We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed, delicious breakfast, super hospitality.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuidhe Leathain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cuidhe Leathain
Breadalbane Street, Tobermory PA75 6PD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfy bed, delicious breakfast, super hospitality.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone. We arrived on motorbikes, having ridden through the rain! Jeanette and Alan welcomed us so warmly,we felt at home straight away. As Alan says, the most important things about a B&B is a comfortable bed and a great breakfast. They came up trumps on both accounts! Their genuine warmth an attention to detail made our two night stay an absolute pleasure. Every room in the house is a feast for the eyes! So much to take in, in only two days! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
(Tip for the 'not so fit' - It is a steep walk down to the harbourside from the B&B! Well worth it though)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miners Rest, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed two nights at this wonderful B&B. The hosts Jeanette and Alan were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were definitely 5 star quality. The little touches in the rooms from Spike Milligan DVD, interesting books through to chocolates and extra comfy super king bed capped off our trip to Isle of Mull. Thank you and will recommend to family and friends and will definitely stay again if in Tobermory.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette H, Owner at Cuidhe Leathain, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are coming to the end of our Summer season and it is so gratifying to have such positive feedback from our guests. Thank you so much and we learn so much from all of you. We are open all year, but we will miss the flow of our Summer friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently stayed at Cuidhe Leathain for three nights on our first visit to the Isle of Mull. Jeanette and Alan were wonderful hosts and made us (and our little dog) very welcome, giving advise on where to visit, and even lending us a pair of binoculars . The accomodation was delightful. Every room was dressed to the highest standard with their collectables. The breakfasts were imaginative and prepared to perfection using local produce. We would advise anyone visiting Tobermory to try Cuidhe Leathain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wow this B&B is in a class of it's own. Met by the owners Alan and Jeanette who made us most welcome. Our daughter had a lovely double room to herself and we had a delightful double bedroom with super king bed, so comfortable. The breakfast was first class and Alan gave us loads of ideas for places to visit which were excellent.

Room Tip: Double room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We decided to stay here as part of out little road trip of Scotland. Even from just booking to stay at the B&B Jeannette & Alan were very hospitable with tips an directions to get over to Mull. The room was immaculate with fantastic views looking over Tobermory. Bathroom was clean and tidy with a range of products. There was a huge choice for breakfast and a time which suited us. The B&B is situated on a hill with a short walk down to the main street. Amazing value for money, will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

An amazing place to stay- if there was a higher rating than excellent, then this would get it.
Fabulous friendly hosts who cannot do enough for you. Beautifully decorated home full of bric-a-brac, but spotlessly clean ( the dusting must take hours!). Most comfortable beds, excellent and extensve breakfast- particularly the eggs benedict with smoked trout (in place of bacon) which my wife rated as perfection.
We were lent maps, guidebooks and given some top quality advice about where to go and what to see... even the place to get the best Ale! It was a shame to go- and we had to leave very early to catch the ferry home, and knew we couldn't face a 6.15 am breakfast despite it being offered. Instead we were supplied with an extensive picnic breakfast to eat on our journey. I so hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Last time we visited Tobermory we stayed at Harbour Guest House on the harbourfront and thoroughly enjoyed it but as we couldn't get in there, we booked in at this much smaller B&B. It is very homely, welcoming and accommodating and the breakfasts were five star. We would highly recommend if you don't mind walking up a very steep hill on an evening after eating and drinking in the town (it's a good excuse to eat pudding!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cuidhe Leathain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuidhe Leathain

Address: Breadalbane Street, Tobermory PA75 6PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Cuidhe Leathain Tobermory, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuidhe Leathain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cuidhe Leathain to your Saves list