We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardvasar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ardvasar Hotel to your Saves list
Ardvasar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ardvasar IV45 8RS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Ardvasar B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just the business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a cracking wee hotel and Richard is the perfect host. Warm welcome even tho Richard was very busy, lovely bedroom, fabulous view, excellent staff, extremely clean, delicious supper, piping hot water, fluffy towels, great atmosphere. One could not ask for more. Miss Pixie the Patterdale added that little bit extra to our short stay.

Room Tip: Do book a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    49
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
84
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After a long train ride from Edinburg we arrive with the ferry to Armadele and walk about 15 min to the Inn. We were greeted with the warmest welcome by Richard and his cute dog and we were shown to our rooms. Travelling with 3 kids it was very convenient to have to adjacent rooms. The rooms were spacious and very clean with single beds in the kids room and a double for us. Remember to reserve for dinner as there are not many places near by. The service was good but the food was disappointing. I had salmon with at sauce that I am sure came out of a bottle from the supermarket and there was a lot of it. The kids had stakes and the quallity of the meat could have been better. For dessert we had apple pie and I could not eat the crust. But all this was offset by Richards friendly and helpful manner. He even sent us a pair of boots we had forgotten to our next destination.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at the hotel in early October. Your first glimpse of the hotel may be slightly off putting; however, fear not. The outside of the building shows some aging but the inside is well maintained and renovated. A good deal of investment has been put by Richard into the bedrooms and the common areas. Everything was clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were not the size of an airplane's but rather quite roomy. The beds were comfortable and the rooms warm if you chose to turn on the heat. The bar is well stocked and the gentleman serving is interesting about the locale, Scottish politics and much else. You may well be greeted by a mid size graying dog that growls. Again, fear nought. It turned out to be a wuss that merely wanted it's tummy rubbed by any and all. The breakfast was very good and there are a number of restaurants specializing in sea food in the nearby harbour. You are about a three minute drive to the ferry that takes you over to Mallaig. All in all, a charming place to stay. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Call Richard and reserve in advance. Let him know what you are looking for. Remember ske is touris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at the Ardvasar for 4 days and nights in July 2013.... One of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. Richard and his entire staff were just phenomenal. They pulled out all stops to make sure we were comfortable, and for want of nothing! Our son and daughter-in-law got married on the Isle of skye. Prior to our arrival, during our stay, and even as we were departing, their first concern was to ensure we were all taken care of. I am disappointed that anyone would leave a negative review, citing that wifi was not available in the rooms. This is a bed and breakfast, designed for relaxation. Richard most certainly delivered on that, if you want wifi, stay home. The Ardvasar, is everything you can expect of a quaint, bed and breakfast, clean, comfortable, great food, superb management.... In a word Wonderful. Thank you Richard!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a great overnight stop in between the ferry from Mallaig and a bus to Portree. Richard was very friendly and welcoming and the restaurant in the hotel has wonderful pub food. Thanks for a great stay, Richard!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Ardvasar Hotel on a Saturday night before our ferry the next morning. We really loved the stay! Richard was very welcoming and partnered by Pixie who loves her tummy tickled! Nice room overlooking the sea with cows in the foreground.
Lovely relaxing pre dinner drinks in the bar and the Red Cuillin beer was really well kept and the best out of the 10 days in Scotland. Lovely meal, we had the chicken and haggis and also the venison.
Breakfast was also really nice, the porridge and the smoked haddock with egg.
Ok it was Saturday night and the locals were lively but we still really enjoyed the stay; we felt well looked after and would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

While driving out to the end of the Sleat peninsula, we stopped by the pub at the Ardvasar Hotel for lunch. We didn't stay in the rooms, so can't comment about that, but the place was conveniently situated right on the main road (off-road parking on one side). The road didn't seem too busy in that stretch, so maybe it would be fairly quiet at night. They certainly have a nice view over green meadows to the loch in the distance. They have a couple of outdoor tables which face this view, but they are placed just next to the road, which could be less appealing if there was much traffic.
The pub was pleasant enough, somewhat dark, with good seating and a well-stocked bar (of course). The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with the college kid behind the bar.
We found the food to be just what we wanted in a good, casual pub lunch. I thought the fish and chips tasted very fresh, crispy, and well-cooked. We were served promptly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardvasar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardvasar Hotel

Address: Ardvasar IV45 8RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ardvasar
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ardvasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardvasar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardvasar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardvasar Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardvasar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.