We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dunollie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dunollie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunollie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Broadford IV49 9AE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Broadford
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

we went to this hotel restaurant for our anniversary on tuesday 25th of september.i had emailed a few days before to book the table as it was a special occasion.table was booked for 6.30pm.when we got there they couldnt find our booking luckily there was a table up at the window as this what we booked.ordered the carvery three course.we got the soup to start wasnt bad a bit bland.husband got the salmon and i got steak pie.the salmon was stone cold and the steak pie was the same and a tiny portion that would hardly feed a mouse.complained to the waitress who had to get a manager waited nearly ten minutes for him to come as he had to go and check the food at the carvery.came over offered us something of the a la carte at same price as carvery main.husband got fish and chips which was same price.i got chicken balmoral.we were told it would be about ten minutes about nearly half an hour later i had to ask where the meals were.we could offered a free drink as my husband was driving he had a can of diet coke mine half pint of cider total 2.80.meals came salad with fish was soaking wet and brown the fish was swimming in grease.chicken balmoral was tiny with 3 potatoes two carrots and two pieces of cauliflower shocking portion size.we had waited so long and were so hungary we ate it.the waitress was good .she was doing all the apologising for the manager.all we got for the whole sorry epsiode was 2.80 worth of drinks.went upstairs and i compalined at the reception she never even lifted her head or looked at me.next day i sent an email with my complaint the restaurant manager told me the hotel manager was at a meeting and would froward it on.never heard anything back came back of holiday and sent the hotel manager an email to ask for her side of things again no reply..i gave them a chance to reply with an explanation and a proper apology still waiting.customer service isnt a priority here.our night was ruined it was supposed to be a special occasion.very quick to take your money but not quick to apoligise or sort things out.we were in that restaurant for two hours.shocking.wouldnt eat here again avoid at all costs

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Firstly, I sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced during your dining experience with us at the Dunollie. We do strive to offer consistently high levels of service and quality meals, however on this occasion I see that we failed to fulfil this. I will ensure that all of your comments are addressed with the Management team in order to complete further team training to avoid situations like this from arising in the future. Thank you for bringing the issues to my attention. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    87
    85
    76
    84
See reviews for
51
139
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Waited over 30 minutes in a queue after the computer system broke down, receptionist didn't have a clue. Booked double room but we're given a twin, rooms looked like they haven't been refurbished since the 80s. They should be paying you to stay here - AVOID!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
With regard to your recent tripadvisor feedback, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently in the process of refurbishing the Dunollie, and to date have taken delivery of new beds, new bedroom furniture and chairs, installed new flat screen televisions in all rooms, installed telephones in all rooms, fully refurbished our lounge and dining room with new carpets, furniture and curtains, and are in the process of re-carpeting our bedrooms. We still have work to complete over the quieter months including redecoration, however I am confident that the changes are noticeable. With regard to our staffing, I am surprised by your comments as to my knowledge we have not experienced any computer issues in recent months, and have only heard positive feedback about our reception team. I do apologise for any issues which you experienced during your stay, and would hope you could give the Dunollie a second chance to impress. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautiful location.

Staff, particularly in the restaurant, provided excellent service with tasty, filling breakfasts and good dinners. Room, though tired, was okay, the bed comfortable. The let down was the lack of hot water which was quite unbeleivable. How can you possibly invite guests when it seems that there is a great problem providing basic hot water?

I wouldn't necessarily rate our experience poor but it could have been better. What a shame about the water situation over 2 days.

Room Tip: Request a seaview. Check your bathroom for hot water when you arrive. Be aware that there is no li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is lovely to hear that you felt our team here at the Dunollie provided such excellent service and that you enjoyed the quality of our menu offering.
The issue you experienced regarding the hot water is not a common occurrence here at the hotel and I can assure you that we worked hard to rectify the problem as soon as was possible. I regret that this impacted on your stay and can only apologise for the inconvenience caused.
I hope this does not dissuade you from visiting us again at the Dunollie in the near future.
Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Dunollie this week while touring round Skye, our first visit to the island. Choosing a dog-friendly hotel can be difficult but from the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The bar area has recently been refurbished and is a wonderful welcoming place, with roaring fire, live local music and a great selection of drinks. We ate dinner in the bar several times and the food was excellent, well prepared & presented and good value. The waffles were particularly awesome! Breakfast was excellent, served overlooking the bay with stunning views, and the waiting staff were friendly and attentive. We will definitely return in the future and would thoroughly recommend the hotel for a holiday. The dining room / function suite overlooking the bay would make a beautiful location for a wedding too. All of us (including the dog) were made to feel very welcome at Dunollie, and our holiday on Skye was a marvellous break. Even the weather was good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic comments! It is lovely to hear such positive feedback and I will ensure that it is passed along to all of our team! We have worked extremely hard to move the hotel forward and I feel immensely proud to hear that you received such a warm and friendly welcome from our team and that you felt our food quality was so high. We would love to see you back in the future and will have some treats ready for the pup!
Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Staff were friefly and helpful. There is a very spacious reception, lounge and bar area. The dinners both nights were excellent. Waiters take orders for the entree and sweet and you help yourself from the buffet that has a good selection of mains. I was one of a tour group of 39.and I was fortunate to have a good corner room overlooking the bay, although a number of the tour group of 39 were disappointed with their rooms. Rooms are somewhat dated and from other rooms I saw, condition varies. I found the hotel to be clean and enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Dunollie and found our team here helpful and friendly. We would love to welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbernauld
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It is a Dump!
Avoid at all costs---give Scottish hospitality the worst reputaion----it may be under renoavtion---this is no excuse---closre until its completed----you'r erevenus steam may drop but your repiutation may JUST survive!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest
I sincerely apologise for the poor experience you feel you had with us during your stay here at the Dunollie. I can assure you that we are undergoing refurbishment, and as some of the previous reviews highlight we are making progress. However, this is an on-going process which is due for completion during the winter months. I regret that you did not find your stay enjoyable, and would hope to welcome you back once refurbishments are completed.
Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

They say that your experience at a hotel can be depicted by your check in, so certainly a big thumbs up for me. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were great with a terrific view to the water. A lovely little bar and you can walk round to the pub side if you want. As we had a hire car we didnt rely on public transport but its a great starting position to go towards Portree or further north, or to head to the other side including Torrin bay which is an amazing setting. When I come to Skye again I will stay here without thinking about it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest
It is great to hear such positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Dunollie on Skye. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to our team who will be delighted. We are extremely lucky with regard to our location – it is surely a view to remember! We hope to welcome you back to the Dunollie in the near future. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunollie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunollie Hotel

Address: Main Street, Broadford IV49 9AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunollie Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunollie Hotel is nestled on the edge of Broadford Bay is ideally situated in the centre of the village. The hotel is seated at the foot of Beinn na Caillich and Beinn nan Cran leading towards the famous Cuillin Hills allowing you to explore the area and its wildlife on countless walks and hikes. A home away from home, there are 84 en-suite bedrooms offering stunning panoramic sea views and the charming Torridon View Restaurant will satisfy the heartiest of appetites. Our friendly staff are always on hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Dunollie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunollie Hotel Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunollie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.