We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - Host and Rooms couldn't ask for more - famdabydosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benview

Benview
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benview
Save
You added Benview to your Saves list
6 Black Park, Broadford, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Broadford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B - Host and Rooms couldn't ask for more - famdabydosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our family of 4 (kids 15 & 13) are visiting Scotland from Australia and staying on Skye for a couple of days, after having last visited 19 years before kids. Norma's hospitality and warm heart made it a memorable return to an island with happy memories.

Before arriving Norma was fantastic with emailing us suggestion for travelling over either via Mallaig ferry or Skye Bridge (we did both, Mallaig ferry first and Skye bridge leaving - do both as the views on both routes are what people come to Scotland for).

Norma even went to the trouble of asking what the kids would like for breakfast, as it was their first time experiencing a B&B - suffice to say they loved it and would have no hesitation doing it again. She was a great fountain of knowledge regarding where to go on the island, be that food, shopping (there's a great jeweller's in Broadford), and even the best routes to take when touring to see the sights.

The B&B has 2 rooms (1 double, other twin), with both having en-suites. The rooms are a good size, nicely decorated (warm and cosy), and in tip-top condition. There is a sitting room that even has a fridge that can be used by the guests (nice touch to be able to keep wine, beer or soft drinks cold). They have Sky TV available for the sitting room (first time on our travels of Scotland that this was available). Also had free wi-fi, which is great for teenagers keeping in contact with their friends (a must nowadays). Breakfast was just what you would expect, homely and very filling (plenty of choices, with porridge, other cereals, full cooked breakfast, fresh fruit, yoghurts, etc.).

Would have no hesitation recommending Norma's B&B as we would definitely use her when visiting Skye again in the future.

Skye - great sights, great people, great B&B. Norma just epitomises what people come to Scotland for, warm hearted, friendly, helpful & welcoming hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Myself, my sister, my aunt and uncle had the pleasure of staying with Norma at Benview for one night on a recent trip to Skye. After finding the B&B (Norma very helpfully provided directions over the phone) we were greeted at the front door by Norma who was friendly and welcoming. The house was very clean and tidy and my aunt (who has limited mobility) was shown through to the lounge whilst the rest of us investigated our rooms. We had a double and a twin room, both ensuite. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, spotless and modern.

Norma was able to provide local information on restaurants, trips to take around the island and the best place to stop for a cup of tea. Our trip along the road to Elgol was eventful and stunning, and Norma revelled in our tales when we returned. The beds were comfy, TV and wi-fi access simple and the shower powerful, warm and clean!

Our breakfast was delicious, everything was spot on and we couldn't've asked for more. Norma opened her doors and arms to us and we thoroughly enjoyed our time with her. It was relaxed, friendly and we never felt like we were unwanted or not welcome.

My family and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Norma and Benview to any of our friends and family and we are already planning our next trip to Skye and using Norma (hopefully, dates and availability depending!) as our base!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed with my brother and a friend in early August as we were going on a walking holiday in Skye. Underestimating the distances in Scotland, we were a few hours late and Norma was very patient with us :)

She was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The rooms were immaculate, clean and facilities were absolutely spot on. All our needs were taken care of including the three different kinds of eggs, one for each person!!!

Would definitely recommend Benview and Norma's hospitality to anybody visiting Skye. Broadford is also a good base to explore the Isle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Benview and had an absolutely lovely time. Lovely rooms - very clean , all facilities , great breakfast and Norma was very helpful and hospitable. Also great base to tour the Isle of Skye especially if you live in the mainland Scotland. Lovely local restaurants and postcard view. We will be back very soon. JP Longmuir

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed with Norma for one night on 9th August 2012 ,wish we could have stayed a lot longer.We had a very enjoyable stay ,Beautiful house.Excellent breakfast ,fantastic good value all round ,cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view .Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was very leery of renting a such a small inn. My concerns were completely unfounded. The stay and accommodations were excellent. We stayed in the ensuite twin which had the largest closet we had in Scotland. Our room and the lounge were spotless. The location is prefect and has a wonderful view. The beds are quite comfortable. Norma's recommendations were very helpful and contributed greatly to a wonderful trip. We were hours early and she was completely prepared and gracious. You will be delighted if you pick this wonderful inn that is a great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in the guesthouse for two nights in July. Norma was very friendly and helpful.
The double en-suite room was modern, well decorated and clean. We had enough room and everything available we needed. There was tea and coffee making facilities and snacks. There was complimentary WiFi. There was also a lovely lounge area that we were free to use during our stay.
The breakfast was plentiful, with cooked breakfast and choices of cereal, bread, yogurt, fruit.
We traveled in Scotland for several days and this guesthouse was among my favourite to stay in.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benview

Address: 6 Black Park, Broadford, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Benview Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.