We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardvasar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ardvasar Hotel to your Saves list
Ardvasar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ardvasar IV45 8RS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Ardvasar B&B and Inns
Polmont Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Chose this Hotel because it is close to the Ferry terminal. Transport wasn`t required as it was only a 10 minute walk. Like many reviewers I was welcomed by the owner who is a very pleasant guy. I had pre booked but missed out on the rooms at the front which have a great view of the sea and mainland.Room was a good size with more drawer space than I have ever found in any hotel. The bathroom was top quality for a hotel of this size with plenty of very hot water both at night and early the next morning The evening meal was in the bar area which is a bit gloomy.
The servers were a bit of a motley crew with one minor language problem but service was good.My choice of food was all freshly cooked. Breakfast was acceptable with a reasonable selection of courses. Owner arranged a taxi for me from Kyle for day of departure as local taxis were unavailable. If you have to spend a night in the southern part of Skye this hotel is worth a visit

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room at the front . Rooms at back don`t have much of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    49
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
84
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a cheese burger and chips in the bar,worst ever,dry bread bun kraft cheese slice,cheap thin burger and oven chips almost £9. cheaper and better to drive to McDonald's in inverness,my partner had chicken curry £12 real value possibly £ 5 very disappointing

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I booked this hotel through LateRooms because for some reason or another, I had trouble finding places on the south of the island. On arriving on Skye I was disconcerted to be told, by a local, that the hotel was only rated number 5 out of the 5 in the area so the wife and I arrived with a degree of trepidation.

Richard, Mine Host, was welcoming and very friendly, the place was clean and tidy and yes the office was right behind reception and was a bit messy (as one reviewer has complained) but, hey, you should see the state of my office, anyway we weren’t sleeping in the office!

The room we were allocated, at the front of the building, was very clean, well-appointed and had a stunning view over the Loch and the bed was clean and comfortable, OK the towels had seen better days but they did their job in drying us. We had discovered a 1 Star Michelin restaurant not far away so decided not to eat in, this Richard did not hold against us, I think his comment was along the lines of ‘ah, slumming tonight’ just the kind of thing I might say.

The sleep quality was excellent as was the breakfast and all in all the stay was first rate so it just goes to show one really should not listen to the local gossip!

Room Tip: Try for one at the front with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in mid-September. Very conveniently located for the Mallaig ferry, it is nonetheless not ideally situated for touring the rest of Skye, which we did. We had a very warm welcome from Richard, the owner, and bar and restaurant service was fine. Our breakfast was very tasty, and restaurant meals good, although it would have been nice to have hand cut chips in stead of frozen with our battered haddock. Rooms were spacious and clean, however our bathroom was not cleaned for all five nights of our stay, albeit towels were changed: we would have preferred a clean bathroom and to use our towels again. Stunning views are to be seen from the front bedrooms, really delightful to wake up to. One minor observation is that the hotel could do with a little cheering up in terms of decor; perhaps a brighter bar area. Nevertheless a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed one night in mid-September, 2012. The hotel is very close to the Armadale ferry terminal. When the wind forced the ferry to stop running, Richard, the owner, drove us himself to Kyle of Localsh because there were no taxis available. From there we got the inter-city bus and made our next destination that night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Took refuge here following a bad experience elsewhere, the contrast could not have been more marked. We opted for a room with sea view and delighted in the outlook. Room was extremely comfortable finished in tweed materials, and looked stunning. As mentioned in othe reviews the service could not be faulted. This is a lovely area of the island and well worth a visit

Room Tip: Sea view well worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Beef & Ale pie very nice but portion very small. Side dish of vegetables bearly enough for one person let alone two. When we mentioned this another was brought out but was added to the bill!
Was the cost of a few extra vegetables worth a disappointing review.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardvasar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardvasar Hotel

Address: Ardvasar IV45 8RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ardvasar
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ardvasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardvasar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardvasar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardvasar Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardvasar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.