-active within their business daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms
Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Colbost
Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms Scotland/Isle Of Skye - Colbost

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.