We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot in the most gorgeous part of the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broadford Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Broadford Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Broadford Backpackers Hostel
High Road, Broadford IV499AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh
1 review
“Lovely spot in the most gorgeous part of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and we loved it. The staff were really friendly and made us feel right at home. Its a very cosy hostel with good showers and comfy beds so great value all in all. Broadford is a quite spot but it is beautiful and its a great place to bass yourself for touring the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    11
    10
    8
See reviews for
8
18
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good hostel. The place is located in a quiet area and at night they dont have exterior lights, at first we thought the hostel was close... We arrived late and the staff was efecient. We didn´t pre-book a bed but we got a room with three beds. The place was clean and cozy. All the rooms had locks.The facilities were very good. Even though we only stayed for one night we recomend the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Was in a 6 bed room at this hostel. It is very run down from the outside, and also a little on the inside, not very great upkeep on the owners/managers part. The bed linen was quite dirty and looked just generally unhygienic . There was only one toilet working to be shared amongst roughly 12 rooms, each with at least 4 people in them.

The whole experience just generally wasn't great at this hostel. Found another one on skye for similar price and had a lovely pub next door, just down the road from the Talisker distillery!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Clean and confortable. There is a common living room with DVD, Wifi, tea and coffee machines,... The toilet and the showers are clean and good. There is also a dining room and a kitchen but I didn´t use it. Ten minutes walking from Broadford. Recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I booked it for four friends, and we got separate room, as i reached late after 12pm, still the arrangements was done nicely, the in house rep, also opened the kitchen for us, which was out of her duty, I appreciate the efforts and assistance i received from them, one of the best priced hostel near to co-op and main shops, ideal location for the skye explorer, good for relaxing and nice camp fire out side gives more pleasent time to party along, not recommended for family or elderly group.... carry mitches protection to avoid skin marks and high irritation!!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are good... depending the time of year u travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I was really looking forward to staying here. Received a good welcome. All was well until 1am when I was woken by car doors constantly slamming in the car park. The door slammers came in and started a noisy party accompanied by marching up and down the corridor and door slamming inside. I had to go out and sleep in my car. I will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

This may not be the most flash hostel in the world but I certainly had a very nice stay. I felt at home straight away, the staff and all the people were very friendly. There's a large selection of DVDs you can watch anytime in the lounge (however 'Braveheart' was missing!!), and there are two resident cats that love a cuddle. The bus stop was less than 3 minutes walk away and beautiful views across the water were about 5 minutes away. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadford Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadford Backpackers Hostel

Address: High Road, Broadford IV499AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is situated in the scenic village of Broadford ideally located for enjoying everything the Isle of Skye has to offer with access to public transport to get you all around the island and surrounding mainland. The hostel itself offers safe, clean and comfortable accommodation with a personal touch and we are always willing to do our best to meet any requirements that you may have. So whether you are going out to enjoy the sights or staying in to relax in our living room cuddled up with our cat we will try to make your experience of the Isle of Skye as wonderful as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Broadford Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadford Backpackers Hostel Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadford Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.