We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skye Picture House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skye Picture House
Save
You added Skye Picture House to your Saves list
Ard Dorch, Broadford IV49 9AJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Broadford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for one night in June during our visit to Skye. Upon arriving, we were initially blown away by the beauty of the location. The house sits on the banks of a loch where on a clear day you get a great view of some of the nearby mountains. We were promptly shown in by the proprietors who walked us through the common sitting room and then upstairs to our room. We had opted for the family room which gave us plenty of space and a superb view of the surrounding area. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well.

The proprietors were both very friendly giving us great suggestions for dinner and scenic routes of the island. The breakfast was very good with cold items left out to be taken as desired and hot items cooked to order. We're not big breakfast eaters so only sampled the toast and porridge, but were very satisfied with both.

One of the best features of the property was the balcony facing the loch. It was a little chilly during our visit, so we didn't make too much use of it, but we could definitely imagine how lovely it would be to spend some time out there on a warmer day. Also the sitting room is very inviting and is a nice place to spend some time before heading out to further explore the area.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Skye.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We enjoy helping people with information that will help them get the most out of their visit to Skye. Our location makes accessing all of the island very manageable. Hope to see you again one day!
Best wishes
Sarah and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    19
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
87
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Having traveled for 42 years and staying in small hotels, guest houses, and B&B(s), it is an absolute pleasure to write the most positive review ever! Sarah and Stuart were born to be in this profession. Not only are they genuinely friendly, go out of their way to be helpful (e.g., googling and printing out relevant bus schedules, times sites are open, etc.), the food is excellent--not just breakfast, but one is able to purchase food off a menu that changes every couple of days--including British desserts (sticky-toffee pudding, bread pudding, warm chocolate cake with sauce--I am drooling as I write this!!!), and the rooms are cozy and immaculate. I was most impressed with the types of people that Sarah and Stuart attract AND their breakfast/common room. The atmosphere is such, that one feels compelled to make use of this space to write in one's journal, read, pour over books on everything one can imagine, take photographs out of the picture windows, AND chat with fellow travelers AND S. and S. I spent five glorious days/nights at The Skye Picture House and am thinking of returning next June--to use this place as a start to visiting Harris and Lewis afterwards. There is a bus from the Glasgow Airport to this guest house--enroute to Uig. For anyone taveling using public transport, this is vital info.
I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

Room Tip: The single rooms are small, but cozy. Because the common room is SO conducive to put it to use, I r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much! we also love getting to know everyone in the lounge when everyone returns at the end of a days exploring. it is great meeting people from all over the world, we feel privileged! very much looking forward to seeing you again on your return.
Best wishes
Sarah and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June with some friends whilst visiting Skye. Stu and Sarah (who own the b&b) are really friendly and helpful; it was quite cloudy one morning and we wanted to do a bit of hiking so Stu recommended going to the other coast as he predicted the cloud levels may not be so bad - he was right, he even let us borrow his map. Lots of helpful books/maps available to look at for ideas.
Had an evening meal - would recommend. Budget friendly and very tasty! I had minestrone soup with home-made bread - delicious. Would also recommend the 'picture house porridge'.

Room Tip: we had the family room facing the loch - beautiful with excellent views.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
It was lovely to meet you, girls. Hope that you will all be back on Skye one day when the weather is a bit better. Glad you enjoyed your supper, I enjoy cooking for everyone.
Best wishes
Sarah and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Booked this place on the strength of all the good comments on here and the lovely location. However our twin room was at the back of the house and was so small we had difficulty finding somewhere to put our cases. The beds were past their best and uncomfortable. We missed breakfast the first morning as we slept in - we got some coffee when we asked, but it would have been nice to be offered a bit of toast or some cereal. The residents lounge was comfortable with great views but was freezing cold to sit in. Overall not really impressed.

Room Tip: would not stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. Room 5 is clearly described on our website as ‘A small twin room with views of woodland and is accompanied with a clear photograph of the room, this should have left no room for disappointment on your arrival. The mattresses on the beds are replaced on a 24 month cycle and we have had comments as to the high level of comfort of the beds in this room. We do however take all constructive comments seriously and are now conducting a survey of guests and will act if the beds are found lacking. Breakfast is served from 8am until 9am in the lounge. We sincerely believed that you did not require breakfast when you arrived in the lounge at 10.15am. When you requested coffee, we were happy to serve you, we would happily have served you breakfast on request. We clearly remember however that you told us not to worry about breakfast as you would eat when you went out. Even during our chilly spring and summer, a stay during late June would make it unlikely that the lounge was ‘freezing’, additionally, there is a heater for guests use and most people make free use of this. Hope that you found the local information supplied by us useful in making your visit to Skye enjoyable
Best wishes
Sarah and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A great location, right on the shoreline, and friendly hosts. Spotlessly clean, fantastic views, lots of useful information guide books etc. Make sure you have the "house" porridge - just heavenly - would definately return with the family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for your review, We hope that you had enjoyed your time on Skye and you managed to see the White Tailed Eagles . Hopefully you will be able to stay with us again and do some Otter spotting. Hope all is well on Mull.
Best wishes
Stuart & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Thanks for Stuart and Sarah for a great stay. The b and b is reasonably priced and the rooms are clean and well looked after. Breakfast was also great and the views over the loch make the location really idyllic. I would recommend this to any one, as it is really friendly and has a nice vibe!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We as so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking time to write a review. We always like to look after everyone as if they were family. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again or use the self catering.
Best wishes
Stuart &b Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My sister from Northumberland and our husbands stayed here for two nights in May, we were delighted with every aspect of The Skye Picture House.
The hosts are a lovely couple who work hard to ensure you get the most out of your stay on Skye and at The Picture House, readily offering suggestions on where to visit and eat.
It is situated with stunning views across the water to Scalpay. Most of the rooms benefit from the amazing views as well as the decking area which we made excellent use of ..... watching otters and seals during breakfast and sitting relaxing drinking wine and beer in the evening after visiting the other delights of Skye.
Food is extremely important in our households and the men enjoyed a hearty full breakfast; my sister and I opted for the delicious porridge finished with brown sugar and Drambui, followed by a smaller range of cooked items. fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals were also on offer and plenty of toast. We also took advantage of Sarah's cooking one evening ....pate and oatcakes, minestrone soup and Italian meatballs and focaccia ...... all delicious and generous portions!
Our rooms were bright, lovely and clean. Despite the twin room not having a view we were happy enough watching the birds at the feeder and listening to the cuckoo. The twin room was ample size for our needs , we slept so well both nights in the comfortable beds and my sister and her husband were delighted with their lochside room.
The Sky picture House is in an excellent position for visiting the rest of the Island and is a lovely place to come back to relax at the end of the day..... a spacious lounge, plenty of reference books and binoculars supplied for watching the wildlife on the doorstep.
Will definitely return ...... a wonderful find!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
It was lovely to meet you all. Thank you so much for your kind words. it is pure pleasure for us to meet lovely people like yourselves from all over the world. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes
Sarah and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skye Picture House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skye Picture House

Address: Ard Dorch, Broadford IV49 9AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse is situated in an acre of garden and is right down at the water's edge with magnificent views of sea and mountains from almost every window. We have frequent wildlife sightings including otters, seals and over fifty species of birds. Ideally situated for walking in the Cullin mountains. We offer comfortable rooms, all en-suite, and wonderful home cooking, including evening meals. We are licensed to serve alcohol. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skye Picture House Hotel Broadford
Picture Hotel
Skye Picture House Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skye Picture House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.