We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broadford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Broadford Hotel to your Saves list
Broadford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torrin Road | Isle of Skye, Broadford IV49 9AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We visited the Broadford Hotel on Sat 17th and Sunday 18th November, and we were so pleasantly surprised. We got a great welcome from the manager and got a lovely, large, warm and clean room (28). The decor was boutique style and fresh. What a difference from our previous visit before it's refurb.
The breakfast menu was brilliant - the kind of menu that you choose what you want that day and already know what you want to have the next day. Home made tattie scones, mmmmmm fabulous!
It's a shame that the dining room is closed during the winter season, but the menu in the bar was perfectly fine, and not just the run of the mill either.
All the staff were helpful and friendly - especially Tom who seemed to work everywhere!
All in all a great experience and we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 28 overlooks the front of the hotel, nice wee seated area for tv, big bedroom, comfy bed, spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we were interested to hear that you visited the Broadford before the refurb too, I hope that you approve of what we have done. Tom is delighted with your comments, and is glad you noticed that he works everywhere! We do hope that you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    68
    34
    22
    6
See reviews for
31
113
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Unexpectedly turned up at the hotel to meet a colleague and the receptionist was very accommodating.

Arranged to return the following day for lunch and again was given good service.

We did forget to pay for coffees before we went next door to eat so have asked colleague who lives close by to pop in and pay the bill asap - sorry

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, we were glad to hear that you returned the following day for lunch – please don’t fret about your coffee, hopefully we will see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had my birthday in skye with family, great hills and fantastic people !! the broadford hotel was very relaxing and Kenny and the staff were very friendly and helpful and the locals were very
chatty ! good beer and the food was fantastic! thanks for a good time ! be back soon

Gary / Clare

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Gary/Clare – we are so glad you chose to celebrate your birthday with us and on Skye! Looking forward very much to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardnamurchan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Decent rooms, reasonably quiet - apart from when local diners decide to yak at the front door which is under the bedroom windows. Day 1 shower did not produce hot water - ever - so I just froze and went for it as I had to get out to work. Mentioning this when I came back I was told that it was the pipes in the old building and the water needs to run for 30 mins for the hot to come through. Day 2 - beat the system turn on the water and snooze. Hey hey - cold water. I mentioned this to the lady who was on breakfast duty who gave me the initial advice - well I think we should change you to a different room but we will get that tap looked at. On arrival back at the hotel on day 2 I spoke to a youngish guy heading for the kitchen. " Oh what time do you need the water to be hot for and I will just set the timer to come on earlier for you - nae problem mate ". Breakfast minimalist regime - coffee a la ration, one small cup. Restaurant meal was poor - staff were polite and helpful. It is very very pricey - more so than most other mainland hotels and one would expect good hot water for that - at least!
Daft thing is - it wouldn't take much at all to keep people happy.
There is an excellent little Spanish resaturant to eat in about half a mile away!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: top floor and south side as others have mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, and for your comments regarding your stay in the Broadford Hotel.

I am very sorry that your stay did not match up to your expectations and that you felt that there was a shortage of hot water. We had a new boiler system installed three years ago but because of planning restraints is situated approximately 50 yards from the back of the hotel however, does supply plentiful hot water. If guests require water in the early morning or late afternoon when usage is very low and therefore the water in the pipes have cooled, we do recommend that the bath is run for 8-10 minutes to pull through the hot water. This is clearly outlined in the guest directory and has not proven to be a problem in the past.

I also regret to hear that you were disturbed by diners outside the hotel, unfortunately our guests do venture outside, I am surprised that you were able to hear them so clearly from your second floor room!

With regard to our meals being 'very very pricey', we feel that the following prices for example, Sea Bass £11.95; Fresh Langoustines £16.95 and 8oz Sirloin Steak £18.95 (including peppercorn sauce), are priced very competitively compared to similar established on Skye, the mainland and particularly compared to establishments in your own area.

I do however very much hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel when next on business or indeed pleasure in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel (thankfully) but did pop in for a bite to eat whilst in the area. I have never been so badly treated and couldn't find anywhere to comment on the restaurant so am having to do it on the hotel section. The woman at the bar was almost furious that we walked through the door. She barely looked at us and told us we couldn't possible eat because she had so many bookings that night. But made no effort to look at what the timings were and whether she could fit us in quickly. A family did leave but she grumbled about clearing the table so we walked out. I would have given it 0 stars if it was possible. Rude, rude, rude.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am extremely disappointed that you might have encountered this service at the Broadford Hotel and would be grateful if you could give me some details with regard the date of your visit and description/age of the lady concerned you allow us to fully investigate this event .

I am particularly intent in clarifying these details as the staff in the hotel are shocked at this review, as are the management. There are some details that don't add up and the feeling amongst some of our team is that this might relate to another hotel in the village. The two elements that we are puzzled about are that the restaurant in the hotel has been closed for a couple of weeks and we do not ever take bookings for bar meals. Also we have not had one night in the restaurant in the four weeks prior to it closing for the winter when all the tables were occupied.

I would greatly appreciate if you could clarify these queries and hope that there has been a misunderstanding with regard the hotels, if however this is not the case then please accept my sincere apologies and be assured that with your assistance we will deal with the offending member of staff and reiterate the huge focus that we place on customer service at all times in the MacLeod Hotel Group. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was comfortable and warm (I feel the cold). The bathroom/toilet were big and clean. Breakfast was great with lots to choose from and very filling. The only negative from breakfast would be the scrambled egg, it was a little too on the creamy side. I would stay again as the location is great for staying on Skye and easy to get to different areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed our accommodation and service and breakfast despite the scrambled egg being too creamy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights in October. Rooms are clean and reasonably well appointed. Maybe the time of year but hotel lacked warmth. Not in the heating sense but as regards atmosphere. Food was excellent however. I had top quality langoustines at dinner. Bar next door lacks atmosphere as well. Staff were friendly enough but again seemed to be tired at end of long season.
I would probably try somewhere else if I ever go back to Skye.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your food.

I do know that during the quieter times of the year, the Bar can be quiet and therefore lack a busy, bustling bar atmosphere. It may be better to sample Skye during July and August when the bars are full of people and banter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadford Hotel

Address: Torrin Road | Isle of Skye, Broadford IV49 9AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadford Hotel is situated in the centre of the Isle of Skye overlooking Broadford Bay. The Hotel (established in 1611) has been completely refurbished and offers excellent food and quality accommodation. There is Free Wifi Internet access throughout the Hotel and ample free parking.Broadford Hotel is the 'Original Home of Drambuie', where the liquor was first made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Broadford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadford Hotel Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.